We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on. Never less than 5 stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hostel Berlin
Ranked #5 of 346 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
1 review
“Spot on. Never less than 5 stars.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just got back from Berlin a couple of days ago - my fourth trip all in all and every time, I've stayed at The Grand Hostel. It's exceptional value for money and the staff are all awesome and very welcoming. The location is spot on too with it being sat on U1, the main strip for all your nightlife needs. It's located in Kreuzberg itself which also has some great nightlife and many shops, bars, eateries etc.

I've seen a few reviews saying it's noisy, but bear in mind it's in the heart of a capital city - it's hardly going to be silent.

Just awesome. Will definitely be staying there next April and June for my next Berlin trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EpicoDNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    216
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
137
247
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice hostel with friendly stuff, nice and clean rooms, quiet surroundings. The bar is very cozy with its many books and comfortable sofa.
We recommend it!

There's nothing much to add, so I have trouble producing 200 characters minimun text length. ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathilde13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My bestmate Jessy and I booked the very day we arrived, and so unfortunately because of priority booking our sacrifice came in the form of 3 room changes in 5 nights. Know what? No worries. From the kind smiles, to the selfless hospitality and ofcourse Morgan the bartender who doubled as partying host, we had the time of our lives! Cheap drinks, Halloween parties, comfy beds, cleanliness reaching every crook and cranny...we basically recommend this to any lost tourist, any assistance you need, you'll receive the help you need! The girl who booked our room was awesome as well as Max, Ben, Morgan and everyone else, all the best you guys, your doing an awesome job!

Room Tip: be organised, dont do it last minute, the conditions arent so clear so you might have to face multip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadette k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very clean, great location, it doesn't feel like a hostel at all, the staff is very friendly and helpful! I only stayed for 2 nights I wish I could have stayed longer and btw the food next door is delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asmaritax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend. One of the cleanest places I have stayed at in Europe. Not even one of those "random" hairs or dust bunnies in the corner. They are next to a U Bhan stop and walking to the city center in only about 20 mins.
Good: quiet at night - we were next to the stair well and were never woken up by others, free wi-fi, great bar area downstairs and breakfast place right next door.
Bad: no TV, I even had one in the middle of no-where in Thailand...I like to have it as background noise and for the nights I don't party.
Would stay again!

Room Tip: The people at the front desk don't have tons of info, make sure you do your research. They gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaraLee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had the 4-bed room nr. 10 on the ground floor, which was very clean, confortable and close to toilets and showers.
Our window faced the courtyard though, where they came early in the morning to take the trashbins away, resulting in a lot of noise. On saturday night there was a party or a gathering of some sort, and sleeping would have been impossible without earplugs.

The showers were very funny... only the first one had a curtain, while the last one had a transparent wall... also the activation via sensor leads to the waste of a lot of water.

The location is optimal, at walking distance from Potzdamer Platz and Checkpoint Charlie; also 1 min away from the U-bahn, and a few minutes away from many restaurants and diners.

I was surprised by how big the room was, and loved the normal single beds (I hate bunk beds). The price was also ok, even though it annoyed me having to pay everything right away or else no room code. It was not optimal for me, since I was travelling with acquaintances (not close friends) and arrived before them, and it was a bit annoying having to request the exact amount of money from them afterwards.

The young guys at the counter were friendly and helpful. All in all I think it was a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nini_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Manager at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and review. We will take you comments on board and look into more soundproofing. We ask all guests to pay the total amount for the booking and ask for ID before we give out the door codes-this is just a pre-caution as there are some people out there who just book a bed in a Hostel to robb other travellers and leave again. We hope to welcome you here again and wish you all the best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed this August for a night in grand hostel in a six bed mixed dorm. Had a pleasant stay, the hostel was neat. the location was good and easily accessible via U-barn. Also the good thing it was in a nearby station of Oberbaumstrasse which helped to try burgermeister and also travel to kottbusser tor for some doner kebab...another advantage is it was close to Jewish museum and can be reached by walking...the person on the help desk was helpful and wi-fi was good enough can could be accessed from the second floor. i had a peaceful sleep and all the roommates where also nice and kind. cons: - no breakfast from the hostel, no place near the hostel for breakfast. had a real tough time on a sunday morning to find a place for reasonable breakfast. so make sure u got some thing with you if u are there on a sunday morning and planning to go to jewish museum straight from the hostel. i will come back an here again.

Room Tip: found the second floor rooms nice and sunny. however if u have some wet clothes to dry to are in a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varghesejimmyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Manager at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your great feedback. Our Grandwich Bar is next door and sells yummy sandwiches and coffee each morning. We hope to welcome you soon again in our Hostel and wish you the very best on your travels. Your Grand Hostel Team :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 346 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 346 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#4 of 346 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#21 of 346 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#2 of 346 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Property: Grand Hostel Berlin
Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 346 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and Welcome to the "best Hostel in Germany" 2013 and the winner Hotel of the German VOX TV show "my divine Hotel" 2014. We are located very centrally in the heart of Berlin's Mitte Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. We offer as well private rooms or luxurious dorm beds - just as your travel budget allows. Everyone is welcome at the Grand Hostel and we're looking forward to welcoming YOU soon! We grant the best prices always on our own webpage (Best Price Guarantee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing