We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for exploring Berlin.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Ranked #75 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Larisa, Greece
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very convenient for exploring Berlin.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The location is very convenient for exploring Berlin, near subway stations, next to Check Point Charlie and in a walking distance for the most sights of Berlin. So i would definitely recommend it for that!!
I stayed for 5 nights in a single bedroom. It was a very clean and modern room but the bed was really small. I could hug it when i was sleeping.. Also there was no closet in the room, only an open "modernish style" construction with fixed clothes hangers that were not so handy, especially if you need to hang a t-shirt. It would ruin its neck for sure. So you have to keep most of your clothes in the bags.. There was no fridge available too.
Thumbs up for the free WiFi, the very friendly-smilling staff and the bathroom facilities. In order to have your towel renewed drop them on the floor.
About the breakfast. 15 euros for a typical hotel breakfast is overestimated. I think that you can find around Berlin better breakfast for half that price :).
Enjoy your stay as I did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elympos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your commets. As you mentioned there are no minibars in the rooms, they are just in our Junior Suites with a kettle also. We have also changed due to a comments like yours, our breakfast price, it costs nowadays 10€ per person instead of 15€.
Once again thank you for your comments and please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.
Best regards
Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    810
    147
    40
    13
See reviews for
184
870
121
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for 5 nights. We had an awesome time at this hotel. It is very well located, just meters away from Check Point Charlie and 2 blocks away from the subway station. The room was always clean and it was really modern. The bathroom was awesome! The staff was always helpful with our requirements and the breakfast it was really good. The only thing that I didn`t like is that some times at night it was a little bit hot and there wasn`t a way to control the temperature of the room, other than that, great stay. And the best part is price... Would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

I would like to thank you for your comments posted. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards
Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location for this nice, design and cosy hotel.
Located near Checkpoint Charlie and Stadtmitte Metro Station, it deserved to be well-known.
Part of the Spanish gatrooms Group, with hotels in Berlin and Lisbon (Both tested) + Paris (Not tested) and Barcelona (Closed?), it offers a nice and clean room. breakfast is gorgeous with full of local taste. personal is very helpful.
You can even rent a bike at 10 Euros...nice to discver the city...
Negative Point: Supposedly you have a restaurant: The Kitchen...But nobody informed is has definitively closed :-(.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreBeLg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for your opinion posted, as you mentioned our restaurant was closed last year and we are currently trying to find the best option for our guest, I am sorry for the inconveniences it could cause you during your stay.
Please do not hesitate to contact if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards,

Jose Mª Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is great for a weekend trip. Close to the communication at Potsdamer Platz and not far by taxi to the bars in Friedrichshein.
Rooms modern and clean. Beds a bit hard - but better than the soft ones in some lousy hotels....

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back. You can have the window open. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerrEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you very much for your opinion posted, please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards
Jose Mª Sánchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent facilities within walking distance from Brandenburg Gate. Cosy rooms with modern stylish furniture. Helping staff ready to solve any doubt and make your holiday a total success. We give it a 9 out of 10 and greatly recommend it to anyone wishing to enjoy this buzzy city.

Helpful?
Thank juanfra888
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you very much for all your comments posted about your stay.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards

Jose Mª Sánchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was really impressed with this hotel. Everything really modern, trendy, and clean. The room was a bit small but it felt very cozy. Staff was nice. Location was perfect. Possible to rent a bike for the day, though I didn't have time to do that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for your comments posted about your stay with us.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again,

Bes regards
Jose Mª Sánchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel during Easter! The location of this trendy hotel is just perfect if u wanna discover the city. Close to public transport and walking distance from Gendarmen Square, Potsdammer Platz, Checkpoint Charlie, ... The rooms are nice and modern but a bit small. Lack of storage space. Free wifi which worked very well. Price of breakfast is now 10€, it used to be 15€ which would have been a bit overrated! But the breakfast contains all U need...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gat_Point_Charlie, Director General at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments, we are currently working in trying to find the best solution for our storage space, shortly we will have one.
As you mentioned our breakfast´s price is 10€ per person now, we have changed it due to comments like yours.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards

Jose M Sánchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#71 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
NH Berlin Mitte Leipziger Strasse
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gat Point Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Point Charlie

Property: Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Address: Mauerstr. 81 - 82, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Point Charlie 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the central Mitte vicinity. Mitte is one entertaining neighborhood with an important history load and many mysteries awaiting.The hotel's typical berlin industrial structure was home to the STASI. In just 10 minutes you can reach Brandenburger Gate, the Museum Island and the Holocaust Memorial. And if that wasn't enough, the famous Check Point Charlie from the Berlin Wall is a stone's throw away from us. What is also literally round the corner is the well-known Friedrichstrasse; the perfect place for shopping, you will definitely love it.Gat Point Charlie stands for friendship. Designed from start to finish to achieve out of your stay something beyond enjoyable. The Room Room is a good spot to have a cocktail with friends, and when it gets to getting some rest, the beds available in all 140 rooms, will make you quickly surrender to Morpheus arms.A healthy and balanced breakfast will be waiting for you in the morning, the perfect way to reload the energies you will need to conquer the Berlin streets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gat Point Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing