We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, fresh and well positioned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Ranked #75 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I had a twin room with ensuite. Not the world's largest room, but enough to store bags and rest after a day of sight seeing. Ensuite was nice and clean and seemed relatively new - or at least refurbished. Rooms were warm and quiet and we could open a window to let fresh air in. Very close to transport and a short walk to Unter den Linden and all the major sites. You could hire bikes for 12euros a day. - but we did a Fat Tire bike tour and just kept that bike instead - biking around is really easy and convenient.

Staff were friendly and helpful - would easily stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank RohanMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Easy walking distance of may of Berlin's sites. This modernly decorated hotel (though not our cup of tea decor-wise) was a good value with very good front desk service. The only downsides of our visit were the crowded breakfast buffet (which, by the way, is worth the $10 Euro charge) and our dislike of the flat, hard pillows in our room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwdwWausau_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Couldn't have been happier with our stay at Gat Point Charlie. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was a lovely surprise, so we had a room with a large superking bed, balcony, and a seperate living area. The room (and the hotel in general) was clean, bright and modern. Location wise this was ideal for us as it was nearby an underground stop, within walking distance of a lot of the main attractions, and near quite a few good bars/restaurants.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but we did go down to the bar one night for cocktails which were reasonably priced, and it was a nice and relaxing place to sit and unwind after a day of full on sightseeing.

We loved our visit to Berlin and it's definitely a city I'd like to visit again, and if we do we'll definitely be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for 2 primary reasons - location and price. On these two points it did not disappoint. The hotel is located right near checkpoint Charlie (literally 3 min walk away!), which also places it within walking distance of numerous other attractions (topography of terror, Brandenburg gate, potsdamerplatz, fassbender and rausch chocolate cafe!).

The rooms are clean and modern, but small. The bathroom is also small. We stayed for 4 days and were only given one small bar of soap for 2 people for both the sink and shower. This is not a room that you stay in for its own sake, it's really just a good base to explore Berlin from.

The breakfast is an extra €10 pp and is a basic buffet. There are plenty of local bakeries nearby selling fresh bread, sandwiches and coffee for very reasonable prices.

Be warned that at the moment there is construction work between franzosischestr. and friedrichstr. which is disrupting the metro on U6 (the most direct route from the main train station). It is necessary to either walk 500m between the two stations to continue, or follow a slightly confusing set of yellow footprints to catch a bus which can take you to stadtmitte.

We would stay at the hotel again, simply because the location is so convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lil_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had a good week here: everything is bright, clean, and white, and the staff are excellent.
Facilities in our room were somewhat lacking: the very small number of hangers and shelves suggest that their target market is the one or two night visitor rather than someone staying longer.
The only other downside was the breakfast room: too small with long tables and benches gave the very strong impression that they wanted you to be sufficiently uncomfortable not to tarry. The food was very reasonable though.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tourist3953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stylish, minimalist decor - fresh, clean and bright. We asked for a wheelchair accessible room and it was very good, with a decent-sized wetroom and space to manoeuvre. Free wi-fi in the room worked fine.
Location is very central - just round the corner from Checkpoint Charlie and within easy walking distance of most main sights, including Brandenburg Gate, Reichstag, Museum Island and Potsdamer Platz.
Tea and coffee is available at reasonable rates from the bar, which also served decent cocktails.
We got a breakfast included deal which made it great value for a city centre hotel. Breakfast was good, with lots of choice, though the seating arrangements (long shared tables with comfy bench seats) make it a little crowded at peak times.
All the staff were friendly and happy to help. All round, a good choice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BosphorusBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is brilliantly located for all the main tourist sites. It's right next to Check Point Charlie and places like the Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag are easily walkable too. The hotel is very modern and minimalist but interesting nevertheless. The breakfast is good but the breakfast room at the weekend can be a bit hectic as the room is quite narrow and people can get in each others way going between the tables and self service areas.
WiFi was good and worked immediately. No tea or coffee in room but as out all day no big deal.
Rooms clean and functional and rather quirky do to the minimalist design.
All-in-all happy with the hotel and would stay there again, mainly due to the location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt
Mitte
Berlin Mitte By Melia
Berlin Mitte By Melia
#100 of 634 in Berlin
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gat Point Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Point Charlie

Address: Mauerstr. 81 - 82, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $65 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Point Charlie 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the central Mitte vicinity. Mitte is one entertaining neighborhood with an important history load and many mysteries awaiting.The hotel's typical berlin industrial structure was home to the STASI. In just 10 minutes you can reach Brandenburger Gate, the Museum Island and the Holocaust Memorial. And if that wasn't enough, the famous Check Point Charlie from the Berlin Wall is a stone's throw away from us. What is also literally round the corner is the well-known Friedrichstrasse; the perfect place for shopping, you will definitely love it.Gat Point Charlie stands for friendship. Designed from start to finish to achieve out of your stay something beyond enjoyable. The Room Room is a good spot to have a cocktail with friends, and when it gets to getting some rest, the beds available in all 140 rooms, will make you quickly surrender to Morpheus arms.A healthy and balanced breakfast will be waiting for you in the morning, the perfect way to reload the energies you will need to conquer the Berlin streets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gat Point Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing