We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Michelberger Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$113
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Adlon Kempinski(Berlin)
$792
$461
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$207
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$117
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$321
$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
$118
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Melia Berlin(Berlin)
$136
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$88
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,079)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveler rating
625
302
85
36
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
302
85
36
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomeast side gallerybig lebowskihipster hotelcoolest hotelcool hotelwarschauer strassebar loungeberlin walleast berlinloved this hotelfantastic hotelu bahn and s bahntrain stationbars and restaurantsrooms are smalllong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is such a fantastic hotel. The design is bespoke and quirky making the rooms super enjoyable and comfortable - just make sure you don't hate the movie The Big Lebowski' or you'll be in trouble.

The staff speak perfect English and the location is great for all those travelers who want to explore (and maybe party a bit).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleesha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I loved this hotel, it was the perfect mix of great design, comfort and fun. Great value for an incredible boutique hotel and the location was perfect if you enjoy Berlin's finest night life plus it was right next to one end of the East Side Gallery. The rooms provided comfort, space and amusement and the bar / library area was the perfect evening hangout. The breakfast ($15) was fantastic, the choice was huge. This is by far one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and combines the spirit and art of Berlin perfectly. Stay here for a fun and unique experience.

Room Tip: The loft rooms are perfect for 3 friends travelling or a couple with an extra person
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansyhobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Michelberger is masquerading as a hotel. Its really a hostel that thinks its cool. If you are 18-21 going to Berlin to get drunk, then you may also think that it is cool. Fair enough.

The reception desk is a 'cool' sideboard - not enough computers apparently as check in took just over half an hour. The first room was a box with a bed. No carpet, chair, phone - things you would expect to find in an establishment advertising itself as a hotel. The furniture was really 'cool'... shelves made of recycled palettes - well thats about all the furniture there was. Feels like an easy clean room - think Ryan Air plastic un-reclynable seat.

Was successful in changing that room. The second room was like the first but came with a chair. Oh no, hold on - its a treehouse themed hostel. In this room we climb up a wooden ladder to get in to bed. Once in bed there is the hostels... I mean hotels... bar outside with plenty of 'cool' shouty people which adds nicely to the hostel theme... especially when they start running around inside and slamming doors.

Dreadful stay. Believe the bad reviews. Never again.

Room Tip: So long as the the room you choose is in a different hotel you'll be fine.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank humdrum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmichelberger, Inhaber at Michelberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear guest,

it is with our place, like it is with life: You can see the beauty in things, or decide to see a beast. We can only do as we can do and give it our best.

All the best, Nadine & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were not the only people in the hotel over 40 when we stayed. However it is a bit Logan's Run, with a lot of young hipster types.

If you have the right attitude though,this is a really good place to stay. The bar area is great. They do reasonably privced cocktails, 7€-8€ and the staff are really nice. At the weekends the bar has DJs but it isn't too noisy, actually just really nice and relaxed. Quite a nice night out if you what to stay in after a long day sightseeing, if you know what I mean.

The breakfast is good and whilst it does gets really busy on the weekend the staff try to keep on top of it. The staff generally are very nice and "cool".

We stayed in a room with a mezzanine bed. It isn't eay to access. If you have mobility issues you may need to talk to the hotel before booking. A bit tricky after you have had a beer too.

The hotel is right by the U Bann and close to the S Bann, a few minutes walk. Also you are close to the river. If you walk over the bridge by the river there are a load of bars and places to eat. I guess some would call them alternative, there are certainly no chain restaurants or bars.

I will stay here again on my next visit. It is busy for a reason.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gisUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from a girly weekend in Berlin staying at the Michelberger for 3 nights. My friends and I really enjoyed staying at the hotel and found it perfect for our weekend away celebrating my 30th birthday. As you can see from the photos and past reviews the hotel is indeed very quirky with a well thought out design. The bar is fantastic and we found ourselves in there every day, most of the bar staff were friendly and knew their stuff when it came to drinks recommending good wine and cocktails. The mojitos were amazing! The bar was always buzzing and played good tunes! We didn’t have very good weather and it was very cold and snowy whilst we were there so the bar was a cosy retreat at the end of a cold day spent out and about. Another highlight was the buffet breakfast served in the gorgeous vintage style dining room where we enjoyed leisurely breakfasts each morning. The buffet included everything including smoked salmon, lovely rich coloured eggs, fresh fruits and gorgeous bread amongst other choices. They also served dinner on a weekend but didn’t get to try it. I also loved the Fountain of Youth drink which is the Michelberger’s own coconut water, it was delicious and good for hangover!

We had a little ‘hiccup’ when we first arrived as our room was only set up for 2 people instead of 3, the staff sorted it out quickly though. We did ask to see other rooms as we felt the loft room was rather small for 3 people but they advised us they were fully booked all weekend which was a shame. The loft room would be great for 2 people but I don’t think I could have shared with 2 people for longer than I did! The sofa bed wasn’t very comfortable. The rooms have huge high windows so was good to see out onto the street and made the rooms nice and light. The lighting was very poor (as is usually the case in hotel rooms) so if you want to apply your make-up I would advise bringing a lighted mirror - I’m so glad I did! We had one small mirror above the sink to share between 3 of us! No full-length mirror either - that needs to be sorted! Bathrooms are tiny but the sink is separate which works better than it being in the bathroom. Rooms are cleaned every day but very minimal. We’d come back to nearly empty water bottles still hanging around, I’d rather they just got rid of them and tidied up a bit more. Next time I would look at paying a bit extra for a bigger room but for the price you can’t really knock it. The hotel is well located near plenty of happening bars and clubs and a stone’s throw from the East Side Gallery. The SBahn across the road takes you into the centre of Berlin. Yes, it’s hipster central but there’s both a buzzy and chilled atmosphere throughout and it’s a good place to meet people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews