We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hostel I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hostel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hostel Berlin
Ranked #6 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best hostel I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

At 42, I'd pretty much decided not to do the hostel thing again, but thanks to being disorganised, plus it being the Berlin Film Festival and Valentine's Day, the other options we tried were booked so we ended up here. But it all worked out beautifully, because the Grand Hostel is a treasure. Clean, inexpensive, spacious and comfy rooms in a beautiful old building (formerly a Bishop's house). The breakfasts were so cheap and tasty we had them every day. And the staff were charming and never less than helpful (book us on a tour to Tempelhof Airport) when my schoolboy German failed). If you're a party animal you're probably better going elsewhere for your kicks, but for anyone looking for something calm, sweet and great value, I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tagois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    214
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
50
136
242
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

I'd really highly recommend visiting the Grand Hostel. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel is new so it's clean, modern and feels very safe. It's one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NES79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

This Hostel is amazing! It s even better than any hotels i have been. They welcome you with a hot drink in winter.You enter this historical building and they let you feel like comming home. The staff is so helpfull, the rooms are clean and the common romms are very cozy. Free Internet-Access and a great breakfast (€ 5.50). They made us a perfect time in Berlin. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erny1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

The three of us just loved this hostel! We stayed in a private double room & a private single room (both with shared toilet/bathroom); but they have dorms as well. The price is very reasonable, I would say cheap, considering what`s on offer. The hostel is right in the heart of Berlin, clean (it`s spotless!), housed in an old refurbished building with loads of character & very modern (no keys for the doors, just a code that you input on a number panel). The rooms are really spacious, with high ceilings, extremely comfortable beds, wardrobe, table & chair. Nice & warm over the winter, & you can control the heat in your room. The Hostel has really cosy common rooms to chill out: smoking room, computer room, bar...& they serve lovely, very reasonable priced breakfast from €2, & all sorts of hot/cold drinks. It just feels like you`re sharing a big house with a bunch of friends; as you arrive, they welcome you with a cup of hot chocolate, & offer you a free Berlin map.
For me, one of the best things was the staff. So friendly & helpful, every single one of them; they`re there to advice you on anything from where to go out for a drink, what bus tours are available...anything & everything, & everyone speaks perfect english, as well as several other languages, as members of staff are from a variety of countries.
You have as well the rare choice of a late check out time, which can be arranged depending on availability, but if you`re travelling back home later in the day, like us, you can always leave your luggage safely on their "Luggage room" & collect it when you`re ready to go, as well as being welcome to hang around the hostel & use their facilities, on the day you check out. This is so useful: we got a whole extra day in Berlin after checking out, without having to worry about our luggage, etc...& even had a little rest & a coffee in one of the common rooms just before leaving to catch our plane. I will definitely be staying in this hostel next time I`m in Berlin. I mean, there`s nowhere else I`d rather be. Perfect!

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cosmicpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

In a beautifully renovated building this clean and tidy hostel feels more like a hotel. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable plus not a bunk in sight. Free (fast) internet, a 24hr bar and great staff make this place is a winner. Located on two metro lines its in an easy location to get anywhere and walking distance to some great restaurants. Yes the showers do have glass doors but they are frosted so unless you're leaning against them there should be no problem. I've stayed in many hostels and this has to be one of the best.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lambaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

The Grand Hostel Berlin, recently re opened to tourists and backpackers in August 09, and this refurbishment really speaks for itself. The impression you get from the exterior of the Hostel, is that of a unique, original building in Berlin. It's superbly re fitted.
The staff are extremely helpful, and will help you with any enquiries you have. The offer advice about the city and are very friendly and approachable.
The room was a large, 3 bedroom dorm. A friend and myself and another person were in this large room, with large french open windows, and tall wardropes. The bed was really comfortable.
The utilities were clean too, but the showers were (co-ed) In other words, 3 separate shower cubicles, side by side, but the glass doors were "see through"! So i tried to avoid a shower the odd day!
The food was good, and the bar was opened till the early hours! (all night). Car parking is limited, but we found a space behind the hostel. Internet is available and is free and there is a smoking room and comfortable couches to rest your feet, after wandering around Berlin for the day.
Overall, the grand Hostel Berlin, is a great place to stay, centrally located too, it beats any hotel for me!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeanderingMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#11 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#3 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#21 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#5 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Property: Grand Hostel Berlin
Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and Welcome to the "best Hostel in Germany" 2013 and the winner Hotel of the German VOX TV show "my divine Hotel" 2014. We are located very centrally in the heart of Berlin's Mitte Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. We offer as well private rooms or luxurious dorm beds - just as your travel budget allows. Everyone is welcome at the Grand Hostel and we're looking forward to welcoming YOU soon! We grant the best prices always on our own webpage (Best Price Guarantee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing