We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hostel Berlin
Ranked #5 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Clean! Great location! Between 2 train stations. Electric locks with pin! Near a lot of eating places! Bike rental. Wi fi could be a bit faster. Bike rental 10 euros a day/bike

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Apostolis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hey there, thanks for your great comment on us. We are really greatful if our guest appreciate our enthusiasm on them. So are we about your great review.
HOpe you have safe travels and will return when you come back to Berlin.

Take care - Daniel - guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    218
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
53
138
250
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my 5, extended to 6, days at the Grand Hostel. Good relaxed common area great for socialising and great attentive staff happy to help direct to where to go and what to do around Berlin. No complaints from me and was happy to not have a "party" atmosphere besides casual beers, and the optional pub crawl away from the hostel when people feel like getting rowdy. You can see why this hostel is so successful. Thanks to all staff there for helping Berlin leave a great impression.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Elaine. Thank you so much for the nice words. I/we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You have been a wonderful guest. If we were able to write a review about you, it would be for sure all five stars ;) Hope to see you soon again. Daniel - Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Staff was very helpful and they speak so many languages! English, German, French, Spanish! They've sat down with us and helped us to plan our sightseeing around Berlin over a cup of coffee. We stayed in a double room with its own bathroom. Room and bathroom were VERY clean and functional (sometimes a bit noisy from the corridor and wifi was sometimes slow or disconnecting for a couple of seconds in the room) , they were equipped with towels, shower gel, cotton pads, hair dryer and bottle of water. Bed was very comfortable! Location of the hostel is very good, it was very easy to get there from ZOB and it's situated between 2 underground stations and walking distance to many main touristic attractions. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnycik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Great comment. Thank you very much for that. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again whenever you return to Berlin.

Lots of greetings to Poland ;) - Daniel - Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We first stayed in this hostel in the first few weeks it opened a few years ago. We remembered the super soft duvet and pillows! We stayed in a room with 2 beds and a private bathroom. The bathroom was cleaned daily. The rooms are very ornate with high ceilings and original features. Our room was right next to the public showers which wasn’t really a problem apart from people talking loudly across the shower cubicles late at night.

There is a hairdryer in the bathroom and one small mirror above the sink. A full length mirror would be a help in the room or even in the corridor. The bar area was cosy, with free wi-fi. The wi-fi was a little patchy on the 3rd floor.

Overall we are glad we stayed here again and next time we are in Berlin we will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hey there, good to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with. Thanks for the information with the wifi. Some Pc´s or Phones have problems up there, but normaly it works fine. We will check on that. Hope to see you again. Berlin is missing you ;) Take care and see you soon - Daniel - Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Thank you to a most kind staff that truly loves hospitality and shows what being a great host is all about! Hostel itself is convenientely located and close to U-Bahn stations. Rooms are spacious and immaculate. Bathrooms extremely well maintained and always clean.
One suggestion would be refilling the soap dispenser in the WC but that is all.
Keep up the good work! I'm sure to stay here again when in Berlin.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZlataVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi there, thank you so much for your great comment on us. It is very important to us to try everything to make the guest feel comfortable. And next time you will be here you will see a developement with the soap. ;-)

Take care so far and see you soon!

Daniel - guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hostel during my trip to Berlin. I have stayed in a number of hostels around Europe and the US, and it is one of my favorites. It is VERY clean and VERY quiet at night. I slept with no problem. It's a great location in proximity to several U-bahn stations and I always felt 100% safe walking alone in the neighborhood (even late at night). You can even walk to attractions in Mitte like Checkpoint Charlie and the Brandenburg Gate. The staff is very friendly and helpful as well. I took advantage of the transportation pass several times and I recommend it to anyone staying there. It's the best deal you can get on transportation. One last thing, the hostel itself is very secure! You must enter your code at the front door, the hallway door, and your room door. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat_odea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi, thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much. We would love to welcome you back again soon!
Good times. Daniel - guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Booking this hostel was one of best decisions,seriously. Location near U-bahn station and Neukölln, a district you just have to explore. The building is beautiful and it has that cozy, friendly feel. Staff was soo helpful, you can ask them anything. This young man from a bar recommended us cool places to go in the evening & at night. And there's always something going on downstairs, whether it's a pizza night or chilling with drinks and good music. We had a private room with private bathrooom and it was very clean and warm. It's a good place if you want a peaceful sleep after a long night. I highly recommend!:)

Helpful?
Thank vaaal8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hey there, we really appreciate your great comment on us. We try to make your stay here as comfortable as possible. We might see you soon again. Have safe travels! Daniel - Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#2 of 349 in Berlin
1,227 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#9 of 349 in Berlin
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#3 of 349 in Berlin
705 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#21 of 349 in Berlin
1,371 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Property: Grand Hostel Berlin
Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and Welcome to the "best Hostel in Germany" 2013 and the winner Hotel of the German VOX TV show "my divine Hotel" 2014. We are located very centrally in the heart of Berlin's Mitte Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. We offer as well private rooms or luxurious dorm beds - just as your travel budget allows. Everyone is welcome at the Grand Hostel and we're looking forward to welcoming YOU soon! We grant the best prices always on our own webpage (Best Price Guarantee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing