We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort+Design”
Review of Sir Savigny Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sir Savigny Hotel
Ranked #91 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Went to Berlin for sylvester celebration and found an OK deal at Sir F.K. Savigny; a small and cozy boutique hotel situated a 10 minutes walk from the Zoo S-bahn stop. Great location near Kurfürstendamm shopping street. Small rooms, but yet with space enough for two persons. Radio with iPhone docking and a Nespresso machine was included in the rooms. Minibar with free beer, soda and water. Cozy reseption area with a small restaurant in it. Great sleeping comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brasoygard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung! Ihre Worte leigen uns am Herzen und freuen uns über jedes positives Feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 847 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

We just got back from Germany where we spent 4 nights at Sir F.K Savigny. I found a very good deal online and we decided to book two rooms for us and our friends. The hotel is stylish but cozy. It looks and feels very four stars. However, the service was a bit of a let down. As there is no reception desk, it was always difficult to find anyone around. With the exception of one of the bar blokes, the rest of the staff were not too bothered to help. I told them twice about a couple of problems in our bathroom but nothing was done about it. The soap basket was hanging off the wall and the shower head would not stay up, which is really inconvenient when showering. Unfortunately, nothing was done about it.
You get a full mini bar included in the price but the coffee capsules were not being replenished. The bed is really comfortable and soft but the room was on the small side.
When we checked in, we were told to go up to our rooms. Our friends' room was still being made and it took them a long time to get it done.
The place looks lovely and the area is trendy and convenient. However, the service was not four stars by any means. We did not book the breakfast with the room as the charge 18 euros a head. There is a fantastic restaurant round the corner where we had plentiful breakfasts for up to 16 euros a head, including coffees and juices. The heating is centrally controlled so there is no thermostat in the rooms. The rooms were so hot at times that we could not sleep well. The hotel really needs to tweak a few details to be real value for money.

Room Tip: Room 42 was small but 41 was quite big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aeloygut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thanks for your review. Your critics mean a lot to us. We will hardly analyse it and we are sure we will improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights over the new year.it was a pleasant enough hotel and the room was average with little storage so it was out of the suitcase and back in when finished with. Did not see much of the staff as we were out most of the day but the ones we did come across were pleasant enough.We also ate out for breakfast as it was rather expensive and the cafes round about offered a better option.It is a nice area with buses and trains to take you to all the sites and good eating and drinking places so overall we enjoyed our new year sojourn

Room Tip: We used the Cross bistro a lot beside the train station the staff were all very good and friendly an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billmo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thanks very much for your review. We hope you will come back and be our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Based on the majority of the reviews on this hotel, I was eagerly anticipating my stay, and after a tiring journey just after Christmas, sadly I thought it was a real let down.

The room we stayed in (which was not the cheapest) was small and had only a small amount of wardrobe space (but not a typical wardrobe) and so our luggage was all over our room, making it hard to move around. The really annoying thing is they fail to mention that your bathroom is basically in your room (or your room is your bathroom?) whereby its expected that you pull accross a white curtain when washing yourself. I am not sure of the purpose of the curtain as directly opposite is a massive mirror, so who ever you are with will see you! The toilet had only frosted glass. The shower is really powerful though, bonus!

Another thing to consider - we stayed between the 27-30th December 2011 and at night the room was UNBEARABLY hot. I couldn't figure it out (this was even with the air con), so make sure you pack an industrial fan.

This is not a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vgs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thanks for your review. We are sorry that you didn't feel comfortbale with the deisgn of the rooms. But we hope you enjoyed your stay nevertheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife had done a lot of work finding us a great hotel for our two night stay in Berlin. We got to the hotel and were really excited, the hotel looked just as great as it does in the photos. The excitement did not last that long. The receptionist barely said hello to us when we said that we would like to check in. She tapped the computer and then said that we have a problem - the hotel is overbooked! We were stunned because we had made a prepayment (the hotel required it) via Hotels.com. There were no apology for the situation. We arrived to the hotel in the morning, which just means that they had systematically overbooked the hotel.

The receptionist then said that they have a sister hotel (hotel excelsior) nearby, which according to her was similar to Sir F.K. Savigny. With no options left they ordered a taxi to take us to Excelsior. When we arrived to Excelsior that this hotel really wasn't similar to Sir F.K. Savigny...it had over 300 rooms compared to 45 rooms at Sir F.K. So now we got a large chain hotel instead of a boutique designer hotel...we were not happy. The receptionist gave us the first room which was supposed the same kind of room that we had at Sir F.K....the room was small, had stains on the wall, etc. We returned to the reception and said that we want to speak again with the hotel manager at Sir F.K. We got hold of the manager and this time he was apologizing for the situation at Sir F.K. But the said that there were simply no rooms left – then he continued that he will make our stay special at Excelsior, he will make sure of that.

So after complaining about the first room, we got the supposedly the best room available at Excelsior. It was a regular room on our standards and really not that stylish as the ones in Sir F.K. We were too tired to argue against them anymore and we took the room. Excelsior said that breakfast would be free of charge and that we would get a some sort of gift/fruit basket as an apology from Sir F.K. At the end of the day, we never got any kind of formal apology from Sir F.K., no fruit basket, no nothing (even though we reminded the staff twice!!). We also complained about the broken TV at our room the first night we were there…they said that the technician would fix it the next day…nobody did not do a thing about it!

All in all, we were really unsatisfied of the way were treated. So be aware when booking a room from Sir F.K. Savigny. We also cannot recommend Excelsior hotel…the hotel is a standard hotel with a terrible service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hkokkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

We are really sorry for the circumstances you had. This was not supposed to be and is not usual and again we are really sorry for the issues you had with us and at the other hotel. Also we will analyse the situation to find the mistake. We really hope that you maybe try us again and that we are able to convince you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This hotel is extremely sleek, luxurious and stylish, and is in a very good location. The S-bahn trains are easy to use; get off at Savignyplatz station and the hotel is just around the corner. Charlottenburg, Spandau, KaDeWe, Alexanderplatz and the Olympic Stadium are all easy to reach on the S-bahn too. For a good day out we would recommend Friedrishstrasse, a few stops away on the S-bahn, with lots of bars, Irish pubs and lovely restaurants.

The bedrooms are small but perfectly formed, however there is not much storage, so probably not good for a long stay. We didn't try the food because it was so expensive, but there are lots of very good restaurants in the area such as Apostel 12 (right by the Savignyplatz station) and some good pubs and bars too. The hotel is quiet, very clean, super modern, with very friendly helpful staff, and (when we were there) no children. There is also free WiFi, and a nice lounge area downstairs for guests.

Absolutely perfect for a couple, but wouldn't recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuLu_135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thanks a lot for your review about you stay! We are honored that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will try to improve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed her for five nights in December 2011. it was absolutely amazing - definitely one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in - impeccably clean, excellent attention to detail, friendly staff.

The hotel is a fair distance from the centre of Berlin, it takes about an hour to walk to Brandenburg Gate, but it's an enjoyable walk so this wasn't a problem for us. The s-bahn takes around 10 minutes and is literally around the corner.

Some lovely restaurants around the area too - a brilliant Vietnamese across the road and a tapas restaurant in Savignyplatz. If you're looking for a walking tour, I can recommend 'Alternative Berlin', or 'Cold War Berlin' with Insider Tours - definitely the way to see Berlin.

Excellent hotel and incredible value for money - would definitely recommend and will hopefully visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaby0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirSavigny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sir Savigny Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. Your words mean a lot to us and we hope that you will come back again. We would be honored to have you as our guests again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Max Brown Hotel Ku'damm
#149 of 634 in Berlin
221 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Zoo Berlin
Hotel Zoo Berlin
#151 of 634 in Berlin
524 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#9 of 634 in Berlin
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
H'Otello K'80
H'Otello K'80
#119 of 634 in Berlin
286 reviews
Charlottenburg
25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Savigny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Savigny Hotel

Address: Kantstr. 144, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Berlin
#60 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#69 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $124 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Savigny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Savigny, an entitled member of the SIR hotels family, breathes a creative spirit into the hip heart of the old West. His luxury boutique hotel is a gateway to Berlin's upscale Charlottenburg area, situated directly on the famous Savignyplatz in the City West's vibrant Art Nouveau district, with-in walking distance from the legendary Kurfurstendamm, Berlin's shopping oasis. Sir Savigny himself is a cultivated yet witty cosmopolitan culinary host for lifestyle travellers, locals and neighbours. He created the most welcoming environment with his stylish-yet-entirely-casual approach to design. Sir Savigny welcomes you in his kitchen where you can discuss the aesthetics of Fassbinder at his kitchen table, while sipping a Manhattan and enjoying a bloody delicious burger from his in-house kitchen, The Butcher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sir Savigny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir f.k. Savigny Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing