We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hostel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hostel Berlin
Ranked #6 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is one of the best hostels where I ever been. The service was really kind, the room and the facilities were clean. It would be better if there were more furnitures in the showers to put our stuff on or maybe a box where we can put our clothes on.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank as0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Grrrreat!
Thank you for the hint about the showers :) We will see what we can do about this - to make your next stay even more confortable.
Best regards from your Grand Hostel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    214
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
50
136
242
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Grand hostel berlin provides high ceilings and expansive rooms. The staff here will print out step by step instructions on how to make the most of your time in Berlin. Sightseeing in this city will leave you with a greater appreciation of the human condition and the destruction we are all capable of causing. Berlin is a city built for 12 million inhabitants but houses a mere 4 million at present. The bartender here will concoct a drink to satisfy every palate. Beer in germany is cheaper than water so using a pint
of beer as a receptacle for two shots of whisky is a more economical method of mixing drinks than using water. The whisky sour at the grand hostel bar is highly recommended. Places to eat within 10 minutes amblIng distance is mustafas (rated best kepabs in berlin - the incredibly long line is quite telling of this fact), curry wurst and other eateries. The friendly staff at the grand hostel will give you more information about newly unified berlin and its constantly evolving cultural landscape. I have no doubt you will enjoy your stay at
the grand hostel despite however long you decide to stay just make sure you ask for Christian.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Thomas,
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Hostel Berlin.
And thank you so much for all the usefull recommendations for other travelers.
We will give Christian a big prais.
Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

All have been said in the previous comments. Kind service, beautiful and confortable rooms and beds, great clean facilities, relaxed and friendly atmosphere... It is also well located in Berlin. It's more like a real cosy hotel than a hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank X Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear NB,
Thank you so much for the recommendation. :)
Warm reards & Happy New Year to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

As hostels go - this is by far one of the best I've ever stated in. It may sound cliche but standards here are very very good.

The welcome we received was informative, helpful and friendly. We even got a cup of tea!

The double room we booked was spacious and spotless. This was the case in all of the shared bathrooms too.

The adjacent cafe/restaurant did a very good breakfast (€6.20 pp) and is to be recommended.

The Grand Hostel ultimately rests it's success in the quality of the staff who obviously work very hard to create such a great place to stay.

Even if you're not a 'hostel person' or haven't stayed in one before - this is an excellent value for money stay on the fringes of a vibrant and safe part of Berlin.

I'd recommend it to anybody looking for an affordable trip to Berlin. I hope to stay there again soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mattbowling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hey Matt, thanks very much for your nice review. We are happy that you ve enjoyed your stay with us.. Would love to welcome you soon again. All the best for your future travels

Daniel - Guest realation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I am really glad of chosing the Grand Hostel. Its a perfect place to explore Berlin – typical, friendly and the the rooms and the ambient are very nice and the breakfast is very good. The Hostel is not only for young people a good option. Try it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dshini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay that much and will keep a positiv memory of us. Hope to see you soon again.

Daniel - Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a great hostel in Kreutzberg. The rooms are clean, as well as bathrooms. The staff is nice. The explain you some basics about Berlin. As you check-in they offer you a welcome drink (tea, coffee). It is near the metro station, and the bus M41 has a route near-by that takes you to Potsdamer Platz. They have a wi-fi that is good all over the hostel. The downside is the fact that they do not have a kitchen where one could prepare a breakfast or lunch, etc. This is the first hostel I've been at, that does not have a kitchen. They do offer an all-you-can-eat breakfast for 6.20 €. They charge the use of the computer (1.5€/2hrs). It is a great hostel with a nice staff! The only part missing is the kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GRO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi there,

sorry to hear that. We´d love to have a kitchen for guests, but that aint to easy in our old building. Thanks for sharing your thougts anyway. Hope to see you again :-)

Daniel - guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

such a wonderful stay, very friendly service. Very beautiful place to stay. HIGHLY recommended! I stayed for two days, and managed to get the main things I wanted to do with the help of staff. It is literally a minute away from the transport station, so travelling was super easy. Breakfast buffet was super tasty, it had such a good variety.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b00ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Awesome! Thank you for those nice words. We ´d love to have you back soon!

Take care

Daniel - guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#11 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#3 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#21 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#5 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Property: Grand Hostel Berlin
Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and Welcome to the "best Hostel in Germany" 2013 and the winner Hotel of the German VOX TV show "my divine Hotel" 2014. We are located very centrally in the heart of Berlin's Mitte Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. We offer as well private rooms or luxurious dorm beds - just as your travel budget allows. Everyone is welcome at the Grand Hostel and we're looking forward to welcoming YOU soon! We grant the best prices always on our own webpage (Best Price Guarantee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing