We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great boutique hotel"”
Review of Sir Savigny Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sir Savigny Hotel
Ranked #82 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had a lovely stay here in Sir F.K Savigny Berlin. The location of the hotel was great. The train station (Savignyplaz) was just behind the hotel and neighborhood is absolutely lovely full of nice little cafes and restaurants. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We also had really nice room in top floor with lovely big windows. The hotel had a nice "look" and the lobby in downstairs were had a really good atmosphere. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your so cordial words, Sir F.K. Savigny is more than happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 830 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

First of all, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our interactions with them greatly. Overall style and look of the hotel and room is also fantastic. Location is great as well, close to good shopping, restaurants and the S-Bahn.

The breakfast was quite good, and was 12 euro if you "signed up" in advance. Only issue really was that the hot foods were set out early and weren't kept heated so most of the mornings the eggs and sausage were cold by the time I got down there (8:30 or so) which was disappointing. Quality and variety was good across the board though.

The bed linens and towels etc were in good shape and well cleaned. Room layout was spacious and functional. Overall pretty nice.

However, the bad things. The entire decoration layout is black and white. This leads to cleanliness issues showing up quickly. The white stone tile on the floor is filthy. All the little dimples were filled with dirt and made it look dingy. In my room there was a curtain to separate the sink from the bed since they are in close proximity. This curtain was dirty including blood stains. The black carpet was flecked with all sorts of dirty and debris and didn't look like it had been vacuumed nor got vacuumed during the 5 days I stayed there. We had 3 guys on a business trip staying in rooms in the hotel and we all had similar issues. Basically anything that wasn't like the towels or bedsheets that gets laundered regularly was dirty. We agreed it was "clean enough" but generally NOT very well cleaned. So the window shades/curtains, carpets, floors, and dividing curtain by the sink were all quite filthy if you looked at them at all.

The thing I found just ridiculous, though, only affected once night but was a serious issue. The last night I was staying at the hotel was a Saturday night. They apparently hosted a club night/dance night at the hotel. There was throbbing music that vibrated my whole room from 8 p.m. until 2 a.m. Sorry, you are a HOTEL not a CLUB. No excuse for that!!

Room Tip: In case they do the club routine get a room away from the elevator shaft the conducted the noise, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdhotwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your time to send me your feedback! I am happy that you in general liked it very much here. However, I herewith would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused! My housekeeping fairys eliminated all from you described cleaning defects and I very uch hope that you accept our apologizes! For the sound intensity I very much apologize as well, this is indeed inexcusable and will not happen again. I very much hope to get a second chance from you and your colleagues as we would love to show you how magical it can be here! Let me know when you are back in Berlin!
Your Sir F.K. Savigny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My Boyfriend and i stayed here for 2 nights in sept and it was a lovely base for our trip.
The hotel is based in the west of berlin, only 2minutes walk from savignyplatz station and around a 5min train ride into the city centre.

The hotel is lovely and modern, with good sized rooms and the most comfortable bed. It was very clean, the breakfast was faultless and the staff were polite and helpful. We were lucky enough to be in room 67 the only room with a balcony and great views across the city. The rooms had great facilities plus the used of a nespresso machine and free mini bar. The hotel had a great design feel and the reception area was a nice place to chill out if you wanted to. There is a bar if you fancy a cheeky drink in the evening and if your visiting during the warmer months the garden looked like a lovely place to relax after a long day in the city.

The Hotel is surrounded by plenty of restaurants and cafés plus it in a very popular shopping district. I would recommended this hotel for someone looking for a chic and relaxing stay in berlin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelbel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Sir F.K. Savigny feels happy about your words! He would love to welcoming you again in summer and enjoy his secret garden with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Sir F.K Savigny for a week. I was amazed how easy it was getting to this hotel. From TXL you can take X9 bus to the Zoologischer Garten Station (or for U2 fans Zoo Station) and then take S-bahn (S7), one stop to Savingyplatz. You do not need to panic which train direction because each time train arrives the board actually tells you the stops under the train number. Trains are so often that it does not matter if you miss one. The hotel is 2 minute walk from the Savingyplatz stop (there is an elevator at that station).

There is no reception at the hotel. We just went to the bar area and the receptionist arrived with her laptop. Her English was impressive. Very efficient and quick check in. The first room smelled like smoke although rooms are supposed to be non-smoking but the receptionist quickly gave us a new room. I certainly appreciated that. Wi-Fi is free and they provide drinks at the mini bar. After a long flight it feels good.

The hotel is very close to cafes, restaurants and bookstores. You can find many different places to have breakfast as well. The breakfast at the hotel is 12 euros if you sign up during check in otherwise 18 euros. It seems like a very generous breakfast but we prefer to explore so we skipped it.

The rooms are very small. There is an open closet and place to put your luggage. We managed but we had to keep most of the clothes in our luggage. The desk area has the phone, glasses, cups and the Nespresso machine.

The bed is very comfortable. It is a double bed with two separate covers and comfortable pillows.

Our bathroom was very large (room 29) for European Standards. The shower was very good. I recommend bringing your own shampoo and soap.

Our room was facing the courtyard. On Saturday night the place turned into a dance club. The music was very loud. Even with the window closed and the A/C on we could still hear the music and people talking. Ear plugs do help. I was exhausted from walking around all day so I fell asleep quickly but maybe for business trips it might be a different story.

I recommend this hotel. If I ever go back to Berlin I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musti_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Sir F.K. savigny is happy that you enjoyed your stay at his mansion! He hopes you also had a good trip home and will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is an excellent, modern hotel in a great location. Very convenient for the S bahn and only a few stops away from the city centre. Returning to the Savigny area after time in the city is lovely. Very calm and peaceful with excellent restaurants and cafes.. The room was a good size and very well furnished. Lovely, comfortable double bed (not two singles pushed together like so many).The staff were polite and helpful and spoke good English. Would definitely return to this hotel..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank su51bfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Guest Relations Manager at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Would definetely return - thank you so much, this is the best commendation! It would be wonderful to welcoming you again!
Your Sir F.K. Savigny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times and feel welcome every time. Very convenient location. Hotel is very clean and modern. There are loads of restaurants in the area and the hotel is right next to the S Bahn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitor049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel by all standards. The interior is tastefully decorated and the hotel has a lobby that just won't let you want to venture outside. There is no reception desk per se, but there is always someone to assist you. Service was perfect. Room: comfortable bed, effective air conditioning, free nespresso everyday, free wifi, one time free minibar refill (no alcohol), toiletries by rituals. Only one issue - the shower height couldn't be adjusted which kind of sucked. Breakfast was of high quality. Location: 2 min walk to Savignyplatz S-bahn stop. Lots of restaurants nearby. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid street side rooms. If there is no option, then keep the windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangepajamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Max Brown Hotel Ku'damm
#200 of 635 in Berlin
635 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#10 of 635 in Berlin
1,268 reviews
Charlottenburg
H'Otello K'80
H'Otello K'80
#128 of 635 in Berlin
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
Savoy Hotel Berlin
Savoy Hotel Berlin
#75 of 635 in Berlin
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Savigny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Savigny Hotel

Address: Kantstr. 144, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Berlin
#60 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#64 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#64 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $118 - $869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Savigny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Savigny, an entitled member of the SIR hotels family, breathes a creative spirit into the hip heart of the old West. His luxury boutique hotel is a gateway to Berlin's upscale Charlottenburg area, situated directly on the famous Savignyplatz in the City West's vibrant Art Nouveau district, with-in walking distance from the legendary Kurfurstendamm, Berlin's shopping oasis. Sir Savigny himself is a cultivated yet witty cosmopolitan culinary host for lifestyle travellers, locals and neighbours. He created the most welcoming environment with his stylish-yet-entirely-casual approach to design. Sir Savigny welcomes you in his kitchen where you can discuss the aesthetics of Fassbinder at his kitchen table, while sipping a Manhattan and enjoying a bloody delicious burger from his in-house kitchen, The Butcher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Savigny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir f.k. Savigny Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing