We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
0
3
0
1
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
3
0
1
15
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 19 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Last weekend we decided with 4 more friends to spend a fun weekend in Berlin.
Our stay turned out to be an unpleasant 'surprise' as unfortunately the apartment was not what we expected or paid for. Definitely overpriced for what was offered while the host's office was closed over the weekend so we couldn't really (website hidden) start with the flat number was written by hand with...a marker giving away what was waiting for us inside.
The -many - negatives:
- In the emails prior to arrival we were mentioned 2 flats (& 2 sets of keys) to be waiting for us when we arrive late on Friday night but upon arriving there were keys only to 1 'flat' vs. 2... What we had booked was a flat with 3 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms as stated in the description on Airbnb,given we were 5 people in total. When we arrived we found out not only that 1 'flat' was missing which meant 1 bedroom & 1 bathroom were missing vs. the description. In reality,we had 1 bedroom + 1 studio-like room (bed+kitchen) with 1 bathroom which made our stay very uncomfortable. There weren't even 3 double beds as the 3rd one was a couch which turned into a (website hidden) overall accuracy on the apartment would be zero.
-Flat pictures on airbnb & reality: Flat is definitely not new or matching the images.Cluttered with random old furniture & decor.The one tiny coffee table is wobbly & unstable while the main door is broken so unless locked from inside the flat remains open for everyone to get in. Random exit/emergency door in the flat is blocked with a chair as it is unlocked. Holes on the walls and a dirty radio...Definitely not something worth 317CHF (260 EUR) a night!
-Dirt all over: under the beds,dirty bathroom,filthy doors/floors...Surprised to have been charged a 62CHF (55EUR) cleaning fee & arriving to such a dirty space. Top covers of the beds not particularly clean but we had to use them due to the cold.
-A LOT of noise from the street (as it was on ground floor) ,from the cafe which is adjacent to the apartment & from the flats next to it,with people yelling & shouting in the night.
-No heating with night temperature below 10C,so we all froze & came back sick from our stay.
-City tax paid to the coffee shop next door with the 'receipt' being a piece of paper from a notebook. The process definitely doesn't sound right...
- Insufficient towels as only 5 medium size towels were available which we had to use for face & body.
-Host's office closed over the weekend & no response to our phone call.

The few good aspects :
- Nice & safe neighborhood with S-ban station to the center 15min away on foot & nearby tram stops to the center.
-Cafe next to it very nice -despite the noise caused from it - with good breakfast & excellent staff.
- Responsive communication with the host prior to arrival via email with guidance on how to access it late at night.

It felt like a 'low-budget student experience' only the amount of money asked was absurd compared to the state of this apartment & the fact that...a bedroom out of 3 was missing.

May 2014

Room Tip: No good room really...just avoid it
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stay away from this place, please. They charged me 92 Euros for sleeping in a room that was nothing else but a broken bed, broken shower - no hot water. It´s so bad that I don´t even know how to describe it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I booked to stay in these apartments in december 2013 for me and my girlfriend, i hadn't looked at reviews on trip advisor before i had booked it so i decided once id booked it id look at the reviews. I came on trip advisor and i was shocked to see all the bad reviews! As it was a surprise for my girlfriend i couldn't tell her about any specific details. Weeks later we turned up at the apartments in Berlin we met the owners, they were lovely and we were surprised to see our room was immaculate everything was clean and the room was spotless, the toilet shower and sink worked fine and we even had a self catering kitchen unit with a 2 plate hob, wifi and a TV it was such a relief as all the other reviews warned to stay away from this place. The only bad point i would raise is the bed, it was a good size but poor pillows and 2 single duvets instead of one double I would recommend and go again.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 4
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I cannot in any way recommend this apartment both based on the apartment itself and the actions of the agency renting the apartment. This is a bait-and-switch operation that has very little concern for their clients. They charge you up front, making any claims for compensation impossible even if what they give you is not what you ordered. There is no concept of service, responsibility or making the client happy. Be prepared that the prices quoted are not what is charged, for anything beyond mid-winter, the prices are double or triple those advertised.

We were travelling with another couple, in total we had four kids under five years. We booked the apartment (3 BR with living room and kitchen) based on their website, thinking that we would be able to chat in the living room after the children had gone to bed. On paper, everything looked fine. However, a few days before our arrival we found out that instead of the 3BR apartment, they had instead reserved for us three separate apartments in a different building on a different street. Mind you, our reservation was made via email and had specified this apartment and this address.

We were then assured that this was due to a mix-up and we would be able to get to the apartment we wanted the next day. When we arrived, we noticed that the building was full of tiny apartments that were being rented mainly to backpackers. While the apartments had been renovated some time ago, everything was falling apart, starting from doorhandles and shower faucets. There was a strange and cramped communal kitchen with dirty dishes lying around. Each room is packed wall to wall with beds and furniture, apparently in order to get the maximum amount of guests in. However, if a room is advertised as fitting four people, that means that there are two miniscule beds, or a small bed and a small sofa bed. Everything is extremely cheap stuff and uncomfortable. One thing that they cannot be blamed for is cleaning, as the rooms were well cleaned.

Not wanting to make a scene, we camped patiently and waited for the next day. However, instead of the apartment we had booked, we were given a wholly different apartment. This one was advertised as a three bedroom, but in reality it was more like a one bedroom filled with beds. From the entrance, the first room (which actually is the entrance hall) has a large bed, a tiny kitchen and a very small table and a sofa. The second room has two beds, one king and one queen size, as well as a sofa bed and a small bathroom. The third room, which is accessed through the second, has a queen size bed, a small kitchen and a sofa, as well as a bathroom. This all in 55 square meters, meaning that there is no space anywhere. The main issue with this apartment is that there is simply no privacy, because in order to go to the rooms one passes through all of them. And the small issue that even here everything was falling apart, sockets were not working, doors not opening properly and so forth.

Realizing that we had been fooled again, we went to the office the next morning when they opened after the weekend. Now we were finally given the apartment we had booked in the first place. This was a first floor apartment in a different building, which was purely residential without the backpackers. Despite the horrible greenish decor and the fact that the furniture was in appalling shape and even here the doorhandles were falling out, we finally had rooms, a proper dining table and kitchen, which was not really suitable for cooking. There was space for the kids (110 square meters). Never mind that the carpet was actually a black industrial type hallway carpet and there was a strange green lighting in the dining room.
Despite the fact that this was the room that we had booked, we were told that the following weekend, we would have to move again for our final night, as there were other people coming here. Our protests were to no avail and since we had paid in the beginning as they demand, we had no leverage. The demands of a discount in the rent were rebuffed with claims that we were given rooms and what are we complaining about. When we returned from a day in town, we found out that we had been transferred to two very small rooms in the same building we started out with, backpacker lodge. As for these rooms, the same applies. Tiny rooms with many uncomfortable and small beds. However, this time no towels, which added insult to injury.

What was most striking in this whole bizarre experience was that the management company consistently showed contempt and inflexibility. At first, they claimed that the booking mistake was all ours. After showing the emails, they acknowledged their mistake, but refused to compensate for it in any way. Despite having to move three times with loads of stuff and four small children, they considered that we were given a fair deal. Despite having spent just four nights out of seven in an apartment that was not completely substandard and not what we ordered, they argued that we were complainers.

In conclusion, a horrible agency with no sense of service or responsibility renting out tiny, cramped apartments with inflated prices. We will never, ever go back and would not recommend this outfit to our worst enemies.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RasmusDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

It was a terrible experience. The owner did not have the room we had booked, he refused to give us back our money and threw us out with violence. The police could not do anything. Absolutely do not go to this hostel.

Stayed: April 2013
3  Thank Dottorandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews