We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and safe.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hostel Berlin
Ranked #5 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly, clean and safe.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hostel for 2 days in December 2012 and was travelling on my own. The staff were super friendly and really took the time to make me feel welcome and help me find things I might like to do. The rooms, and hostel in general, were very clean with good facilities. The hostel security is also top notch with codes to get in most doors. Thumbs up for the Grand Hostel in Berlin. I will be returning at some stage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemo6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Inhaber at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hey Mike,

you will be returing? Thats great! Thank you for this motivation. We will be more than happy to welcome you again in Berlin. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    220
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
54
138
255
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf
2 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The building as a whole was well kept and the room was clean. The toilets were clean too, though I imagine it could be pretty crowded in the summer. The staff were friendly and took good care of me. Upon arrival guests get a free map of the city and the staff spend a couple of minutes answering any questions you may have and circling the most common tourist locations. There is a bar by the reception area where you can hang out in the evenings and chairs and tables for resting your feet. The rooms are protected with a pin code type lock - I had no problems with security in the area. As for location, it is in a quiet area and is just five minutes to the nearest underground rail station. There are not too many businesses or bars in that immediate vicinity and the closest grocery store is about a ten minute walk but those are not big concerns. Some people may find the related cafe/restaurant next to the hostel a little big expensive and there is no open kitchen for making your own food but central Berlin is a pretty expensive place to be overall. Free wireless internet; however internet traffic is not throttled per user so if someone is streaming a video at 500+ kilobytes it will drag down the entire hostel connection. I'm not an expert but if there was a way they could limit the internet speed to perhaps 70 - 80 kilobytes per user it may alleviate concerns about internet speed. No complaints, except that the building is three floors and there are no elevators so if you are on the third floor prepare to walk some (so may not be good for people with mobility problems). Highly recommended hostel - would stay again if visiting Berlin in the future.

Room Tip: There are rooms directly across from the washroom and next to the showers but that cannot be helped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We've travelled many countries over the years and stayed at so many places we can't remember, but this place is an absolute standout. We had a private room with ensuite and it was better than many of the expensive hotels we have stayed in many cities. From the excellent staff, grand rooms, great wifi to the friendly restaurant next door. Well done we say. A top choice in Berlin.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Inhaber at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hi Nikki,

what would be this place without our standout guests? Thank you so much for this nice words and keep well on your travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Clean bathrooms, Big rooms and helpful staff. they provide all info that you need. if you love walking location is perfect because you can reach places like Checkpoint Charlie and Jews Museums in about 20 minutes, if you prefer to get quickly, subway is just a few steps away. Wi-fi service is good. Chinese food, supermarket and mythical "Curry 36" are near.

Great Place to stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Amazing hostel! I have stayed in a lot of hostels before but I can truly say: THIS IS ONE OF THE TOP 3, PROBABLY NO 1!

- Staff was super nice and friendy, very helpful.
- Everything was clean and tidy, almost like in a hotel.
- Great rooms, great facilities, NO BUNK BEDS!
- Great location in the heart of beautiful Kreuzberg.
- Soooo amazingly cheap!
- Great breakfast/lunch place run by the hostel called Grandwich Bar just round the corner.
- So many great people there from all over the world. So even though it feels kinda like a hotel it's still got the atmosphere of a hostel.

That's pretty much it. The only thing is that they don't have Berliner Pilsner or Berliner Kindl beer in the (great) hostel bar.

Looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: I booked a 5 bed shared dorm and it was great. I guess all rooms are just great though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

It was the most pleasant stay at the Grand Hostel Berlin.
I went there with my friend in October 2012.
The staff are young, really cool, welcoming, helpful.
We loved everything about it.
They gave us a map & told us about the best places to visit.
They took us out to a really nice pub where we spent the time of our life.
You have to take drinks with everyone in the lobby before going out.
Felt like home with all my friends.
I really miss that place :)

Room Tip: Any room will do the work
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephaniedeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just got back from Berlin a couple of days ago - my fourth trip all in all and every time, I've stayed at The Grand Hostel. It's exceptional value for money and the staff are all awesome and very welcoming. The location is spot on too with it being sat on U1, the main strip for all your nightlife needs. It's located in Kreuzberg itself which also has some great nightlife and many shops, bars, eateries etc.

I've seen a few reviews saying it's noisy, but bear in mind it's in the heart of a capital city - it's hardly going to be silent.

Just awesome. Will definitely be staying there next April and June for my next Berlin trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EpicoDNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 349 in Berlin
1,236 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 349 in Berlin
2,198 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 349 in Berlin
706 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#27 of 349 in Berlin
1,383 reviews
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#13 of 349 in Berlin
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Property: Grand Hostel Berlin
Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and Welcome to the "best Hostel in Germany" 2013 and the winner Hotel of the German VOX TV show "my divine Hotel" 2014. We are located very centrally in the heart of Berlin's Mitte Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. We offer as well private rooms or luxurious dorm beds - just as your travel budget allows. Everyone is welcome at the Grand Hostel and we're looking forward to welcoming YOU soon! We grant the best prices always on our own webpage (Best Price Guarantee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing