We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hostel Berlin
Ranked #6 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best hostel ever stayed at”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We booked this hostel based on really good things I'd heard about it, and were not disappointed in the slightest! There were 4 of us in our travel group so we booked a 4 bed room and had a huge room to ourselves with comfy single beds (no bunks) and plenty of space, cupboards etc. Showers down the hall were great temperature and pressure and there was never any wait for a shower or toilet.

Everything was spotlessly clean too, and the beds were amazingly comfortable. Wifi was free and worked in the rooms as well as in reception area. We didn't take up the breakfast option because it was a bit expensive for us, but the food looked really good. Location was great, right across from a station and we always felt safe. Staff were nice, and we went on a pub crawl with the hostel as well which we really enjoyed. Basically we just couldn't recommend Grand Hostel highly enough - stay here! Such a refreshing break from other hostels, felt more like we were staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    219
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
138
254
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

very clean, service very friendly. close to centre (3stops on U bahn). Reasonable price.Breakfast best yet of any hostel.just perfect for a trip to Berlin. We'll come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monknash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was the best of all the hostels I have ever stayed in. The Grand Hostel combines the cleanliness and service standards of a hotel with the atmosphere of a hostel. Great location too makes this a place I would gladly stay in the next time I come to Berlin. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and can feed you enough to keep going for almost the rest of the day. Very comfortable beds, (no bunks, but real beds) a comfortable bar in the lobby and excellent friendly staff make this place close to perfect. One note to improve: no elevator so climbing to the top floor might be trouble for some people. It´s a historical building so likely no improvement there. At least it´s a good leg workout.

In one word: WUNDERBAR!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakawaka082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

A great buffet breakfast which was not included but it was ok as the price per night for a private room is not expensive at all. everything seems to be new and really clean!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabyolecin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I stayed here for only one night with my mum and we both just loved it! The building, rooms and common space all are beautiful. The stuff is super friendly and helpful and the location is great! We had a room with shared bathroom and we never had to wait and everything was always clean. We'll definitely be back and next time for longer! Awesome hostel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for only one night, although we definitely would love to come back again. We stayed in the triple room with the balcony; the hostel was incredibly nice to offer it to us at a cheap price and make sure that we were the only ones in it (without us even requesting it to be so!). I haven't stayed at too many hostels, however I don't think there will be one that is as fantastic as this. Although there was a school group there when we were, the noise wasn't too bad, and ear plugs enabled us to sleep well. Although it wasn't an issue for us since we weren't sharing the room, make sure that if you lock up your possessions in the lockers in the rooms, to have a skinny lock-our traditional locks were too big. The beds were incredibly comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were modern and clean, and I did not have a problem at all with sharing them. The hostel is close to a metro stop, so it was easy to get around Berlin. Best of all are the people that work there. They are all extremely upbeat, helpful people. The staff was incredibly informative of where to go and were interesting people to talk to. The breakfast was also fantastic. It is open later and offers a dizzying array of options from regular breakfast staples of eggs and bacon, to breads, cheese, pastas, and so much more. We were very impressed with the B&B and would love to come back here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I have only been to two hostels (including this one). The first one I went to, was pretty amazing but Grand Hostel blew it out of the waters! At Grand Hostel expect to have your every need met. Most importantly, they have an amazing breakfast (not included in your price, but definitely worth it!), clean rooms, laundry and internet access. I spent only and overnight in Berlin because I came to see my favourite band play in Huxley's, and the staff were so accommodating. Their 24hr reception is so helpful because my train came in 50 minutes late to Berlin, leaving me 15 minutes late to my concert.. I was able to just drop off my bags and head straight to the concert and check-in upon my return. (around 1am). In addition, expect to get a good sleep because this place is huge and seems to be blocked away from any street noise and this place is definitely not a party hostel. It is more like a hotel-hostel, just based on the needs of the individual guest. I loved it, definitely WILL return when I come back to Berlin and the people are super nice! Added plus: Metro is about 100-200m away from hostel, with connections to the U6 and U7. There is the M41 bus from the bus stop Willy Brandt Haus that goes to the Hauptbahnhof directly, but it is still a bit far by foot if you're taking lots of luggage. Cheers! Enjoy your stay and I hope you choose to come here :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillpickle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 349 in Berlin
1,234 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 349 in Berlin
2,197 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 349 in Berlin
705 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#21 of 349 in Berlin
1,377 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#4 of 349 in Berlin
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Property: Grand Hostel Berlin
Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and Welcome to the "best Hostel in Germany" 2013 and the winner Hotel of the German VOX TV show "my divine Hotel" 2014. We are located very centrally in the heart of Berlin's Mitte Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. We offer as well private rooms or luxurious dorm beds - just as your travel budget allows. Everyone is welcome at the Grand Hostel and we're looking forward to welcoming YOU soon! We grant the best prices always on our own webpage (Best Price Guarantee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing