We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No# 1 Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hostel Berlin
Ranked #6 of 359 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I would highly recommend this hostel to any backpacker traveling through Berlin.. The staff were amazing and the hostel was very comfy and very very clean.. I met a lot of mates in my dorm but I wouldn't recommend relying on meeting people in the bar downstairs. The location was grate only a 5min train ride into the middle of town..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Manager at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you sooooo much for your great feedback-put a BIG smile on our face :o) All the best on your travels and we hope to welcome you soon again. Your Grand Hostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 947 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a great time, we were expecting a double bed but got 2 singles, otherwise everything was clean and we presented. Great little bar, with some fun bar staff. Close to train station so super easy to get into the city and out to the burbs.
Staff gave us great advise on what to do and where to go. Friend stayed in 3&6 bedroom dorms and said they were the best they'd had in Europe!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Brooke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Manager at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your great feedback we hope to welcome you here again :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hostel was really clean and the beds were very comfy! If you're a lone traveller then I wouldn't necessarily stay here as the bar area downstairs isn't very warming, there doesn't seem to be enough incentives to want to go down to the bar and meet new people. The drinks were quite expensive too.
The wi-fi is really quite shoddy also, which was a shame as I now have a high phone bill!!!

Apart from that, it was really nice, I did meet some nice people from my room, but it's more like a hotel than a hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Manager at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your great feedback we hope to welcome you here again :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed 4 nights and it was great and the personal is very kind and always tries to help you....I would recommend it...Good location 20 minutes from the Brandenburg Thor walking...near U-Bahn U1,U7 (Mockernbrucke) ,U2 Gleisdreieick and U6 Hallesches Tor
Muy buen sitio todo perfectamente acomodado y los chicos de la recepcion son muy atentos y te ayudan en todo.Esta bien ubicado cerca a 4 lineas del U-Bahn asi que moverse es facil.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fvilaroj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Manager at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your great feedback we hope to welcome you here again :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

It has very good location, friendly staff, impressive breakfast. Room is very secured and comfortable. The environment is quite clean. Price is also attractive. Grand Hostel is one of the best hostel I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ke Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Owner at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Woooooooooow thank you so much! It is wonderful to receive such great feedback from our guest. We hope to see you here again and wish you the very best on your travels :o)
Your Grand Hostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hands down one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at - and I've stayed at hundreds. NO bunk beds! SPACIOUS rooms! The en suite full bathrooms are wonderful! I have stayed at this hostel numerous times - and I will come back next time I am in Berlin.

PERKS:
Great food at their breakfast bar next door.
Great atmosphere in hostel - great community room and bar (quiet and cozy!).
5 minute walk from the Liquidrom (amaaaaazing place!)
Super close to U bahn and S bahn.
Close to Kreuzberg (Kottbusser Tor).

CONS:
none none none!
(if you are a light sleeper, ask for one of the interior courtyard rooms)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWanderGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Owner at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

What a wonderful review! Thank you veeeeeeeeery much we are very happy that you have enjoyed your time here and we are looking forward to welcome you once again :o)
All the best and safe travels from your Grand Hostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I can only be positive about this hostel. The staff was helpful and really kind, the beds were comfortable and the showers were always clean. The pub-crawl was the perfect opportunity to get to know the other guests. Our trip to Berlin wouldn't be so fantastic if we hadn't stayed in this hostel. I can only recommend this hostel and I will certainly come back if I'm visiting Berlin again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Owner at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you sooooooo much Isabel! We are delighted that you had a good time in our Hostel and we cannot wait to welcome you again here :o) All the best for your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 359 in Berlin
1,286 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#8 of 359 in Berlin
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 359 in Berlin
734 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#4 of 359 in Berlin
409 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 359 in Berlin
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 359 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $24 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and Welcome to the "best Hostel in Germany" 2013 and the winner Hotel of the German VOX TV show "my divine Hotel" 2014. We are located very centrally in the heart of Berlin's Mitte Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. We offer as well private rooms or luxurious dorm beds - just as your travel budget allows. Everyone is welcome at the Grand Hostel and we're looking forward to welcoming YOU soon! We grant the best prices always on our own webpage (Best Price Guarantee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing