We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice design, extremely hard beds and no tea or coffee facilities in my room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Ranked #78 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, nice design, extremely hard beds and no tea or coffee facilities in my room”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, literally around the corner of Checkpoint Charlie and within 2 minutes walking distance of the subway. I loved the design of the hotel, very modern. My room was as clean as anyone wouldd wish for. Free wifi too.

On the downside there are a couple of reasons why I rate this hotel with only 3 points: 1) I've never had a more unconfortably hard mattress, 2) there were no coffee or tea making facilities in my room (meaning I had to go to the bar for each cup of tea I wanted, paying €2 each time) and 3) I found breakfast good, but on the expensive side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarinSl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    822
    148
    40
    14
See reviews for
188
881
124
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for four nights early in December to visit the Christmas markets and for sightseeing and had chosen the hotel after reading reviews from previous guests. We were not disappointed and as well as a great location found the room comfortable and service very friendly and efficient. The free Wi-Fi in the room was an unexpected bonus.
Breakfast could be a bit crowded and guests sit along long tables together which we didn't find to be a problem. The staff worked very hard to clear tables and keep the breakfast buffet replemished - there was a good choice of different things to choose from but couldn't comment on value for money as we had a deal which included breakfast.
There were two or three excellent Christmas markets within easy walking distance and the hotel had helpfully marked up a map for guests to use.
The cost of our stay was very good value considering location and the accomomodation and we would definately stay there again if we visit Berlin again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Pleasant reception staff; comfy beds. Very weird coathangers almost impossible to hang clothes on. I liked the colour scheme and the location is terrific. We had a few drinks in the bar and the staff there were great. My main complaint would be the breakfast buffet is overpriced and the dining room ridiculously cramped. We found a great new cafe called West Berlin nearby (Just past Check Point Charlie) and had breakfast there for less than half the price and with twice the space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went for the last weekend with my husband for a short break. Hotel was a total winner - freezing snow outside and was warm, funky and new looking. Breakfast was a treat, though try to stay clear of the crowded times. Front desk gracious and helpful with well recommended advice. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The rooms are not large, yet tastefully decorated. Try for the ones overlooking the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionad491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Chose this hotel because of its location close to many of the main attractions in Berlin. Nice and very clean room. The receptionists were efficient - perhaps a bit too efficient with no time for a smile.

The breakfast buffet is expensive, 15 euros, but it's also very good.

Because of the central location, the clean rooms and pretty cheap rates I'm sure I'll be coming back to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigrutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Loved this humble styled fresh city centre hotel. There is an air of good style and freshness throughout the entire building. Good value for money and perfect for adults on vacation (so please do not ruin this hotel by bringing your children). Stunningly good breakfast buffet and we actually had our best Mojhitos ever in the hotel bar and spent hours in nice conversations with the friendly, layed-back and very internationally experienced hotel staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanWindahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at the Gat Point Charlie in July 2012. The hotel is very well located, just a couple of blocks from Check Point Charlie (of course!), The Mauer, and Potsdamer Platz. The breakfast is not included in the rate (you can pay a fee for it), but definitely recommend the Einstein Kaffee across check point Charlie were you can have the best croissants and strudels of Berlin (and also try the Chai Latte!). The staff is not friendly at all, you cannot count on them, but that seems quite the philosophy of the hotel: you are just by yourself. My room was extremely tiny, I could barely move in it, but it was quiet and the bed was comfy. It all makes sense with the hotel rates and the fact that you probably won´t spend much time inside. Overall, I recommend it, but keep in mind that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamiySan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#77 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gat Point Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Point Charlie

Property: Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Address: Mauerstr. 81 - 82, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Point Charlie 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the central Mitte vicinity. Mitte is one entertaining neighborhood with an important history load and many mysteries awaiting.The hotel's typical berlin industrial structure was home to the STASI. In just 10 minutes you can reach Brandenburger Gate, the Museum Island and the Holocaust Memorial. And if that wasn't enough, the famous Check Point Charlie from the Berlin Wall is a stone's throw away from us. What is also literally round the corner is the well-known Friedrichstrasse; the perfect place for shopping, you will definitely love it.Gat Point Charlie stands for friendship. Designed from start to finish to achieve out of your stay something beyond enjoyable. The Room Room is a good spot to have a cocktail with friends, and when it gets to getting some rest, the beds available in all 140 rooms, will make you quickly surrender to Morpheus arms.A healthy and balanced breakfast will be waiting for you in the morning, the perfect way to reload the energies you will need to conquer the Berlin streets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gat Point Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing