We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Nearby Hotels
$206
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
$115
$103
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$60
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$113
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$160
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$468
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$136
$132
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,473)
Filter reviews
3,473 results
Traveler rating
1,844
1,239
270
74
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,844
1,239
270
74
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspotsdamer platzmendelssohn bartholdy parkscandinavian stylegreat hotelsuperior roomsony centrebrandenburg gatefree mini barsliding doormodern hotelu bahn stationwalking distanceholocaust memorialcomfortable bedsthird floornice barbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,341 - 1,346 of 3,473 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This Hotel has a great Location, it is a business hotel, so many Business people in suits at check-in and check-out, but if you use the express check-out option then no issues there. The room was fine, a standard Scandic room. The only issue we had was the AC did not work when we arrived, we reported it the next morning, but after a hot day out sight seeing it was still not fixed. After call to reception again, they sent a technician, who tried to set something, which made it slightly better but not much. If you manage to get a special room rate via some promotion etc, then this is a great value for money hotel. the Parking in the street behind the hotel is Free, in the street, so an option if you dont mind that. There is also a nice mall at the Potsdamer Platz with a wide selection of restuarants and take aways. and that is also close to the Tube station. Only down side is there is no coffee making facilaties in the room, so that was disapointing as we enjoy our early morning coffee in bed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for spending time to reviewing Scandic Berlin. It’s nice to hear you have enjoyed your stay.
For an extra charge of 20 Euro, we offer coffee and tea making facilities as well as a filled minibar which is included in the rate. We hope to welcome you again soon.
As an environment conscious hotel we have a climate control with long distance cooling instead of an air condition. With this the room temperature can be adjusted only 7°C lower than the outside temperature. We are working on a good solution so that the room temperature is convenient even on very warm days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I spent two nights at this modern and new hotel in early July. First impression when you arrive is that you are somewhere else than in Germany. Modern office buildings around and trendy cafeterias on a nearby Potsdamer Platz. But the hotel location is actually very convenient for an active leisure traveller. Tiergarten, Zoo and Ku'damm are at a walking distance (less than an hour) After that trip to the west you can have a break and head next to the east by foot. Central Berlin is smaller than I thougt.

Rooms aren't very large but not the French standard either. Beds are very good, overall design nice, no dark brothel style furniture.

I used the the hotel parking, it's good and a bit expensive (22€) but the street parking is an option only if you arrive late and leave early. Parking attendants monitor the street frequently until 10pm. However, if you arrive with a car, arrive early because the garage has perhaps only 15 places.

Scandic is one of the biggest chains in Sweden and Finland, I think this hotel is a four star property, in Scandinavia Scandic hotels are mostly three star standard. I think I'll return to the Scandic Potzdamer Plaza next time as well to see the museums I missed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichmondRedDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Director of Sales at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor and your thoughts you have given.
The Scandic brand has about 160 hotels in different countries, mostly in the Nordic region of Europe. Our Berlin property will turn 3 years in October and is a very modern Scandinavian design.
Our hotel offers 60 parking spaces in total, divided into East and West parking. This is due to the underground leading through the hotel from the basement up to the 2nd floor. Additional 1.500 spaces are in the parking garage of “Parkhaus am Gleisdreieck” which is only 2 minutes walking distance away.
We would very much like to welcoming you again here in Berlin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Why do some hotels go to great lengths to make us feel like we are somewhere we are not? In most instances, of course, we’re already not at home, because we’re at a hotel. But some feel compelled to add another layer, with how things are conceived, designed, named. Why would a hotel in eastern Germany load itself with Nordic signifiers? Is this supposed to make the guest feel less disoriented somehow? Why would a hotel invest good money in creating synthetic experiences? At what point does the visitor experience move from the realm of clever into the realm of Disneyworld?

The Scandic Hotel Berlin is a nice comfortable place to ponder all of these questions. A large banner next to reception touts the hotel’s green credentials: how many gazillion trees they have saved by putting all the guest information on your TV monitor instead of a printed book, how much wasted plastic they avoid by having a mounted soap dispenser in the shower rather than those little collectable bottles rattling around in the bottom of my gym bag. Jostling for attention with this “eco-friendly” identity is a “Scandinavian” one: conference rooms on one floor are called "Stockholm," "Copenhagen," etc; on another floor they are named after forest animals: “Bear,” “Elk,” “Red Fox.” The forest-like “elevator experience,” with a photo of a leafy canopy overhead and recorded loop of bird calls, had more than one of my colleagues warily searching the corners for real birds.

This is not the only “Scandinavian” hotel I have stayed in recently (see also my review of the UNA Hotel Scandinavia in Milano). And the Moevenpick Hotel not far from this one in Berlin offers guests a “Swiss” experience. Presumably, we travelers appreciate things that signify organization, and consensus, and high taxes. One doesn’t encounter many “Nicaraguan”-themed hotels.

But let’s not get too cynical about all this. This is a comfortable, reliable hotel in a great neighborhood in Berlin. The bed was extraordinarily nice. Food was well above average for a hotel of this size. The staff was friendly and unobtrusive. And it’s walking distance from Potzdamer Platz, with much to offer tourists and business travelers alike. Some of the conveniences of larger and presumably less eco-friendly chains were missed (e.g., no complimentary shaving cream for people like me who forgot to pack theirs), and the gym on the 8th floor was a little sparse and awkwardly laid-out (I didn’t shell out the 15EUR for a day pass to the probably-much-nicer Holmes Place down on the 1st floor). But on the whole I wouldn’t hesitate at allto recommend this hotel for business and/or pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the big Pfizer office building across the square aren't the best for privacy, so maybe request one facing the other way,
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Director of Sales at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor and your thoughts about our hotel.
It is very nice to hear that you recommend our hotel for both business and leisure guests. Scandic is a Scandinavian hotel chain. Therefore our design and atmosphere is very Scandinavian as well as our sustainable philosophy.
We hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is located in the central area of Berlin (Mitte) right next to a metro station and a short walk from Potsdamer Platz. It seems to be in a newly developed area, and the street outside was very quiet.

The room I recieved was large with two twin beds, lots of floor space and a large bathroom. There is a minibar in the room, but without any contents. You have to purchase that yourself at the lobby kiosk or from an outside store. Convenient if you are on a budget, but a bit annoying when you have to leave your room and go back to the lobby to purchase a mineral water or chocolate.

The hotel has a fitness room, but I did not have the chance to use it. They also promoted access to the Spa next door at a discounted rate.

Breakfast was good, typical scandinavian with a large buffet with lots of different selections.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tursjefen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Director of Sales at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.
In our Standard category the minibar is empty. However, we do provide a bottle of water on the arrival day. From our Superior category on the minibar is filled and included in the rate. It gets filled every day as well.
We would very much welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked this Hotel for a business meeting and overall everything was very good. A fresh Hotel with nice interior and also our meeting room had a terrace outside which is superb when you have short brake. The location is not very close to all famous sightseeing objects but communication is good and taxis not extremely expensive. Last but not least the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank URBST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Director of Sales at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and your positive thoughts about our hotel.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews