We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tour Company in Berlin”

Humboldt Tours Berlin -Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$408.94*
and up
Private Half-Day Third Reich Historical Walking Tour in Berlin
More Info
$312.72*
and up
Private Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour: Reichstag, Brandenburger Gate, Pariser...
More Info
$685.58*
and up
5-Hour Private Berlin Van Tour: Street Art Multi-Culture And Modern Lifestyle...
Ranked #65 of 385 Tours in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Giving tours of Berlin is our passion. Our team of experienced professionals with advanced degrees have the expertise and enthusiasm so that you can experience Berlin’s fascinating history up close. See history come alive on one of our tours!All of us are “real” locals. Most of us were either born in Berlin or have resided here for at least ten years. We are Berlin - and would love to show you around town!We offer exclusive private guided tours in English, German, French, Spanish and Italian - for small and big groups, families and handicapped people! Your tour can be arranged as a walking tour, or a tour by bike, car or van and bus - for all group sizes! Take a 3 hour tour for a quick overview, if you want to discover the stories behind the curtain choose 4 hours, to get a comprehensive picture take more than 6 hours!The work of our tour guides has been recognized and recommended by our guests and some of Berlin's leading historical institutions.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nine of us booked a private Humboldt Tours Berlin for the day. The mini bus picked us up promptly from our Oceania ship at 8 am which was docked in Warnemuende (Rostock) and drove us the 3 hours to and back from Berlin. They were very careful to ensure we got back in time for the ship sailing. We did not waste a minute. We got to see absolutely everything that we wanted (East/Middle/West Berlin, World War 2 and modern sites). The old wall, Topography of Terror exhibit, Memorial to the Murdered Jews, Brandenburg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie and the Gendarmenmarkt were some of my favourite highlights. Bernhard our guide was wonderful. He is working on his PHD in History so he had so much to tell us. In fact all their guides are University graduates who grew up in Berlin. They can share so many personnal experiences of how things were before the wall came down. Working with Humboldt Tours was so easy - we corresponded often by e-mail to choose the exact itinerary and times which suited us. All funds were transferred using paypal so I felt secure. If you want a class outfit run by professionals - then book Humboldt. A much better experience than taking one of the ship's large excursion buses!

2  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humboldttoursberlin, Manager at Humboldt Tours Berlin -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thanks for your friendly feedback, we're happy to hear that you liked our tour! It was a pleasure to show you around!

Best wishes from the whole team of Humboldt Tours Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our family loves to travel and frequently we hire private guides to provide our tours. By far, Bernard and Humboldt Tours Berlin is the best tour we have ever taken. The planning was flawless. Bernard worked to ensure that the tour was custom designed to our intellectual and personal needs. Ronnie, our driver, spoke fluent English and met us portside for a delightful ride to Berlin. Bernard met us in Berlin, and as a doctoral student in german history, is by far the most knowledgeable tour guide I have ever met. Our tour focused on the Third Reich. Bernard knew facts and figures but most importantly he added personal stories and interesting anecdotes to bring the history to life. Bernard speaks impeccable English and is so down to earth that we felt like he was a member of our family. When we took a break for lunch, we talked about family stories of him growing up in East Berlin and the change after the wall came down. We really got a true sense of what it must have been like to live in Berlin in this important milestone in history. Bernard was sensitive to the differing ages and mobility levels of our family and he adjusted the tour accordingly. Our family could have sat and listened to Bernard all day long and at the end we were sad that our tour was over. Bernard and Humboldts Tours is the best tour company ever.

Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humboldttoursberlin, Manager at Humboldt Tours Berlin -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words - Bernhard will be happy to hear this!
Safe travel and kind regards from Humboldt Tours Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

When we finished our tour of Berlin, my friends and I all remarked that, in all our travels, Bernhard was probably the best tour guide we had ever had! Bernhard is a graduate student in history and speaks perfect English. He was extremely knowledgable but also shared his own family experiences living in Berlin giving the history a personal perspective. The best thing is that Humboldt will design a tour to take you to see whatever you want to see, walk as much or as little as you want - we loved the doughnut break and the student coffee house where we could use the wifi! Our cruise docked in Warnermunde and the driver was there promptly to pick us up and delivered us back to the ship with ample time to spare. The service was personal, professional and just impeccable all around. Candidly, we hesitated originally a bit because of the price and the hassle of getting back and forth from the ship but it was SO worth it for this wonderful day spent with Bernhard in this beautiful city -

1  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humboldttoursberlin, Manager at Humboldt Tours Berlin -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Many thanks for your kind feedback! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Berlin - there's even more to discover!

Best wishes from the whole Humboldt Tours Berlin Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We just finished our Oceania Baltic Cruise and by far the highlight of the trip was Humboldt's tour of Berlin with Ronnie as our driver and Bernhard as our guide. We have only met 1 other tour guide that is as passionate or knowlegable as Bernhard was on Berlin. He not only showed us the usual spots but also the places that were off the beaten path with such historical importance. He truly was amazing and made the tour all about our pace and interest. His english was impeccable and he was easy to understand. Since he grew up in East Berlin it was more of a personal experience to hear him describe the situation during the time of the wall and the wall coming down. We are recommending his tour and specifically Bernhard himself to our travel agent and all of our friends that are planning a trip to Germany. Thank you Bernhard from the Canadians!

3  Thank Corrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humboldttoursberlin, Manager at Humboldt Tours Berlin -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Many thanks for your kind feedback! We're glad that you enjoyed our tour!
Safe travel and best wishes from the whole team of Humboldt Tours Berlin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our family just visited Berlin, and Bernhard provided us with an excellent overview of the city and its history. He was professional, timely, very well informed, well prepared, and fun to spend the day with. His English is perfect. He grew up in East Germany which adds an insightful and personal perspective of the pre-reunification era. He had a van available which took us to many sights on our very abbreviated schedule. I would highly recommend Bernhard as your guide to Berlin.

Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humboldttoursberlin, Manager at Humboldt Tours Berlin -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, Bernhard will be happy to hear this! We'd love to show you around whenever you come back to Berlin!

Best wishes from the whole team of Humboldt Tours Berlin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humboldt Tours Berlin -Tours also viewed

 

Been to Humboldt Tours Berlin -Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing