We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel in the world?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hostel Berlin
Ranked #6 of 359 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

For the second time I had an amazing stay at Grand Hostel. I will simply put it into 5 short reasons why you should stay here

1. No bunks! - Only comfortable, large spacious rooms.
2. Incredible staff who are extremely knowledgeable about Berlin (Especially Jerome :P)
3. Always clean
4. Great looking bar and main reception area
5. Great hostel location

Will be coming back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelIngle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Michael! Best Hostel - Wow!
Thanks a lot for the compliment!
We are looking forward to seeing you again in good old Berlin. Best regards from all of us. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 947 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Without a doubt, the greatest hostel I have stayed in Europe.
Beds were soft and warm (No bunks!), rooms were spacious, and the common room was really nice to sit in and meet people.
Staff were incredibly friendly (Go Felix) and the restaurant next door, Grand Ma's, had incredible food (Especially the chips.)
Shower facilities were pretty sweet, though darker doors would help.
Relatively close to central Berlin.
BUY THE TRAVELCARDS. The train service here is very reliable.

Room Tip: The 4 berth rooms make it ideal to try and travel in a 4. These rooms are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you sooo much Adam :) & enjoy the summer time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Since I get to travel a lot for work, I am used to staying at Marriott, Hilton and Starwood properties. For this trip to Europe, my girlfriend convinced me to stay at the Grand Hostel Berlin for our three nights in Berlin. I hope she does not read this review, but boy she made a great call on this place.

The hotel is located on the Kreuzberg area just a short walk away from the Möckernbrücke U-Bahn. If riding the U-Bahn, take the exit where the flower shop is. Go up the stairs, turn right and the hostel will be a short walk away on your right. There isn't much right around the hotel area, but there are many places just a 10-minute walk away. The surroundings may seem dark, but both the hotel and the hotel area felt very safe.

We got a double room with private bathroom, which was located on the quiet section of the property. The rooms very spacious, and except for a TV, it had everything we needed. The bed was a tad uncomfortable as it was two twin beds put together but it wasn't a real issue. Our room was next to the community showers and bathrooms, but that did not bother us at all. We were not bothered by any of the other guests even though there was a large party staying at the hotel.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly, and they made a great impression the day of our arrival as the girl that checked us in sat down with us to go over some of Berlin's attractions and to answer any questions we had.

The hostel has a very decent WiFi throughout. It also has a good common area and bar, with a few beer specials. The hotel does not have a restaurant on-site, but they seem to be partnered with Grand Ma`s, which is a couple of doors down from the hostel. Grand Ma's has a decent breakfast buffet for €6, which I did not mind paying every day of my stay, and they seem to have events on a weekly basis.

Overall, I was very impressed with my stay at the Grand Hostel Berlin. If you plan on being out for most the day and all you need is a place to spend the night, then this is the place for you. In just a few words, clean and spacious rooms, friendly staff and all for a reasonable price. If I ever go back to Berlin, I will be booking this hostel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuanyDinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Junay - wow, your review sounds like it was writen by a press agency :)
Thank you so much for that great feedback!
We hope to welcome you & girlfriend here again and wish you all the best on your travels.
Your Grand Hostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good hostel to stay in, beds were super comfortable (not bunks) and the rooms HUGE - quite nice to be in a room that in another hostel would have snuggly fit 10 people and only have four! Staff were friendly and the bathrooms clean, however the showers aren't the most private with barely opaque doors and sensors to turn on, which mean that you can't stay in the shower and get changed... if you have a small towel beware. Never felt that busy even though I know they were full, which was both good and bad... for a solo traveller I don't think it was the best hostel as there weren't many opportunities to meet others, though sometimes the bar felt busy. However would head back there as for the price it was a great place and acces to the U-bahn station was super close.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TashHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Guten Morgen from Berlin.

Nice to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay here. We would be pleased to see you again.

Greetings
Grand Hostel Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Grand Hostel @ Berlin is a majestic place ....regal..elegant...spacious and huge bright rooms... a strikingly picturesque library and waiting area.

The hostel is a 15-20 minute bus ride from the Berlin HBF Train Station and then a ten minute easy walk.

I stayed at the Hostel for just one night but the stay was pleasant and very positive.

They have a cute little restaurant next door called 'Granma' or something like that ..its a lovely little european restaurant that serves lovely breakfast!

The staff at the Grand Hostel is very warm and helpful too.

All in all, an absolute recommendation for this Hostel for any young traveler!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrpanMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

A guten Morgen from Berlin.

Awesome that you enjoyed it here! We hope to see you again.

Greetings
Grand Hostel Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Overall this was a very good place to stay.

Downsides I can think of:
1. No kitchen facilities.
2. Occasionally the electronic door lock didn't work when entering the code, and it took a few minutes before the door would finally unlock. I'm sure I was entering the code correctly, and I heard that others had the same problem.
3. This didn't happen to me, but I saw it happen to two other people - the guy working at the bar didn't give them their change; he just assumed he could keep it as a tip. Pretty bad in my opinion.

But the positives outweighed the negatives and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller12814212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay all in all.
Thanks a lot for your hints about the door code and so on ..sorry for that.
We take this seriously and working on it.

Greetings from Berlin & Grand Hostel Berlin team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for five nights.  No bunk beds.  Decent breakfast buffet next door.  They have a cellar which they let me put my bike in at night - great for a touring cyclist.  They sit you down with some coffee or tea when you check in and go over the main sights of the city and ask you about your interests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeBike2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Sounds as if you have had a good time with us. :) Thanks a lot for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 359 in Berlin
1,286 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#8 of 359 in Berlin
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 359 in Berlin
734 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#4 of 359 in Berlin
409 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#11 of 359 in Berlin
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 359 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $24 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and Welcome to the "best Hostel in Germany" 2013 and the winner Hotel of the German VOX TV show "my divine Hotel" 2014. We are located very centrally in the heart of Berlin's Mitte Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. We offer as well private rooms or luxurious dorm beds - just as your travel budget allows. Everyone is welcome at the Grand Hostel and we're looking forward to welcoming YOU soon! We grant the best prices always on our own webpage (Best Price Guarantee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing