We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location with reasonable price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Ranked #78 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good location with reasonable price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, the location was good, near to shopping, restaurants and sights (museums etc). Room was small but clean. Breakfast was very good, absolutely worth of the price (10 euros). Overall very nice, basic hotel. Nothing special but everything that you need. The only small negative thing was the green colour all over the place... :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Madam,

I would like just to thank you for your comments posted about your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.

Thank you very much
Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    810
    147
    40
    13
See reviews for
184
870
121
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Comfortable, fresh rooms with great beds, compact but very well designed and airy, quiet- we could not hear traffic, other guests, or any other noise- the only noise we heard was a spectacular thunderstorm on our last night, and we opened the windows for that!
The location is great for trendy Kreuzberg dining, art at Martin-Gropius-Bau, Libeskind's Jewish museum, the Mies Neue Museum and Potsdamer Platz are a stroll away.
Pay the extra and include breakfast, you will not regret this! Any meal that takes up two sides of the room to deliver is worth 10 Euros. It can be a little crowded, but pick your time- middle aged people get up early, and are anxious to get the day going.....relax...its all constantly replenished by smiling good-humoured staff so you can't 'miss out'. All fresh and delicious, with the possibility of your most eccentric combination breakfast fantasy...."Crepes with smoked salmon, youghurt, fresh fruit, sausage, boiled egg, nutella, bacon, chorizo and chocolate bran cereal served on a sunflower toast anyone"? (with endless coffee and twelve types of tea of course....and muffins to follow...)
Reviews for this hotel include little minor moans- all I can say is, we had a problem when we arrived, we spoke to the staff, a team of people swept into action, and we were happily settled within half an hour. Just Ask, these are people who work very hard 24:7 to make your stay comfortable and happy, and are friendly and smiling.
Great value for money, wish I could have stayed longer.
The only problem I now have is that after this I refuse to stay in faceless five stars ever again.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddlywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

I can just say Thank You for all your comments, we all really appreciatte them a lot and we are proud of them. As you mentioned we work hard to make our guest stay pleasant and we are happy to know that we have achieved it with you, please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit Berlin again, I would be pleased to assist you with your reservation.

Once again thank you

Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hotel was actually much better than I expected the room was really big, staff at the front desk could speak perfect English and were full of useful information.
The bar in the hotel was a high point of the trip on the 2nd night we decided to go down for a drink before heading out and actually ended up staying in there till the small hours of the morning.
Bar staff were absolutely brilliant, the drink was cheap and the music was pretty good too!
Would definitely come back if I was in Berlin again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavlaarAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you so much for your review, as you mentioned the Bar is a good place to stay and we are trying nowadays to improve our service there.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit Berlin again.

Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This has been the cheapest hotel among those booked for our European tour and so far has represented the best value for money. The location is fantastic, while the modern albeit cosy rooms are a great place to retire at the end of each day. It's a popular and funky choice, and we appreciated the casual bar for a regular tipple. Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmycomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for all your comments posted. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again, I would be pleased to assist you with your reservation.

Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here two nights in mid June. Our flight arrived super early, so of course we couldn't check in right away, but they were able to store our luggage until we came back at check in time. The hotel is located right now Checkpoint Charlie and lots of cool museums. We immediately went to the Topography of Terror Museum which is right around the corner. Also lots of places to eat nearby too!

The receptionist at the desk was very nice. She also spoke Spanish (she was talking to Spanish visitors) so that's always good to have someone who speaks multiple languages! Our room was on the top floor. I was worried it would be hotter because we were on the top floor with no AC but it was perfectly fine. Our room was awesome. The water in the fridge was complimentary. We even had a separate living room! The windows opened with a remote control and we had a nice view over the city. Very modern and clean.

We got the 10 euro each breakfast in the morning and it was delicious. Lots of food to choose from: eggs, bacon, potatoes, cereal, muffins, croissants, fruit, yogurt, cold cuts, cheese, everything! Filled us up for most of the day.

All in all, a great stay, and I would definitely stay there again. The price was great too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Madam,

Just a few words to thank you for all your comments posted about your stay with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you come back, I would be pleased to assist you with your reservation.

Thank you very much

Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel Gat Point Charlie is excellent value for money. It is far cheaper than other central hotels and I did wonder what it was going to be like! The room was basic but adequate for a city break. Who wants to spend all the time in a room when they should be out exploring! However, there was a safe and a TV. Towels in the bathroom were changed each day and if you had used any of the toiletries (shower gel,body milk, shampoo and soap) a new bottle was put there. Everything was spotlessly clean. The hotel is very modern. All the staff are very friendly and most helpful. I had booked through lastminute.com and breakfast was not included. However, I had breakfast every day which cost 10 Euros per day. This was well worth the money as there was a delicious buffet, which even included bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs and fried potatoes. It certainly set me up for the day. Hotel Gat Point Charlie is in an excellent position to explore all the main places of interest. Stadtmitte underground station is very close and from here you can get directly to Potsdamerplatz, Alexanderplatz, Friedrichstrasse and Zoo stations. Friedrichstrasse (I know it is a long street!) is about 100m away. I will certainly stay at this hotel again on my next visit to Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaretchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for all your comments posted abut your stay at Gat Point Charlie. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit again.

Best regards

Jose Mª Sánchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Wirral
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The wife got me this as a christmas prezzie due to my interest in history. The hotel was brilliant so clean and trendy it was unbelievable. Breakfast was really good but book before you go it was much cheaper 16 euros otherwise each. Get the train from the airport its a lot cheaper 4 euros for 2. Very important to validate your ticket on the platform (little red boxes). Change at friedrickstrasse and your right in town. You can walk to the hotel but we got a taxi the first time. Hotel is 50 metres ffrom check point charlie and all sites are walking distance. If you want to visit the Reichstag book before you go and take your passport on the day. Beers in hotel very good and cheap only 3 euros a large beer very good for a major european ciry. Very good thai restaurant. 2 doors from hotel. Not enough to do in berlin after site seeing but hotel was excellent

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxandGinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments, as you mentioned our breakfast is cheaper if you booked the room with it included or directly at the front desk during your stay with us, oficial price is 15€ per person, if you booked in advance or during your stay is 10€ per person.

Once again thank your for your comments and please do not hesitate to contact me if you would to visit us again in the future.

Jose Mª Sánchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#71 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
NH Berlin Mitte Leipziger Strasse
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gat Point Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Point Charlie

Property: Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Address: Mauerstr. 81 - 82, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Point Charlie 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the central Mitte vicinity. Mitte is one entertaining neighborhood with an important history load and many mysteries awaiting.The hotel's typical berlin industrial structure was home to the STASI. In just 10 minutes you can reach Brandenburger Gate, the Museum Island and the Holocaust Memorial. And if that wasn't enough, the famous Check Point Charlie from the Berlin Wall is a stone's throw away from us. What is also literally round the corner is the well-known Friedrichstrasse; the perfect place for shopping, you will definitely love it.Gat Point Charlie stands for friendship. Designed from start to finish to achieve out of your stay something beyond enjoyable. The Room Room is a good spot to have a cocktail with friends, and when it gets to getting some rest, the beds available in all 140 rooms, will make you quickly surrender to Morpheus arms.A healthy and balanced breakfast will be waiting for you in the morning, the perfect way to reload the energies you will need to conquer the Berlin streets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gat Point Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing