We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretending to be 'Boutique' just isn't enough”
Review of Sir Savigny Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sir Savigny Hotel
Ranked #90 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Location: Kantstrasse is not, as an employee told me before booking 'quiet for Berlin standards'. It is a major artery into west Berlin. Four lanes. The standard rooms face the road. Even on the sixth floor you cannot sleep with the windows open. Not even on a weekend/bank holiday. U- and S-Bahn stations are easy to reach, walking and exploring is interesting (side streets!) and safe.

Free minibar: it is only free for the first filling. Which is fine. They should just make that clear. And refill the minibar! It didn't happen once in three days. The coffeemaker is a nice touch. But why is it so hard/impossible to get more replacements when the initial three run out?

Staff: It has been mentioned before: there is no hierarchy. There are employees, sometimes hard to find, and a laptop. Not everyone speaks German, English is the main language. Friendliness is not a problem. Getting anything done is. I was told that the hotel owners only employ agency staff and got the impression that no one feels responsible. Which leads to the main reason for my low rating:

Cleanliness: This was unacceptable. Very, very dusty and dirty. Around the bed. On the floor. Skirting board. Chair. Sticky bathroom floor.... I asked to please clean/vacuum while I was out on the first day - nothing changed. Used glasses stayed, as did everything else. I asked twice more, pointing out that I have a dust allergy, and absolutely nothing happened.

Yes there are a few nice design details but they don't make up for the smallest wardrobe ever (where am I supposed to hang a dress?), an underwhelming breakfast for the price (there are dozens of cafés within five minutes walk), indifferent staff and the dirtiest room I have encountered.

Berlin has lots of really unique, friendly, welcoming hotels. This is not one of them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milupa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thanks for your review and a big sorry for the inconvenience you had.
We will work hard on the points you mentioned to improve as soon as possible. Of course it is not true, that the hotel is only hiring agencies, but if you had such feeling we will analyse this and train the mentioned departements. You critizm is really important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 847 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

This boutique hotel is upscale, quiet, and hip. The decor is primarily black and white with photographs on most of the walls. There is a lovely garden with tables for drinks if desired. My room was large with windows on two sides (I was upgraded), great bed, desk, chairs, an Ipod, flat screen TV etc. The breakfasts were sumptuous - a buffet arrayed on the bar (hot and cold entrees). The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and never obtrusive. The location next to Savignyplatz is 5 minutes from the S-bahn and surrounded by restaurants from all over the world -- I had Greek, Chinese, Viennese and Italian dinners. After a day of sightseeing, it was a super place to come home to.

Room Tip: Room 47!! Very quiet and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotter6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Sir thanks you a lot for your nice review and is happy to hear, that you had a great time at our home. We would be happy to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The location was just perfect from the center for either business or leisure!!! Staff is friendly and rooms are comfortable. Breakfast had a good variety....

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinaMesmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thanks a lot for the nice review! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Just returned for a four day break in Berlin staying in the Sir F.K Savigny hotel. Location of the hotel is excellent, with a S-ban station literally around the corner. The area which the hotel is located is surrounded by plenty of bars and restaurants which resulted in us never having to travel into the centre at night. The choice for breakfast outside the hotel is also very good, with a special mention for the Schwarzes Cafe a block away on Kantstrasse.

The hotel itself has gone for a very modern feel as previous reviewers have commented. With such a design there is a risk that the hotel could look a bit tacky and cheap. However in my opinion it has been decorated very well, especially the lobby/bar area as you enter the hotel. We went for a superior room when we booked which gave us a slightly larger room and a view over the courtyard. The bathroom we had was a separate room and very spacious inside. The bedroom itself was of the small to medium size with a comfortable bed. Free minibar in the room was a nice touch which offered a good selection of soft drinks.

My only negative point would be that our items were not replenished during our stay. Although it is understandable with the minibar, it also extended to the coffee and the bathroom items. However, overall it is a lovely hotel in a great location of the city which we would consider staying in again when we return to Berlin.

Room Tip: Superior room is probably worth spending a little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jetsetter1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you very much for the lovely comment and we are glad the read that you had a nice stay! But we are also sorry for the misunderstanding regarding the coffee and amanities. Of course you can always ask us for more capsuales. The ammenities should been refreshed automatically but we will take care to analyse this. We hope you will visit us again to prove this to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

An ultra modern hotel with with all a group of six weekenders needed.
It is centrally positioned making it within easy walking distance of Kurfurstendam and all it,s delights.
With such a modern black and white decor it can be deemed cold but the friendly staff more than make up for this.
Drawbacks would be small rooms and a wasted bar area that does not welcome you, even on a cold January weekend.
Good tourist base but not a hotel to spend evening times in.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billmayhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thanks a lot for your nice comment! We are happy that enjoyed your stay. But next time you will see that the hotel is excellent for nice evening at the fireplace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I wonder whether the previous reviewer (10 March) stayed at the same hotel. The location would be hard to beat in Berlin. There are literally dozens of excellent cafes and restaurants within a 200m radius and the area has a wonderful upmarket neighbourhood feel. The hotel is very well connected with the rest of Berlin and within easy walking distance of two opera houses. The rooms are very well sound-proofed compared to other, more expensive, hotels I have stayed in. We spent three nights here and slept well every night. We did not speak to the staff very often, but when we did, everyone was friendly and helpful. We also checked in two hours early without any problem.

Our room was not the largest, but it was very elegantly designed and had quality fittings. The screening off of the shower/toilet with frosted glass could be a little problematic, if you shared with a person with whom you were not very familiar. Other than this, we could find absolutely no fault with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Sir likes tothank you for you words. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

YES this hotel is very centrally located in Charlottenburg and YES it's been highly rated on the internet. YES, if you arrive from a long trip in the morning, the strict rule for check in is 2:30pm and no earlier, so YES you'll have to wait several hours. YES you will have to find your own local cafe for breakfast because only streets are recommended, not specific cafes by the staff (I recommend Sachs Cafe and Cafe Savigny. For dinner, a Portuguese Restaurant called Amelia came very highly rated, as is Ottenthal for GREAT food (best schnitzel in Berlin!) and Florian too).YES, there is free wifi and YES the internet bounces you off CONTINUALLY if you try to surf the net and change pages. YES, the bathroom is IN the bedroom. YES the rooms are incredibly small. YES the service is questionable with attitude from most employees. YES you may be checked in by someone whose English AND German is poor. And YES if you are staying a short time, it's probably worth it. But beware, the sound proofing in the rooms is non-existent, so YES if there are party people in the hotel (there were several) you can hear everything in the corridors until the wee hours in the rooms above, below and next door. WIth all that it is still a great location and trendy rooms, but only if you like SMALL, LOUD and sometimes snotty staff.

Room Tip: Go when there is low occupancy for a better chance at good service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dibbyfromtheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

We are sorry that you had that inconvienience in our hotel! We would have loved to convince you from another view, We hope that you are coming back to see that we definately improved!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Max Brown Hotel Ku'damm
#154 of 634 in Berlin
221 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Zoo Berlin
Hotel Zoo Berlin
#149 of 634 in Berlin
524 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#9 of 634 in Berlin
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
H'Otello K'80
H'Otello K'80
#119 of 634 in Berlin
286 reviews
Charlottenburg
25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Savigny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Savigny Hotel

Address: Kantstr. 144, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Berlin
#60 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#68 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $124 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Savigny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Savigny, an entitled member of the SIR hotels family, breathes a creative spirit into the hip heart of the old West. His luxury boutique hotel is a gateway to Berlin's upscale Charlottenburg area, situated directly on the famous Savignyplatz in the City West's vibrant Art Nouveau district, with-in walking distance from the legendary Kurfurstendamm, Berlin's shopping oasis. Sir Savigny himself is a cultivated yet witty cosmopolitan culinary host for lifestyle travellers, locals and neighbours. He created the most welcoming environment with his stylish-yet-entirely-casual approach to design. Sir Savigny welcomes you in his kitchen where you can discuss the aesthetics of Fassbinder at his kitchen table, while sipping a Manhattan and enjoying a bloody delicious burger from his in-house kitchen, The Butcher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sir Savigny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir f.k. Savigny Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing