We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #41 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As many have said before, this hotel is in a great location. Only 400 meters away from the Potsdamer Platz, S-bahn station right next to the hotel and bigger station of Potsdamer Platz only a few minutes walk away, many bus lines stop near the hotel, about 20-25 minutes (less than 20 euros from 2 passengers) taxi ride from the Tegel airport.

Lobby was nice and clean but not excatly asking you to stay there for a awhile. Reception staff were really nice, friendly, willing to help you a lot and spoke good English. Check in and check out were fast.

We had a standard room, which was clean, modern & stylish and big enough for us. The mini bar was empty and that was great, since we had big bottles of water and other stuff to put in there. Closet was too small for two. Bathroom was quite spacious and very clean. Our room was cleaned every day and the cleaning staff were really nice. Always a "Guten morgen" with a friendly smile. Didn't like the sliding door of the bathroom, I do prefer regular bathroom doors. The hotel says it has A/C in every room but ours must have been broken. It was +30 and more outside and +26 in the room. Not that much sleep during the nights. We did tell about the hotness of our room, they promised to fix it but nothing seemed to change. Our room didn't have the luxury of so called french balcon, we had only a window, that didn't open all the way. Our room was very quiet.

We didn't have breakfast and didn't have a dinner there. Great places for breakfast, lunch and dinner near the hotel. Hotel bar had nice terrace and good drinks with nice staff.

I really liked this hotel and would have rated this 5 if the AC would have worked. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pillow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed and positive feedback. Let us mention the issues you have written about. We don’t have air-conditioning, but instead a climate control. That means the temperature in the room can only be adjusted 7°C lower than the temperature outside. We are working on a good solution for that and hope we can implement the results as soon as possible. Our windows can be opened completely.
We are happy, you still enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend our hotel.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,433
    1,044
    210
    58
    33
See reviews for
574
933
122
698
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Given that what is advertised as A/C on the hotel web-site does not exist, we would strongly advise anybody to steer clear of this hotel between April and October, i.e. any time of the year where it may be above 20C/68F. The fact that the staff are hiding behind some green sustainability mumbo-jumbo when you ask about the lack of decent ventilation is just pure nonsense. I am all for environmentally friendly solutions, but to use them solely to cut costs and put customers at jeopardy is irresponsible. Again, if there had been a Scandic policy against the use of air-condition, why is A/C specifically high-lighted as an amenity on the hotel's own web-site? Shame on Scandic Berlin!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank xp01321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback at Tripadvisor.
As an environment conscious hotel we have a climate control with long-distance cooling instead of an air condition. With this, the room temperature can be adjusted only 7°C lower than the outside temperature. We are working on a good solution so that the room temperature is convenient even on very warm days.
We have also changed this content on our website into climate control.
However, we do hope you have enjoyed our service in the hotel and hope to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
355 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked Scandic for a girly break. The rooms were compact (big enough for a city break but certainly not spacious) and lacked a little in the way of storage. That said, they were clean, the beds were really comfy, it was quiet and the shower was great (I hate rubbish showers in hotels)
I do have issues with places that claim to be 'eco' but then change your towels anyway, which they did (but somehow managed to bring more and jumble them up with the dirty ones so we ended up with enough for a month!)
It was 37 degrees when we were there and I'm not sure if the aircon worked or was not that effective but the room was a bit too warm. But we had a big window which opened which was great for getting a breeze.
The location couldn't be better, right next to the U-Bahn and a few minutes from Potsdamer Platz and the Sony Centre. It also had free wifi in the rooms.
Breakfast was 20eur, we didn't try it but there was a great buffet in Alex in the Sony Centre (cereals, breads, cheeses, meats, salads, fruits and hot cooked) for 7eur so I'd recommend that.
It cost 190eur for 2 people, 4 nights it was a bargain. We were offered an upgrade 20eur per night per room which included the contents of the mini bar (re stocked each day) and a better view.
The hotel was quirky and the staff were lovely, highly recommended. .
I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Berlin.
Let us mention the two issues which you have written about. An environmental and ecologic atmosphere is very important to us. That is why we would like to apologize for the inconvenience with our towel. This is definitely not a standard in out hotel and we already talked to Housekeeping department.
We don’t have air-conditioning; instead there is a climate control. The temperature can’t be adjusted 7°C lower than the outside temperature. We are working on a good solution on that.
We are happy to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Västerås
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I love the quirky design, the rooms make me smile. Great location, quite good price - the only thing (my pet peeve) is that the breakfast is a bit boring compared to some of the other Berlin hotels within the same range.

The AC sucks, though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sivskatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked this hotel for a weekend with the girls. Hotel is right by the U-Bahn stop so easy to get to. Potsdamer Platz about 3 minutes away. We all loved the birdsong in the lift and the elks on the wall outside - it gave the place a quirky feel. Staff were friendly and efficient and the idea of having an empty fridge in your room to fill up with your own drinks is a great one. Comfy beds and unusual decor in the rooms.

The only small cons - 20 euros for breakfast. Don't bother. Go to Alex's in the Sony Centre and get a decent breakfast buffet for less than 7 euros. And, although they claim to be an 'eco friendly' hotel our towels kept getting changed even though we had hung then up. But these are very, very small things. All in all a great hotel and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Scandinavian cool atmosphere can be very relaxing, but sometimes (like in this hotel) it just feels sterile and impersonal. Numerous "fun" elk details and birch tree decorations does not help. Having to start the telly to adjust the room temperature is just stupid (and it didn't work very well either - the room was still too warm). The (very expensive) breakfast was of poor quality and the notice level and rather aggressive behaviour from other guests didn't help. We also had a fast drink in the restaurant to check it out, but soon realised that the atmosphere was more or less the same as in the morning. Not recommended.
Staff is a mystery. The young person (from Sweden) who welcomed me at check-in was personal, friendly and helpful. Another young person who checked me out was bored and un-inspired to a degree I felt she was rude to me. Seems some value based training is needed.
I have stayed at Scandic before, so I wasn't too shocked by the squeeze bottles for soda and the total lack of any extras (like a mini bar with something in it). But I miss it.
Apart from these negative things, the hotel is ok. Basic quality furniture, quiet room, good location close to the subway and (behold) free and well working WiFi.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for breakfast. If you want to buy something for your empty fridge, there is a fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, which is helpful in any way to improve our service. We offer over 100 items on our breakfast buffet including lactose and gluten free as well as organic products. As an environment conscious hotel we have a climate control with long distance cooling instead of an air condition. With this the room temperature can be adjusted only 7°C lower than the outside temperature. We are working on a good solution so that the room temperature is convenient even on very warm days. We hope to welcoming you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beder
Level Contributor
452 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and were positively suprised. The new Scandic Hotels have got much higher quality than the old ones and Scandic Potzdammer Platz were in all recpects nice.
We paid 20 EUR for an upgrade with nice view, coffee machine and free minibar and would consider doing this again. The area is nice and quiet and the main attractions within walking distance plus there are 2 U-Bahn stations 5 min away. The breakfast was good without being top-top quality, but the coffee was excellent and we had freshly made fried eggs in the morning (nicely presented ).
The only minus was the shoe polishing machine at the 6th floor was not able to dispense polish and aparantly the staff was not able to fix it.
Going back to Berlin for another holiday, Scandic will probably be my first choice.

Room Tip: Spend 20 EUR for an upgrade of your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikMollerMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review.
We are happy you had a pleasant stay with us and would like to choose our hotel once more.
We would like to mention the issue you have written about.
First of all, we would like to apologize for the broken shoe polishing machine. As you know, this is not our standard. We already spoke to the responsible department.
Thank you for staying with us. We’re looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#30 of 634 in Berlin
2,027 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
2,000 reviews
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Fjord Hotel Berlin
Fjord Hotel Berlin
#70 of 634 in Berlin
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Property: Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Address: Gabriele-Tergit-Promenade 19, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Family Hotel in Berlin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#40 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back in 1993, Scandic started developing what has become the industry's leading sustainability program. Inteligent services and barrier free hotels are focus of Scandic as well as healthy food and fitness in an inspirational surrounding. Up from 2009 strong relationship to Jamie Oliver.Short Facts - 561 rooms, 1 ball room (up to 500 people) and 17 function rooms, restaurant, bar, lobby bar, kids corner, gym and Holmes Place Life Fitness.7 Event locations for up to 1500 delegates are within walking distance.Connection to ICC congress center and Olympic stadium via underground close by the hotel. Most of Berlin's sights are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing