We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superb hotel- highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Ranked #47 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb hotel- highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This was out first visit to Berlin and we chose the Cosmo as it is part of the Design Hotels group. It exceeded expectation. We had a junior suite which was excellent and also very reasonably priced. The service was friendly and the breakfast outstanding. We would have no hesitation in recommending it and would return there again in future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    328
    66
    12
    6
See reviews for
70
407
48
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel is in the middle of the city, but in a quiet neighborhood. A subway stop is across the street. Our room was large with lots of light and a beautiful bathroom. Staff friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was fantastic. A very good, gourmet restaurant is a block away, The Rotisserie Weingrun. Also, several good restaurants one U Bahn stop away in Gemende Markt. Hotel charges for WIFI but it is very fast. Parking was 17.50 eu per day. Be aware, the hotel is built over a subway station. If your room is on a lower floor (ours was on the third floor) you can here the low rumble of the trains. For us it was not objectionable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

As far as the hotel itself goes, top marks. Friendly staff, good amenities, spacious rooms. Maid service was a little confusing in that they didn't take a bag full of rubbish like empty water bottles (I guess because they thought it was something we wanted to keep).

Don't bother with the €18 per person breakfast. Grab a bike for the day and get recommendations from the front desk on breakfast spots and make that your first stop. I think it is generally a crime to eat at a hotel everyday for breakfast when there are some many good cares around.

While it is definitely not in the middle of everything like the shops or restaurants it is only a short bike ride away and cabs are relatively inexpensive here.

I would probably stay somewhere closer to the action like Casa Camper when I go back but this is definitely a nice hotel nonetheless.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

As a budget design hotel in a convenient location with competent and friendly staff, this gets top marks. The Cosmo had bicycles for rent that were in very good condition and their breakfast buffet was lovely and reasonably priced. The front desk made fantastic suggestions (and reservations) for restaurants. We had no problems with anything in our room (beds were comfy and all the plumbing worked just fine). We'll definitely stay here on our next trip to Berlin.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 4th floor facing Spittlemarkt (busy street) and did not notice any stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momo53_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This Hotel was nearly worth 5 points.

The reasons why I don't give a 5 star rating are:
- The service was friendly, nice and competent, however it was not a 5* luxury service meaning it does not receive 5 stars from me.
- The shower, while the Bathroom was large enough and impeccably clean the shower was...the water temperature kept changing (room 801) from boiling hot to nicely warm and back to boiling. Sadly I had no time to tell management that the shower was behaving in such a way.

Otherwise the Hotel is really nicely furnished and has a Metro Station just in front (line U2). The View from the top floors is spectactular!!!

Having stayed at some Hotels in Berlin (as the Holiday Inn or the Palace Hotel), I have to say that this one is the first one to have a great price performance ratio!!! I'll come back and will hope to get a room with a functionning shower...

Room Tip: Room 801 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COSMO_Hotel_Berlin, Junior Manager Convention Sales at COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Jules_wanderlust,

thank you for a great review including pictures and for your honest feedback!

Thank you for informing us about the shower - which was immediately checked by our technician -

We hope to welcome you again - this time with a functioning shower ;-)

Kind regards,

The COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Cosmo Hotel. The room I had was very small, but modern and very nicely appointed. The rates are very reasonable for what you get, which is a comfortable spot in what I would say is a nice budget design hotel in the heart of the city. Beds were lovely and very comfortable (I kept sleeping in!).

The location in Mitte is excellent and was a perfect base for exploring the city for the my first visit to Berlin. I rented a bike from the hotel on two of the days there and it was so convenient for seeing all of the places I wanted to go. Above all, it was the service and helpfulness of the staff that really made my visit extremely wonderful. Everyone was very accomodating and happy to help with any questions that I had.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COSMO_Hotel_Berlin, Junior Manager Convention Sales at COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear LCY,

Thank you for your review and your positive feedback!

We hope to welcome you again soon for your next visit in Berlin!

The COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
413 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I really loved the Cosmo hotel. It is very modern, rooms are comfortable and the location is great - within walking distance to most Berlin attractions and across the street from a U-Bahn station should you need to travel farther. Also the staff is great - very welcoming, helpful and nice.
We did have a couple of maintenance issues (dysfunctional air condition in one room, bad shower head in another) which took longer than expected to fix (and required multiple notifications), but overall t was a great stay an given their reasonable pricing - I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ogol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#6 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#64 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#17 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte

Property: COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Address: Spittelmarkt 13, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmo Hotel Berlin Mitte is a newly opened member of Design Hotels TM. It is the perfect urban retreat for travelers who appreciate individualized style, design and hospitality. It caters for business and leisure travelers alike.Located between Alexander Platz and Potsdamer Platz and Friedrichstrasse. The underground station U2 Spittelmarkt is in front of the hotel.At the Cosmo, the guest experience is all about comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing