We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a Berlin holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #45 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Perfect location. Near PotzdammerPlatz station and with U-Bahn "in the hotel". Walkingdistance to Brandenburger Tor. The staff was friendly and helpfull. Tastefull breakfast. Easy to drive from autobahn.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fennjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 3,313 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

stayed five night in august. it was our first time in berlin and even after having walked all over during few days so noticed all the other hotels we think that hotel scandic is in best positon in all aspects. relaxing silent area but very short walk to potsdamer plaza. good for sightseeing. the hotel itself is, although big, functional, clean and pleasant. nothing is wasted but nothing is missing. rooms neat and clean. nice colours. very cute the birds singing in all its areas. doesnt give impression of being in a city. breakfast is perfect. international and suitable for all tastes. also in this case the room is rather big (perhaps a little noisy) but nothing is missed out. and all food replaced immediately. tables cleaned quickly. nothing to say. the receptionists are very very friendly as well as very helpful. i would recommend it without any doubt.

Room Tip: the classic rooms are rather small and without any coffee/tea facilities which i believe the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria1059385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is a lovely hotel.

Location - close walking distance to Potzdammer Platz and easily accessible to the sights. We walked to Alexanderplatz and the zoo and Brandenburg Gate but if you'd rather the U-bahn station is next door.

Breakfast - was included in room rate and was of good standard with cooked and cold meats, cheese and fruit.

Rooms - delightful clean and modern rooms. Big beds and nice bathrooms

Highly recommend hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifesBigAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hallo,

I loved this hotel.
Affordable hote at 75 Euros a night (although doesn't include breakfast and breakfast is expensive at 20 Euros each person each morning, buffet style) and big rooms. And as a second floor Scandic hotel guest, I got 5 Euros voucher a day which can be used for breakfast, dinner, etc.

The location is in Berlin's nicest area in Postdamer which is where the Bradenberger-Tor gate is and also where the Reischstag dem deutschen volke (parliemant building). Around the Bradenberger gate, there is a kind of grey maze and a big park. If you walk straight past The gate and the Reischstag, you will see Madame Tussaud: Berlin and finally a lake.

Being very close to Postdamer area means there are a lot of shopping areas around. In front of the hotel, behind the skatepark or eleveated park), there IS an indoor mall where there are supermarkets, clothing shops, restaurants, coffees, etc although it is a big hard to see from the hotel because of the elevated park but try cross the park. It is a 3 level indoor mall.

Of course there is also a cinema, restaurants, dunkin donuts, etc close to the postdamer platz which leads the way to the bradenberger gate.

The hotel is next (literally, it is next) to the station called mendelsson park. You can also use postdamer platz but it is like 5-10 mins walk.

From the airport, use X9 bus to zoologicher garten station (which is around Mitte area) then use the train to go to Mendelsson Park (U2). Must read the signs to see where U2 platform is. Like any other train stations in any other country, There are 2 directions of U2 going forth and going back so you must read the train stops maps to see which direction goes to Mendelsson Park.

Berlin train and bus systems, to my knowledge, are 2.60 Euros a person for 2 hours (you can use all trains and buses although when I was there earlier this week, no one ever inspected train passengers for tickets but you need them to ride buses).

The Hotel is offering free Internet both wi-fi and computers on desks (4 computers).

It is a big hotel. There are many rooms a floor probably 50-90 rooms a floor but big rooms, modern. Air conditioner is adjusted by the TV monitor (lowest temp is 19 deg C). I think the superior and suite rooms would be bigger than the standard room I was in but I was happy with the standard room.

The hotel is internally connected to the Spa and Sauna and Gym center called the Holmes Spa. Access to spa and sauna for hotel guests is 15 Euros a DAY in which you can use all facilities EXCEPT the massages. And you don't wanna know what happens in German Sauna! hehe.

You got friendly receptionists at the hotel. I love the location. And it is quiet to sleep in. On my hotel's room floor, there were non-germans housekeepers who didn't understand basic ethics. He opened the hotel's room when I was in the SHOWER showering and there was a do not disturb sign on the door. I couldn't believe it. I complained to the receptionist by phone and was told the complaint would be forwarded to the housekeepers manager. So that's the only negative thing I have about the hotel.

This hotel had many German speaking guests (the majority of guests spoke and understood German).

So again, I loved it. I loved the hotel. I loved Berlin. I loved Deutschland. I love Germans. :)

Danke.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed in Scandic Hotel for three nights and was very satisfied with the rooms, location and comfortable beds. I did not have breakfast or did not use the fitness or spa area, therefore cannot give my opinion about those. I personally found the hotel excellent in terms of location: metro just 1 min from the hotel - you have direct connection to major visiting sights such as alexander platz, Potsdamer Platz was 5 min walk distance and all walking tours star form there, not to mention LIDL just next door if water supply or quick, affordable snack is of your interest. Hotel reception very friendly and free, fast wi-fi make your stay easy and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As many have said before, this hotel is in a great location. Only 400 meters away from the Potsdamer Platz, S-bahn station right next to the hotel and bigger station of Potsdamer Platz only a few minutes walk away, many bus lines stop near the hotel, about 20-25 minutes (less than 20 euros from 2 passengers) taxi ride from the Tegel airport.

Lobby was nice and clean but not excatly asking you to stay there for a awhile. Reception staff were really nice, friendly, willing to help you a lot and spoke good English. Check in and check out were fast.

We had a standard room, which was clean, modern & stylish and big enough for us. The mini bar was empty and that was great, since we had big bottles of water and other stuff to put in there. Closet was too small for two. Bathroom was quite spacious and very clean. Our room was cleaned every day and the cleaning staff were really nice. Always a "Guten morgen" with a friendly smile. Didn't like the sliding door of the bathroom, I do prefer regular bathroom doors. The hotel says it has A/C in every room but ours must have been broken. It was +30 and more outside and +26 in the room. Not that much sleep during the nights. We did tell about the hotness of our room, they promised to fix it but nothing seemed to change. Our room didn't have the luxury of so called french balcon, we had only a window, that didn't open all the way. Our room was very quiet.

We didn't have breakfast and didn't have a dinner there. Great places for breakfast, lunch and dinner near the hotel. Hotel bar had nice terrace and good drinks with nice staff.

I really liked this hotel and would have rated this 5 if the AC would have worked. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pillow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your detailed and positive feedback. Let us mention the issues you have written about. We don’t have air-conditioning, but instead a climate control. That means the temperature in the room can only be adjusted 7°C lower than the temperature outside. We are working on a good solution for that and hope we can implement the results as soon as possible. Our windows can be opened completely.
We are happy, you still enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend our hotel.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Given that what is advertised as A/C on the hotel web-site does not exist, we would strongly advise anybody to steer clear of this hotel between April and October, i.e. any time of the year where it may be above 20C/68F. The fact that the staff are hiding behind some green sustainability mumbo-jumbo when you ask about the lack of decent ventilation is just pure nonsense. I am all for environmentally friendly solutions, but to use them solely to cut costs and put customers at jeopardy is irresponsible. Again, if there had been a Scandic policy against the use of air-condition, why is A/C specifically high-lighted as an amenity on the hotel's own web-site? Shame on Scandic Berlin!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank xp01321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your honest feedback at Tripadvisor.
As an environment conscious hotel we have a climate control with long-distance cooling instead of an air condition. With this, the room temperature can be adjusted only 7°C lower than the outside temperature. We are working on a good solution so that the room temperature is convenient even on very warm days.
We have also changed this content on our website into climate control.
However, we do hope you have enjoyed our service in the hotel and hope to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#36 of 634 in Berlin
2,391 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,940 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Moabit
Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#41 of 634 in Berlin
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Address: Gabriele-Tergit-Promenade 19, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#40 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $86 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back in 1993, Scandic started developing what has become the industry's leading sustainability program. Inteligent services and barrier free hotels are focus of Scandic as well as healthy food and fitness in an inspirational surrounding. Up from 2009 strong relationship to Jamie Oliver.Short Facts - 561 rooms, 1 ball room (up to 500 people) and 17 function rooms, restaurant, bar, lobby bar, kids corner, gym and Holmes Place Life Fitness.7 Event locations for up to 1500 delegates are within walking distance.Connection to ICC congress center and Olympic stadium via underground close by the hotel. Most of Berlin's sights are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing