We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review for Easy Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Ranked #23 of 348 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Karditsa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Review for Easy Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Reviewing Easy Hotel is not an easy task because one pretty much expects that for keeping a low price tag. Some sacrifices ought to be made from both the hotel and the customer.

My experience was 1 night stay in April with a good friend same gender.

Pros:
the location is excellent, very close to metro station as well as a few minutes walking distance to S-Bahn. Close to Alexaderplatz as well. For the price you get a room which is quite decent if only sleep and a hot shower is required.

Cons:
Although as I have mentioned one should be aware beforehand of what to expect, the room is really really small. I stayed at the room which is 8.5 m^2. one bed, bathroom and space just enough to leave 2 suitcases. That's all! nowhere to stand and relax a bit. But I didn't mind because it was expected.

The bathroom was pretty much transparent with the glass on the door. This means that it is meant for couples or intimate friends or else you might end up looking at the bottom of someone you don't know that well and would not wish for it! Another bad point is that there was nothing to separate the shower from the rest of the bathroom or good water draining system. After a shower, water was everywhere all over the bathroom floor.

Last but not least the thing that annoyed me the most.

Check out is at 10am and check in an 3 pm. 5 hours interval, I find it a bit silly and a trick to hire less cleaning personnel. It is the new fashion which I find cheap and not right since one books the room supposedly for one day and that leaves 17 hours.

We arrived at 12:30 pm. We asked if they could save our 2 suitcases for a couple of hours and of course they refused to do that for free....everything you do extra in Easy Hotel you must pay for it! The reception said that the could lock the suitcases for 7 euros each or they could let us into the room early for 7.5 euros.

I asked the simple question....if the room is already been cleaned why can't we just go inside????
The response was that it is not the policy of the company.
Plain silly and stupid. Draining every last bit of profit even from places where they could make an exception without disturbances in hotel operation.
I do not mind the 7 euros so much but i do mind that a few years ago one could usually trust the suitcases at a hotel in case of early arrival and one was not treated like a walking wallet.

Overall impression:

If one knows what to expect it is a good cheap choice. but please read the comments because the hotel hides some nasty surprises in terms of room space and extra charges.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netronio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    614
    226
    65
    27
See reviews for
66
798
90
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The rooms are small, but were big enough for the two of us and our backpacks. Good shower and comfortable bed. Staff were very friendly - helped me print reservations for buses and trains, gave great directions, and generally were cheerful and welcoming. Location is fantastic - walking distance to lots of attractions (Museum Island, etc.) good and cheap food and drinks, and public transportation. Probably not for everyone, but we enjoyed our stay here overall. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel was easy to locate. It was walking distance to some of the major attractions, restaurants, a metro stop, and just beside it is this nice bagel place. The staff were easy to speak with. They were very helpful and even went out of their way to contact the airline to follow up our lost bag. The room was "easygoing". It was nice and neat, although a bit small. Hope that you are sharing the room with someone very close to you because the T&B's partitions are made of glass.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location is very good and the staff and very nice and helpful. But the room should have had atleast one small table and chair. Internet worked well and it was cheap. Really cramped for two people, there was not enough space to even change comfortably! Minimalistic yes, but could have been much better for the money we pay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padmalekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very small room with minimal amenities; however if you don't mind the small size then it is fine. Very clean (no maid service), good shower, and you can store your luggage. Great location as well- walking distance to the metro. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GppdTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had the unfortunate luck of having to stay this hotel for 1 night, after coming home at night and realising that I lost my house keys and decided to bed down for a night at the cheapest hotel I could find in Mitte. I chose a single room but I didn't think it would be that small: the width of the room is a few inches wider than the width of the bed, so you have to get on the bed from the foot of the bed. Upon entering, the left side of the room was partitioned with a glass cubicle, which forms the shower and toilet. The TV is hung from the ceiling but costs extra to rent the remote, so I didn't bother.
The staff were nice enough and they opened till quite late, so I was able to get a room even at 11 pm.
But would i choose to stay here by choice? Definitely not. I would suggest that travellers pay a bit more so that you get to stay at a proper hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len_Aye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and having stayed in Easyhotels before i was not expecting much however this hotel is a little gem.It's close to the train station and trams stop so you can access the all of berlin easy.On arrival the staff were friendly and the room was very clean and modern looking. Yes their not the biggest rooms but its a good price and easy access to the city.There are lots of places to eat nearby.Breakfast we had at the bake factory cafe just outside the metro(regional trains) stop (20 meters). The only negative things is that they dont have full air con so the room was a little warm at night but i cant find any other fault. All staff were helpful and friendly and we enjoyed the hotel.

Room Tip: higher floor so you can open window , plus higher up less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebeingevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel AMANO
Hotel AMANO
#99 of 634 in Berlin
1,478 reviews
Friedrichshain
Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#50 of 634 in Berlin
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#110 of 634 in Berlin
1,799 reviews
Mitte
Apartments Rosenthal Residence
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 348 in Berlin
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt

Property: easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Address: Rosenthaler Str. 69, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 348 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new purpose built easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt is located right in the sizzling centre of Berlin. Within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions including Hackescher Markt, Alexanderplatz and the museums island. With subway and tram stations right in front of the hotel all the other exciting attractions like Potsdamer Platz, Kurfürstendamm, Reichstag, Friedrichstrasse, Brandenburger Tor, are easily reached as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing