We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and Practical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten
Ranked #120 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
maryville, tn
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hip and Practical”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Clean, hip, small and practical rooms. Breakfast was good and location was great. An ideal place to stay in Berlin if you are not planning on sitting in your room all day. Front desk help spoke enough English to accommodate travel needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doobie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    266
    57
    14
    9
See reviews for
32
114
96
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

very clean hotel, room on the 9th floor had a nice view of the city. But two small for 2 people. Could not move around without bumping each other. No telephone in the room. So, when you need to ask or request something from the reception you have to go all the way down to the lobby. The internet connection didn't work and they were not able to fix it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank academicexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
592 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

With its funky looks and very well thought out design this hotel is a great place to stay, not least for travellers on a budget. For a much lower budget than elsewhere, you get a spotless room, breakfast and internet. Our room was quiet. While the rooms are small, they are fine, especially for short stays. Metro lines are only a few minutes away. There are nice affordable restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome,
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is in a good location. Close to ubahn station and also close to Berlin city center. If you like walking it is approximately a 30 minutes walk to Brandeburgh square.

The hotel is clean, breakfast is good and quite abundant. Rooms are among the most essential and frugal I have ever seen. One bed, a chair, a small table. That's all.
The shower was quite big though!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuliani_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you are traveling to Berlin for the first time with a few days to enjoy the different attractions, this hotel is a great option. Room is clean, the front desk people are very kind, and the location is so convenient!. After a 5 minute walk you are in KaDeWe, and outside you take tours to the main attractions of the city, and most importantly, and you have also plenty of stores and restaurants to chose from. Is a safe neighborhood, one block away you have Kaiser's , a small supermarket that opens until midnight. You also have 2 train stations pretty near one to another, and you can take the train from the Berlin Zoologischer Garten station (is like a 15 minute walk) to go to Postdam. You can come and go in one afternoon. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was in transit between two flights..I choose this hotel and i was surprised for this good price...a room enough big for few nights...very clean and contemporary design. Comfort bed and large bathroom for this very small price. Impossible to find this quality for this value in a big cities like Paris where i live. It's not for lovers but for travel business and short week-end to visit this interesting city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibajas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was my third stay at this Motel One and although it is a great value, I wasn't impressed as I was on previous stays.

The Good:
Location! Very convenient location for walking to the nightlife of Schonberg, catching the train, or nearby shopping.
Price! You can't beat the price of this hotel especially considering it's pretty much brand new.
Clean! The hotel is of course new and the rooms were very clean.

The Bad:
Wi-Fi! Horrible Wi-Fi that was very slow and required multiple log ins daily. When I asked the staff about the issue, I was told that the hotel was sold out and there was too many people accessing the Wi-Fi. So basically the hotel’s Wi-Fi cannot support the hotel at full capacity and this is a huge issue for me being an international traveler that needs the internet for work purposes.
Comforter! I was really annoyed by the twin size comforter on the full size bed; apparently all the rooms are like this. The comforters really should be upgraded to accommodate the bed size.
Bed! The bed was a bit too firm and did not provide for a comfortable night sleep.
Room key issue! Due to the time change the system used for entering rooms was not working properly so there was a long line on the last night of our stay because guest could not enter their rooms.

I recommend this hotel to other travelers who do not require fast working Wi-Fi. I think the hotel is a great value but I really want them to upgrade the Wi-Fi system to something sufficient for their guest. I am not sure if I will stay here on my next visit simply because of the service issues I experienced with the Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLtoEUR767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Schoneberg
Hotel Sylter Hof
Hotel Sylter Hof
#116 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Motel One Berlin-Ku'damm
Motel One Berlin-Ku'damm
#157 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
#87 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Mitte
Motel One Berlin Spittelmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten

Property: Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten
Address: An der Urania 12/14, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Motel One Berlin-Urania)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 409
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, HRS, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing