We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #43 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited the Scandic hotel last May, and I enjoyed it. It has great location, right on Potsdam Platz, and close to tram and train. In addition, free bicycle are available, and I used it to sight-seeing of Berlin, Free Wi-Fi worked in the room perfectly, and the room was large and clean.
I will surely visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eitanrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,362 - 1,368 of 3,405 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently placed right next to an underground station and a short walk from Potsdamerplatz. It's a 5 minute walk to the Panoramapunkt with its fabulous 360 view of the city on a clear day - the best 5 euros you will spend.

The room was very comfortable with excellent lighting, great TV and modern bathroom. Both were spotlessly clean. Even on the 7th floor we could hear the traffic with the window open, but that's only to be expected in the centre of a capital city. Once we closed the window we didn't hear a thing.

The only small negative as far as we were concerned was there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room so if you can't live without your early morning cup of tea, bring a travel kettle. There's a Lidl shop just round the corner where you can buy supplies, and there is a fridge in the room so you can put your milk in there.

I would definitely stay here again when in Berlin.

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noise as much as possible ask for one on one of the higher floors, but make sure it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islander73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very nice hotel! Beautifully and very conveniently situated in the center of Berlin. Hotel interior is modern, with clean and really nice rooms. Bathrooms were nice (with showers not bathtubs which is great for me, I hate hotel bathrooms with bathtubs). Breakfast was delicious with great range of food. I can recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zofia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The staff in this hotel is very nice. We felt extra welcome and well taken care of by Vincenzo. He was very friendly. We also liked Christian in the restaurant who did the best he could with the horrible food he unfortunetaly had to serve.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per-Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Scandic is a rather new and stylish property near Potsdamer Platz, therefore: all public transport options close at hand.

My junior suite was pleasant enough, bright & roomy with a very nice bathroom as well. However: housekeeping could not get around to have it cleaned even by 2pm.

Also: stressed and hectic waiters as well during breakfast, served in a windowless (!) room decorated in some crude (plastic) "nature" themes. Buying a simple ice-cream at their little shop near reception takes about 10 minutes, while the staff tries to figure out how the computer works. Same at the bar: you wait for your (heavily overpriced) beer for about half an hour.

In short: "style" only is not enough. Neither are students replacing experienced staff members...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We got a good deal on this hotel, stayed for six days and loved it. Design of the hotel and the rooms is great - we loved the little touches like bird-chirping sounds, artificial mooseheads, giant black plastic throne-like armchairs etc. The kids play area is small but well appointed. Breakfast is quite pricey, but tastes great and offers a spectacularly wide selection. The hotel is located a short walk from Potsdamerplatz and the Mendelssohn-Bartholdy-Park U-bahn station is right next door.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in many scandics in sweden and found them quite ok for the price. But entering the scandic berlin it blew of my socks. Smooth checkin, baby bed delivered to the room direct, beds and duvets were like sleeping on clouds. Grand spacious room and very lux bathroom. Breakfast was a real treat even by german standards and checkout was so fast i felt like checking in again. If you book anywhere in berlin stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#33 of 635 in Berlin
2,426 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 635 in Berlin
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,495 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,973 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 635 in Berlin
3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Address: Gabriele-Tergit-Promenade 19, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#40 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $96 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back in 1993, Scandic started developing what has become the industry's leading sustainability program. Inteligent services and barrier free hotels are focus of Scandic as well as healthy food and fitness in an inspirational surrounding. Up from 2009 strong relationship to Jamie Oliver.Short Facts - 561 rooms, 1 ball room (up to 500 people) and 17 function rooms, restaurant, bar, lobby bar, kids corner, gym and Holmes Place Life Fitness.7 Event locations for up to 1500 delegates are within walking distance.Connection to ICC congress center and Olympic stadium via underground close by the hotel. Most of Berlin's sights are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing