We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Ranked #76 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a nice design hotel in the city center of Berlin. The hotel and the rooms are very stylish.
The rooms are clean, nice beds and perfectly positioned lights. Only down side was the limited space in the breakfast area in peak times. Many people can sit but then there is almost no room to walk the buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caspar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Gerente at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

I would like to thank you very much for your comments posted and I am so sorry for the inconveniences due to the space in the restaurant, we will try to sort this situation out if possible.

Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Spotlessly clean , really modern hotel . Two minute walk from checkpoint charlie and the underground . Breakfast was really nice great choice of food . Staff were friendly tho I didn't have d much time getting to know them as so much to do in Berlin. Would defiantly recommend and visit again but not in the summer as the rooms far too hot windows didn't open wide enough and NO air con .free wifi worked well . Only downside was no air con and when we asked for directions to schoenfeld the receptionist has given us the Wrong way , luckily the girl at the station helped us out . Will definitely visit gat point charlie again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueronluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Gerente at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your comments and I am sorry for the inconveniences due to the A/C, we will do our best to find the best solution for it.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to come back

Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Luckily we had just left a heatwave at home, otherwise we would have marked the hotel down for not having any air conditioning, as countless other reviewers have commented on.
Aside from this, the hotel is very well located - close to the stadtmitte U bahn lines, handy for U2 and U6, the swanky Freidrichstrasse (shopping!) and the run down streets surrounding the last standing bit of the Berlin Mauer / Luftwaffe building / site of east german democracy rights protesters massacre and Checkpoint Charlie area. Provided you don't mind walking a few miles, all the main tourist sights are totally reachable by foot. This includes the Brandenburg gate, memorials to the murdered Jews of europe, Sinti/Roma and homosexuals memorials, Museum Island, Humbolt university and the Reichstag. So its a good choice if you want a weekend in Berlin and want to see some of the main tourist bits in the centre of the town.
The staff were multilingual, had no issues coming and going as we pleased. Housekeeping generally arrived well after lunch.
Issues - temperature climbed and no air con, but we had a window to open. We faced the back of the hotel, so got noise from the carpark, noise from smokers etc from the downstairs bar (we were on first floor) and the light from same and the opposite building. I got used to this but my girlfriend needed to buy an eyemask to sleep as it was pretty light with all that and the curtains were thin. The sheets weren't changed (used a telltale food stain!) but the room was clean and slightly spartan - no tea and coffee making facilities for example.
Vending machine on first floor - not that cheap, but if like me you drink water at night then its that or nothing! En suite was good. It housed the only plug socket that worked with my UK to EU plug converted, which had an odd timer beside it - still no idea what that did! Not much it seemed.
It wasn't particularly noisy and I did enjoy my stay. GF was put off by the things that made it less comfortable, such as the light and lack of kettle. Safe was good, you change code each time you use it.

A more than adequate hotel, suitable mostly for couples - bit small and cramped for families I would have thought. Quiet and in an area that is quiet at night, so not really for the clubbing night owl types. Bring a fan, some kind of cooling spray like rosewater, (if it is warm) an eye mask and some bottled water / travel kettle and bring it up to a 4 star standard. Some rough edges but cool modern design. I got breakfast at the nearby Thurmann cafe - off Bethlehemkirkplatz ( cool exhibit too of destroyed church) for a mere 3-4 euros a day including tea or drink, which I would recommend. Bar charges a premium compared with other places, but maybe only a euro or two per drink mark up and is comfortable (Despite europop) and had a nice and friendly barman.
Had odd dreams about eyes hence the title! Well, it is in former east Berlin.... site of old spy outpost anyone??!!

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel will be very bright even with lights off, bring eyemask Warm in summer - no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Gerente at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your whole opinion about your stay, it is always good to know details that are not working properly. We have not received complaints about the black outs for example. I apologize for the inconveniences caused because of the A/A, we do usually offer fans to our guests. Kettles and minibar are only in our Junior Suites.

Once again thank you very much for all your comments, they will help us to improve.

Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, clean rooms, fresh new towels and nice breakfast. I would recommend upgrading to a suite for an extra 30€ per night. Rooms hot but you can get an extra fan. Close to good shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jet400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Gerente at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

I would like to thank you for your comments posted.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards

Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Yes, this hotel is definitely in a great location - and you can use Check Point Charlie as a beacon to find your way back after a days sightseeing. The rooms are very clean, the staff friendly, the 10 euro breakfast is extremely good value - the staff were very helpful in getting me some gluten free bread.
But the lack of air conditioning was a real problem when we stayed for 3 nights in early July. It was very hot and stuffy in the room. We were unable to have the window and curtain wide open as we were opposite a window by the lifts - which meant anyone waiting for the lift could look right into our room!
We also did not have any tea and coffee making facilities or fridge but I notice from another review that some rooms do have these facilities.
I would stay again, for the location and service, but would be particular about which room I booked and definitely not during the hotter summer months!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Gerente at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank your very much for your comments posted. As you mentioned it was particularly hot at the end of July, it was unusual in the city.
The minibar and kettle for coffee and tea are just in our Junior Suites, all of them have these facilities.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards
Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A very good choice for a short stay of two to four days in Berlin. It is a clean and modern place to stay in a brilliant location if you are keen on Berlin Wall history. Checkpoint Charlie, a comprehensive display of "wall history", an excellent Stasi Museum and the not-to-be-missed "Topography of Terror" are all within walking distance (within 1km from hotel). To get there from the main train station (Hauptbahnhof) just head out the door and jump on bus 147 then get off at "Stadt Mitte" - about a 15 minute ride. The hotel is just around the corner.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NicmC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Gerente at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

I would like just to thank you for all your kind comments about your stay with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again

Best regards
Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Berlin last summer and stayed here for a portion of our trip. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but what do you expect for Berlin. Clean sheets every day, extremely friendly staff, unbeatable location, and really nice rooms. For the price and location alone, this hotel can't be beat. As for any hotel in Berlin, there is no air-conditioning, so having a window open is a must. We did not have any meals at the hotel because we wanted to get out and explore the city, but one extremely rainy night the concierge recommended a great little Italian place next door which was delicious. Just a couple blocks away is Kamps Backstube which is AMAZING and perfect for a quick bite at a reasonable price. We had drinks in the hotel bar one night which were out of this world expensive, but the bartender was so friendly and ended up helping us plan our outtings for the rest of our trip with some local guidance. Highly recommend! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Gerente at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your comments abut your stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards

Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#117 of 633 in Berlin
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gat Point Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Point Charlie

Address: Mauerstr. 81 - 82, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $67 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Point Charlie 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the central Mitte vicinity. Mitte is one entertaining neighborhood with an important history load and many mysteries awaiting.The hotel's typical berlin industrial structure was home to the STASI. In just 10 minutes you can reach Brandenburger Gate, the Museum Island and the Holocaust Memorial. And if that wasn't enough, the famous Check Point Charlie from the Berlin Wall is a stone's throw away from us. What is also literally round the corner is the well-known Friedrichstrasse; the perfect place for shopping, you will definitely love it.Gat Point Charlie stands for friendship. Designed from start to finish to achieve out of your stay something beyond enjoyable. The Room Room is a good spot to have a cocktail with friends, and when it gets to getting some rest, the beds available in all 140 rooms, will make you quickly surrender to Morpheus arms.A healthy and balanced breakfast will be waiting for you in the morning, the perfect way to reload the energies you will need to conquer the Berlin streets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splitty, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gat Point Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing