We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but...check creditcard payment procedure.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #48 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great hotel with Scandinavian touch. Very friendly and helpful staff. Also a very good breakfast menu. The menu and dishes served in the restaurant was, however, not top class. Avoid the hamburger.

Free WiFi, but just newschannels to watch on the TV.

There was an AC in the room, but the lowest temperature available is 19C, wich was too hot.

The only thing that was very annoying and irritating is that the amount reserved at my crditcard when I checked in was not released until a week after. "-It´s our procedure" I was told when complaining. So - watch out and check your account.

Close to Brandenburger Tor and Reischtag. Underground station around the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mats54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Hej dear guest,

I would like to thank you for the time you spent to give us such a detailed and constructive feedback.

First of all, I am very sorry for the issue with your credit card. I would like to give you a small explanation for the procedure. When you leave your credit card details as a guarantee, we block the payable amount until your departure. If you pay at check out with another credit card or by cash, the amount needs to be unblocked manually from your credit card, which can take up to a few days. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Nevertheless, we are very happy with your positive feedback about our staff and our breakfast buffet.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel at your next visit to Berlin.

Warm regards,

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 3,266 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Lovely modern hotel, with decent sized rooms and lovely bathroom. We had view over front of hotel from the 5th floor.
The bar area is modern and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Great location! I would recommend this hotel to friends!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank rlp_robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Hej dear guest,

Thank you for kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We especially appreciate your great feedback about our staff.

We are looking forward to meeting you and your friends on your next trip to Berlin!

Kind regards,

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed in Scandic Berlin for two nights during a meeting organized in the hotel.
The hotel is very well equipped en the decoration is well chosen.
Catering was great, and the location, close to Potzdammer Platz, is very good.


This hotel was excellent for such a short business-stay when you don't share a room.
However, I wouldn't choose this hotel for a city-trip with my partner:
Between bathroom and sleeping-room, there is a milkglass pane. Thus, when you have to use the bathroom at night, you might have to choose between stumbling around in a dark bathroom, or switching on the light and rouse a partner who's a light sleeper...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Hej dear Anne,

thank you for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could relax in our hotel during your business trip.
We are aware that the bathroom door is quite unusual. The reason is that we want to offer our guests as much space as possible in our hotel rooms, as this is common in Scandinavia.

We would be happy to welcome you back in Berlin on your next business trip.

Kind regards,

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

As many scandic hotels are, it's well equipped clean and simple.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast while nice is very unorganized

Yoghurt comes between the bread and meats and various other toppings, meaning you are often going against the "traffic"

Knives and forks are place on opposite sides of the buffets....why??? Can't both be on both sides?

The coffee machines offer a wide choice of coffees but take FOREVER to make them.... Which although there are 6 machines means often there are long waiting times.

Couldn't at least two of the machines have been purely for simple black coffee with milk option in a jug on the side....

At least 90% of the other guests I watched chose simple coffee

This is available at most other scandics and other hotels in general....

A nice option is the Bio buffet, but it's off to one side and easily missed.

And finally the "hot" food... isn't....

Over cooked scrambles eggs

Enough baked beans to bathe in... Which I'm only guessing is reheated day after day.... And the sausage was sadly also very over cooked.

But with breakfast being a paid option... You're probably going to find better value for money else where.

The rooms are wonderful and very stylish. Clean crisp design.

Stay here... Eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hej dear John,

first of all I want to thank you for your time you spent to give us such a detailed feedback about your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not experienced our breakfast buffet how it should be. Please be assured, that I am taking your feedback seriously and that I will discuss your improvement points with our breakfast team. We are really thankful for your feedback, as with your help we are able to improve our service in the future.
However, I am very happy to hear your positive feedback about our staff.

In the end I hope that during your next visit to Berlin, you will give us another chance to convince you with our Scandinavian hospitality.

Warm regards,

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great hotel. Very clean and tidy. Rooms are large, spacious and provide good quality design. We return here year after year. Easy to grab a cab or get the train which is connected next door - but you can't hear it!

Breakfast is great - massive choice and a big selection on offer. Can't fault it.

Will return again next March.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank TheLuckyWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hej dear guest,

thank you for your excellent review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are especially thankful for the positive feedback about our rooms and breakfast.

We are looking forward to see you next year in Berlin!

Warm greetings from Berlin,

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Hotel meets all expectations, Location is excellent, next to potsdamer platz but still quiet.
Service was good, staff welcoming and polite. "Nordic-like" decor and atmosphere and room was fine.
Breakfast recommended, rich w/many choices.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hej dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you liked our Scandinavian hotel atmosphere and hospitality.

We hope to see you soon.

With kind regards,

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

There was 9 in our group for a 50th birthday celebration arriving on Good Friday and we stayed in Scandic Hotel, Potsdamer Platz, Berlin for 3 nights. The Hotel is in a perfect location to visit the Sony Centre and other sites in Potsdamer Platz; It is about a 20 minute stroll to the Holocaust memorial and Brandenburg Gate. If you are looking for night life then you are just a short Taxi ride to the Matrix night club, (Best nightclub in Berlin) and local bars. Taxis are parked outside the Hotel at all times.The Hotel has many facilities including a lovely Bar and Restaurant on the 3rd floor, we dined a few times and the food and drink was perfect. The staff are excellent and very professional, they appear to be well trained in what they do. We could not fault this Hotel in any way and strongly recommend it for Price and location

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoelPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hej dear NoelPaul,

thank you for your nice words. Positive feedback like yours motivates us the most. I have read your kind words of appreciation and you can be sure that I will forward it to our staff. Moreover, we are happy that the location of our hotel was convenient for you to explore the city center and furthermore I am glad that you enjoyed great local and seasonal specialties in our restaurant and bar.

We are looking forward to meet you again at your next trip or celebration in Berlin.

Kind regards,

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#35 of 633 in Berlin
2,352 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
1,918 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#37 of 633 in Berlin
707 reviews
Moabit
Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Address: Gabriele-Tergit-Promenade 19, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Family Hotel in Berlin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#40 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#40 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $81 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back in 1993, Scandic started developing what has become the industry's leading sustainability program. Inteligent services and barrier free hotels are focus of Scandic as well as healthy food and fitness in an inspirational surrounding. Up from 2009 strong relationship to Jamie Oliver.Short Facts - 561 rooms, 1 ball room (up to 500 people) and 17 function rooms, restaurant, bar, lobby bar, kids corner, gym and Holmes Place Life Fitness.7 Event locations for up to 1500 delegates are within walking distance.Connection to ICC congress center and Olympic stadium via underground close by the hotel. Most of Berlin's sights are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splitty, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing