We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat it,l for the price”
Review of Gay Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gay Hostel
Ranked #102 of 351 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Can't beat it,l for the price”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I spent 4 nights here in November 2011. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, and the other guests were (mostly) polite. Guests ranged from other tourists from around the world, to Europeans spending a quick weekend in Berlin. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but, it's a hostel not the Ritz!

The hostel is a quick walk from the train station and an even shorter walk to many, many bars. Food in the immediate area can be a bit pricey, but cheaper food can be found if you look around a bit.

Room Tip: If space in your bag allows, bring your own towel. The one provided is small and thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
4
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have visited the hostel with my boyfriend. It was the second time there. The place is really nice although it could have been cleaner. Some guests could have been cleaner too. It's not perfect when you see all their persnal belongings scattered in the common room but that's maybe the specifics of this kind of place. Generally we would recommend that. It also has a perfect location - if you are interested in gay venues. The beds are too small if you plan to sleep with your partner.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The worst place i have ever been,arrogant people and lousy service

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fall2climb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

This was my first time staying at a hostel and traveling to Berlin. I had my concerns about staying in a hostel but this place put my concerns to ease. Every morning the hostel was cleaned, floors swept, trash removed, and bathrooms cleaned. The location is prime! Its in the heart of the gay district close to about 7 bars, great cafes, and a club. There is a subway stop about 3 minutes away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Check out the delicious chinese restaurant below. Great food with great prices.

I highly recommend the hostel especially if you are traveling by yourself. I was fortunate during my stay to have the hostel filled with fun, friendly travelers like myself and they just made my trip even better!

I will be back to party in Berlin and I will stay at this hostel again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank onthego619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is probably the best hostel i've ever stayed in, it is incredibly reasonable - more like a communal apartment than a hostel!

Everyone is really friendly and made our stay well worth the trip to Berlin. Although it's near the bars and clubs there wasnt that much noise, though we didnt have the window open so i'm sure that it'd have been different if we had.

All in all a great location, cheap, clean and well organised.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2010

The owners and staff of the hostel were friendly and accommodating. It was a small hostel, but that meant that everyone knew each other and we had a good time. The hostel is located at the gay area that is meant more for fetish clubs and bear clubs and bars. But getting a taxi to other areas is not expensive. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and new.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elipses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Tom's Hotel
Tom's Hotel
#364 of 634 in Berlin
128 reviews
Schoneberg
Axel Hotel Berlin
Axel Hotel Berlin
#198 of 634 in Berlin
1,658 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Sachsenhof
Hotel Sachsenhof
#203 of 634 in Berlin
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Arco Hotel
Arco Hotel
#295 of 634 in Berlin
95 reviews
Schoneberg
No photo provided
My Gay Hostel
#161 of 351 in Berlin
9 reviews
Schoneberg
ArtHotel Connection
ArtHotel Connection
#8 of 191 in Berlin
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gay Hostel

Property: Gay Hostel
Address: Motzstr. 28, 10777 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 351 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gay Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gay Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing