We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and cozy, minor problems”
Review of Michelberger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Michelberger Hotel
Ranked #123 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My friend and I stayed on Michelberger for three nights on an extended weekend trip.

We loved the hotel and personally, this is one of the best hotels, I've stayed at in terms of atmosphere and interior design.

The interior is very original and whimsical, and there are so many funny and quirky details everywhere from the framed, crocheted vintage oven gloves to the wooden cuckoo clocks in the reception, telling what time it is in New York and Tokyo.

The cafe/bar is so nice that we ended up here every night after having been out for dinner. Nice music, comfy furniture to relax in and killer cocktails. My personal favourite, White Russian, goes under the name The Dude here, as a nice reference to The Big Lebowski. Which by the way is aired 24/7 on the hotel TVs. Nice detail.

Yummy big breakfast buffet with many different choices and nice, strong coffee. The buffet is slightly bigger on weekends, with more warm dishes.

We stayed in a Band room at the third floor. Unfortunately, we were woken up at 8am on both Saturday and Sunday, by someone hammering and drilling upstairs. The fourth floor is however not occupied by the hotel, so we couldn't really blame them for this, but it was nevertheless quite annoying to be woken up at 8am when you for once are able to sleep in without kids jumping in your bed from early morning on :/

The room was spacious and clean - to begin with. Unfortunately, the housekeeping service was not very efficient. Our table was not wiped though dirty and the empty glasses we brought up from the bar was not removed for two days. We ended up leaving them in the hallway, as they were beginning to smell, and they were left there for more than 24 hours. We noticed how the pile of dirty dishes and glasses grew during these 24 hours, so it seemed like the other guests also had this issue.

We had some minor problems with the TV - and some not so minor problems with the WIFI. The latter was not fixed during our stay and was source of some frustration, as we relied on free internet for getting information on what to do and where to go while in Berlin. That said, the staff was sorry about the problems, but apparently had problems getting someone to fix the issues during the weekend.

The lack of cleaning and the problems with WIFI are the reasons for not giving a 5-star evaluation of the hotel. The rest was absolutely amazing, and I plan on staying here again if I should visit Berlin again. I hope so.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms on the third floor, as the hotel does not own the fourth floor. We were woken up at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmichelberger, Inhaber at Michelberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Filotsky from Copenhagen,

thanks much for taking your time to tell all those nice things about us. In regards to not cleaning your room from your bar glasses, this should not happen. We will let our housekeeping team know, and remind them again how important it is to focus every single day on every single room, with the love and care taking that makes everyone feel at home.

Come back some day and thanks again for your feedback,

Nadine & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Location: Very convenient with S-Bahn, U-Bahn and street car stops right in front.
Rooms: I opted for the "Loft room" since the price difference between that and the "Cozy room" isn't much, man am I glad I made that choice! Spacious room, massive windows, clean, cool without being pretentious.
Service: Overall great service, although the staff at the reception can be overwhelmed at times.
Food: Breakfast was very good.
Ambience: Really cool with bar that stays open late, beer garden, cool restaurant, nice touches everywhere and the looping "The Big Lebowski" on channel 1.

Overall: A super 2-star hotel. Has an elevator but no telephone / fridge / minibar / toiletries / coffee maker in room.

Room Tip: Gotta go with the loft room if you don't mind climbing up and down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheesyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Uber cool without being pretentious, this place is a treat for the eyes and the soul and not too hard on the wallet.

The Michelberger is a living design icon. The rooms house a collection of unique art hand made to tease the curiosity and to please the eye. Shredded paper light shades, walls lined with opening books, crocheted items in old picture frames, fine mood lighting, and a host of quirky things to attract your gaze. Design is everywhere, from the "no smoking" signs, to the bar list, to the welcome brochure, and all done with the same sense of humour as found on the whacky website. Even the breakfast tokens are a work of tiny art.

The bar is a fine space where you can eat, drink and chat at tables, browse the world from your wi-fi device, and drink fine coffee and eat cake, or soup, or fresh pretzls. Alternatively, you can lounge in the lounge, surrounded by books, in huge seats on which you can sit, lie, or flop. The whole mood is one of "relaaaaax", and the music, and staff all add to the ease with which that can happen. Apart from the guests, it seemed as if the bar hosted an array of "locals" and the whole vibe was of a friendly, welcoming space.

The bar list is impressive, and the cocktails are reasonably priced, A "must try" are the Michelburger's own brews, one a dark and herby/spicy concoction at 36%, the other a herby schnapps at 48%: both are a warming joy.

Our room was one of the "luxury" type, and although I dislike that term intensely, the room was, indeed, luxurious. A fine double-ended bath sunk into the floor, a fine shower behind the bed, and a room with a loo, and, just in case we wanted to wash somewhere else for a change, a sink in the entrance to the the room too. A sign, for us, that the hotel was worth spending time in was that we didn't bother with the huge television at all. Most of our time was spent in the bar and lounge simply enjoying the atmosphere, or out in the courtyard enjoying the smoking space amongst more quirkily designed things, such as a beach hut and a giant bird's nest.

The staff were, without exception, friendly, helpful and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble, such as searching for local vegetarian restaurants, booking taxis, or helping us get used to the excellent public transport system.

The hotel is right across the street from the tram stop, underground and overground stations, and only 300m from the East Side Gallery, a remaining strip of the old Wall covered in truly stunning art. This spot is perfect for exploring the city. We were able to walk to Checkpoint Charlie, the Brandenburg Gate, and the television tower in Alexanderplatz, though we were in need of that wonderful bath by the time we got "home". I use that term deliberately because the Michelberger was so easy to stay in. None of the pretentious pomposity that typically comes with hotels, but an easy, welcoming, effortless stay.

If you like hotels to be pretentious and pompous, don't go there, though you will be welcomed and made to feel as welcome as anyone else. If you do like something out of the ordinary but still gives you that "money well spent on a proper holiday" feeling, go to the Michelberger Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, all the rooms are worth their rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveDA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We splashed out and stayed in a 'Luxus' room, one of the Michelberger's four luxury rooms. You don't get to choose which one you get, the selection is given based on availability, and we ended up in 'the room with a view'. This room was super cool, with a sunken mattress, elevated (but sunken) bathtub, projector, playstation, stereo, dvds, and a loft above the bed with loads of comfy cushions to lounge on. One word of warning, these rooms are best suited to couples (or very close friends) as the shower is completely open and visible to the rest of the room. The hotel was so great that we barely wanted to leave, but glad we did as it's in a very funky and interesting part of town. Lots of great bars, cafes and shops nearby and really well serviced by public transport with the u-bahn immediately across the road, the s-bahn just down the street a bit and the tram just outside the front door. Great hotel, great location, great city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyLaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here this weekend with seven friends and took the 'Big One' which has enough bunk beds to sleep eight (not your typical hostel bunks though but pretty luxurious). Really comfortable room, two decent bathrooms with nice showers and a massive table to relax around.

The staff in the hotel are all extremely friendly and the 24 hour bar works a treat. The hotel is very well placed next to a main U/S-Bahn station and close to some very cool areas.

I will definitely be staying here again and would strongly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit this fantastic city!

Room Tip: The Big One if there's 8 of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesonhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Negatives first:

1. Lumpy mattress.
2. Very poor sound insulation - we listened to a man cough all night through.
3. Room lacked water heater and instant coffee/tea.

Positives:
1. Very charming, very cool, very nice people
2. Great location to explore east Berlin
3. Great bar and lounge. Great coffee in the morning

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoj300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed with a friend in the cheapest room but we learned that the shower is completely visible to the bedroom which was very odd. In addition the TV only played the big lebowski (luckily in english) on loop.There was no other channels. However, we weren't in our room much and the neighborhood by the hotel was very hip and fun. We also took the free walking tour from the hotel which was really cool and gave us a good orientation of berlin as well as a great overview of all of the street art and graffiti.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HattyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Holiday Inn Berlin - City East Side
Friedrichshain
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#31 of 633 in Berlin
3,339 reviews
Friedrichshain
East Side Hotel
East Side Hotel
#488 of 633 in Berlin
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
Friedrichshain
Klassik Hotel
Klassik Hotel
#359 of 633 in Berlin
281 reviews
Charlottenburg
25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelberger Hotel

Address: Warschauer Str. 39/40, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $84 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michelberger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Michelbergerhotel is a budget hotel concept created by a group of friends, who had the idea to make the best hotel they could, the kind of hotel they'd like to stay in. A place that's individual, charismatic, stylish, fun, rebellious and inexpensive, a place where anything goes, just like Berlin itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Michelberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing