We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly cheap but THE BEST EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hostel Berlin
Ranked #6 of 359 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Amazing hostel! I have stayed in a lot of hostels before but I can truly say: THIS IS ONE OF THE TOP 3, PROBABLY NO 1!

- Staff was super nice and friendy, very helpful.
- Everything was clean and tidy, almost like in a hotel.
- Great rooms, great facilities, NO BUNK BEDS!
- Great location in the heart of beautiful Kreuzberg.
- Soooo amazingly cheap!
- Great breakfast/lunch place run by the hostel called Grandwich Bar just round the corner.
- So many great people there from all over the world. So even though it feels kinda like a hotel it's still got the atmosphere of a hostel.

That's pretty much it. The only thing is that they don't have Berliner Pilsner or Berliner Kindl beer in the (great) hostel bar.

Looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: I booked a 5 bed shared dorm and it was great. I guess all rooms are just great though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 947 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

It was the most pleasant stay at the Grand Hostel Berlin.
I went there with my friend in October 2012.
The staff are young, really cool, welcoming, helpful.
We loved everything about it.
They gave us a map & told us about the best places to visit.
They took us out to a really nice pub where we spent the time of our life.
You have to take drinks with everyone in the lobby before going out.
Felt like home with all my friends.
I really miss that place :)

Room Tip: Any room will do the work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephaniedeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just got back from Berlin a couple of days ago - my fourth trip all in all and every time, I've stayed at The Grand Hostel. It's exceptional value for money and the staff are all awesome and very welcoming. The location is spot on too with it being sat on U1, the main strip for all your nightlife needs. It's located in Kreuzberg itself which also has some great nightlife and many shops, bars, eateries etc.

I've seen a few reviews saying it's noisy, but bear in mind it's in the heart of a capital city - it's hardly going to be silent.

Just awesome. Will definitely be staying there next April and June for my next Berlin trips.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpicoDNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice hostel with friendly stuff, nice and clean rooms, quiet surroundings. The bar is very cozy with its many books and comfortable sofa.
We recommend it!

There's nothing much to add, so I have trouble producing 200 characters minimun text length. ;-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathilde13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My bestmate Jessy and I booked the very day we arrived, and so unfortunately because of priority booking our sacrifice came in the form of 3 room changes in 5 nights. Know what? No worries. From the kind smiles, to the selfless hospitality and ofcourse Morgan the bartender who doubled as partying host, we had the time of our lives! Cheap drinks, Halloween parties, comfy beds, cleanliness reaching every crook and cranny...we basically recommend this to any lost tourist, any assistance you need, you'll receive the help you need! The girl who booked our room was awesome as well as Max, Ben, Morgan and everyone else, all the best you guys, your doing an awesome job!

Room Tip: be organised, dont do it last minute, the conditions arent so clear so you might have to face multip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very clean, great location, it doesn't feel like a hostel at all, the staff is very friendly and helpful! I only stayed for 2 nights I wish I could have stayed longer and btw the food next door is delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asmaritax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend. One of the cleanest places I have stayed at in Europe. Not even one of those "random" hairs or dust bunnies in the corner. They are next to a U Bhan stop and walking to the city center in only about 20 mins.
Good: quiet at night - we were next to the stair well and were never woken up by others, free wi-fi, great bar area downstairs and breakfast place right next door.
Bad: no TV, I even had one in the middle of no-where in Thailand...I like to have it as background noise and for the nights I don't party.
Would stay again!

Room Tip: The people at the front desk don't have tons of info, make sure you do your research. They gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaraLee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 359 in Berlin
1,286 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#8 of 359 in Berlin
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 359 in Berlin
734 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#4 of 359 in Berlin
409 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 359 in Berlin
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 359 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $24 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and Welcome to the "best Hostel in Germany" 2013 and the winner Hotel of the German VOX TV show "my divine Hotel" 2014. We are located very centrally in the heart of Berlin's Mitte Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. We offer as well private rooms or luxurious dorm beds - just as your travel budget allows. Everyone is welcome at the Grand Hostel and we're looking forward to welcoming YOU soon! We grant the best prices always on our own webpage (Best Price Guarantee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing