We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a so-so hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Berlin East
Ranked #302 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as part of tour. Hotel surrounding has nothing. You can take tram M5 or M6 to Alexanderplatz which is about 20 mins away, cost euro 2.20. Tram station is about 8 mins away from hotel. There is no free wifi and no kettle in room which I would not consider to stay if I am on my own trip. Breakfast has a decent spread but very crowded.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lydiaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear lydiaSingapore,
Thank you for your review at TripAdvisor. Some of our rooms have WIFI and close to the reception you can find our business center with 2 computers and one printer which our guest can use free of charge. Great that you liked our breakfast buffet. We do apologize for any inconvenience you had at the breakfast buffet, caused by the high degree of capacity utilizations at this time. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you as a guest again soon. Greetings, your Grand City Hotel Berlin East Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was ok... Some staff spoke English, and were very helpful at times, while others acted as if the they had no idea what we were talking about (even though we knew they understood.) We asked the front desk for extra towels, and waited over an hour for them, after calling housekeeping as well. Also note that there are different towers to the hotel, which will determine what quality you get when booking. Breakfast was very expensive, so we go opted out. With a two minute walk to a tram stop, which has a large parking lot that is free, but hotel parking is expensive. overall the room was clean, but if I were to go back to Berlin, I would look for an NH Hotel or something with more stars.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cassie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Quality and Guest Services Supervisor at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

Regarding your comment about some of the staff appearing not to know what they are talking about, please understand that we do have some trainees at the reception and they are learning. Our goal is always to give the best possible service and attention to each of our guests and we do apologize for not meeting your expectations.

It is of course never nice to have to wait a long time such as extra towels. Please do understand that we are a large hotel and it can take time to respond to a guest request. We are constantly working on improving our efficiency and to cut down the time that a guest has to wait after requesting something.

We are sorry that you were not happy with the price of our breakfasts. We do offer a large variety of both cold and hot items for breakfast.

We do have a large parking area and whilst we work on keeping our prices low we are sorry that you were not happy with the cost of parking.

We at Grand City Hotel Berlin East do hope to have you again as our guest in the future and to making you feel at home with us.

Kind Regards,

Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

this hotel contains of 3 buliding from which only one was renovated. we stayed in the not renovated building on the 11 floor which gave us a nice view of the city. the tram stop M-13 is 200 meter from the hotel.its final station is osoler street from which you can take a bus to tegel airport. thre is another tram shich is 400 meters that goes to Alexander platz. The breakfast was served in a nice room with pleasant atmosphere and service was efficent and lovely. they serve meat balls, panckakes, marinated fish, hot dogs, vegetables and fruit, salds with mayonaise basis, creals, hot and cold berveages, pastries and cheese and cold cuts. very sufficent. The reception staff is polite and nice . there is gym and you have to receive from the staff a daily card to use it. it is better to come for breakfast early because it gets very crowded (a lot of organized tour groups). thre is free internet access in the business room. the room was dated but is was very clean (they changed the sheets daily) and in included a refrigrator, and a microwave. a kettle was supplied by request (no tea or coffee) and plates are supplied only by request.

Room Tip: to ask for the renovated buliding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shlomit6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Quality and Guest Services Supervisor at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Shlomit,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Reviews such as yours enable us to constantly improve our service and to provide the best possible experience to our guests.

We are delighted that you like the view of the city from your room and that you were pleased with our breakfast and the atmosphere. We serve a large variety of both cold and hot food items so that our guests have plenty to choose from.

Your comment about our polite reception staff is appreciated and has already been passed on to them.

We are glad that you enjoyed the free internet access in your business room and that you were happy with its cleanliness.

We are working on modernizing our rooms but we are almost always fully booked so this process does take time but it will happen. We are sorry that there was no tea or coffee in your room.

We at Grand City Hotel Berlin East look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future and to making you feel at home with us.

Kind Regards,

Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was disappointed with this place as the room shown in the picture when we booked was nothing like what we actually got. In the picture and the information about the hotel it seemed like a fairly modern 4* hotel but in actual fact the room we got was old fashioned, a little worn around the edges and not particularly comfortable, definitely not what I would consider 4* (even by European standards). The hotel website does show different room types and some are clearly more modern than others but even considering this I was still disappointed with our room.

I don't know if perhaps the hotel is going through some kind of refurbishment and perhaps all the rooms will eventually be updated but for now at least I felt like we had been mislead. We knew the location wasn't amazing to start with but we were prepared to tolerate this as the rooms looked pretty decent in the pictures so it was a small sacrifice to make for what we thought was a slightly better quality hotel than what you might typically find in the city centre. We thought we were getting good value for a nice modern hotel when we saw the prices on "offer" but in actual fact this wasn't the case.

Their website descries the hotel as 'centrally located' but it's not. To get anywhere you need to use public transport and it's a good 10-15 minute taxi journey into the city centre; there is also a tram stop nearby. There's no shops apart from one mobile stand about 500 yards down the road and nothing of any interest in the immediate area. The hotel has a small bar but you wouldn't want to stay here long as it's not great.

The hotel is not totally terrible, just not as nice as it portrays itself on the website. I wouldn't stay here again as I think you can get as good a place closer to or actually in the city centre so the sacrifice I made for the location wasn't worth it.

Room Tip: Some of the photos on here are misleading, not all of the rooms are of the same standard and some ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aky2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Quality and Guest Services Supervisor at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Your comments are important to us and enable us to focus on constantly improving.

We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your room. Please do understand that pictures of rooms on hotel websites do not necessarily show the room that you will be getting. They are examples of what the room looks like.

We are very popular with groups from around the world and this might explain why the bar seemed small to you - especially if there were a lot of people there at the time.

We are a short tram ride away from the center of town and a few minutes walk from the local supermarket and a a selection of stores and cafes.

If you are planning another trip to Berlin, please consider staying with us again and contacting me directly so that I can provide you with the service that you expect from us.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Weiss
Quality and Guest Services Supervisor
Grand City Hotel Berlin East & Holiday Inn Berlin East
jeremy.weiss@hibce.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Ok, but not a 4 star hotel. Prices seem to depend on whom you talk with, same about alot of things. Just double check all info and youll have a good stay. Like 10-20 min with tram from the city center but Berlin has great public transport system.

Room Tip: Be specific on being in one of the nicer rooms. There are two hotels, i guess or three buildings not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Quality and Guest Services Supervisor at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We would like to bring to your attention the fact that prices in almost all hotels prices can change even on a daily basis.

Different websites offer different deals and packages and it is possible that this led to some confusion.

We do hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Berlin and feel free to contact me directly so that I can help ensure that you have a pleasant stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Weiss
Quality and Guest Services Supervisor
Grand City Hotel Berlin East & Holiday Inn Berlin East
jeremy.weiss@hibce.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We scored a deal for 23euros for a night so we were really happy with the hotel. However,with the normal rate of 75 euros it might be a bit expensive for what it is. The room felt and looked more like 55- 60 euro. The rooms are nice and very comfortable. We slept great. The wifi was five euro, which would be a very expensive and unfair if you were already paying the 75 euro rate. The hotel had a very nice restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen37_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Quality and Guest Services Supervisor at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted that you liked your room and our restaurant.

We do offer very low prices and value for money and hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August and were delighted with the hotel, very friendly staff lovely rooms and very clean. Great location for trams for sight seeing. We loved our stay it was all we needed and will book again. Not sure what some people expect for the price they paid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrizeldaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, sales agent at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Grizelda,
thank you for being our guest and your review on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Grand City Hotel Berlin East.
We are happy to hear, that you liked in particular our friendly staff and enjoyed Berlin.
We hope to see you soon, when you will come next time to Berlin.
Your Grand City Hotel Berlin East team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#343 of 634 in Berlin
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lichtenberg
Holiday Inn Berlin City East
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Berlin East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Berlin East

Address: Landsberger Allee 203, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $44 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Berlin East 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cultural and sporting capital with a unique lifestyle at this 3-star Berlin hotel. Whether as a tourist or business traveller, the city has something to offer everyone. The Grand City Hotel Berlin East is centrally located close to Alexanderplatz. For leisure travellers, there are sports courses and sporting and event venues situated nearby, such as the Sportforum, the Velodrome events venue and the Max-Schmeling-Halle. Meals and drinks are served up at the "Landsberger 203" restaurant and the “New Orleans Bar” with Mediterranean and Berlin-style cuisine. A well-equipped gym is available to hotel guests at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your City Hotel Berlin East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing