We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a good and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Berlin East
Ranked #298 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed June 30, 2013

its a good hotel just 5 station from alehander platz .its clean hotel with big parking ,close to hotel is lidl supermarket .tram station is in front of hotel.its a big hotel not to expensive .berlin is very big ,ku dame is interesting .on alexander platz have big aleksa shoping.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuco161107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Quality and Guest Services Supervisor at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you like our hotel, rates and the location. We are in the east of Berlin but as you have seen, it is so easy to get to the center.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Grand City Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Bed and breakfast was good.
The price is low, so dont expect too much. No AC and no refrigator, which was hard when its 35-40 degrees outside.
Location is acceptable, but outside city. It takes 20 minutes by tram M6 to Alexanderplatz.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrmaJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Quality and Guest Services Supervisor at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out your comments about your stay with us. Guest feedback allows us to improve and to provide a better service to our guests.

We are very happy to hear that your bed was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

Despite the low rates we constantly strive to provide the best service.

As is advertised, Grand City Berlin East is not in the center of town but there is a regular tram service just a few minutes walk from the hotel that can take you to the center.

We understand and are sorry that your room was not air-conditioned. Should a guest wish for an air-conditioned room he or she can book in advance a business room which is air-conditioned. In addition, mini-bars can be requested at the front desk subject to availability.

We at Grand City Berlin East look forward to warmly welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Grand City Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I have to say this was one of the worst budget hotels I've stayed in. After checking in, my fiancé and I went to the room where we'd be sleeping. The room must not have been used for a few days because it was like an oven for the entire time we were there. We were given no fan whatsoever to keep the temperature in the room down and we could only open the window slightly - it became almost unbearable to sleep on the first night.

In the morning, when we asked how to get to the main square, the receptionist seemed to send us on a wild goose chase as we ended up in a place we didn't expect to and had to find our bearings on our own along with our trusty map. We learned not to ask the hotel staff for ANYTHING as they either have no idea or they give bog standard 'can't be bothered' answers. If we visit Berlin again, I hope we don't stay here again.

Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HIBCE, Quality Control at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our valued guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the room accommodations you received. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.
While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights while travelling through.
While we were there the staffs were very accommodating and helpful with directions and places to visit.
We were lucky as Berlin was buzzing as they had their German football final on and the city was buzzing,
Motel is of quality and its secure yet vibrant, the food was good, and rooms were perfect for us.
We had one issue after leaving with been double charged for our accommodation through booking online through booking.com but Erik from Grand city was helpful and sorted this out for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Quality and Guest Services Supervisor at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Daniel,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel and staff.

We go out of our way to make our guests feel at home with us.

We have passed on your positive comments about the food to our head chef and we love to introduce you to a wider variety of food on your next stay with us.

The most important part of a hotel is a comfortable bed and we are therefore delighted that you were comfortable.

Eric has been commended for dealing with your booking issue in such an efficient and friendly manner.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon as our guest.

Kind Regards,

Grand City Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights with our tour group. They are a very busy hotel with many groups arriving/ departing and even so, the service has been pretty good. The room we stayed in was very large compared to many others we have stayed in Germany. Beds are a little on the soft side but comfortable. There is a very good buffet breakfast range for all tastes.

The hotel is part of the Holiday Inn/IHG group and since we have stayed with them in other countries, we would have expected tea/coffee making facilities in the room as a personal comfort like the others. We did find out you can borrow a kettle upon check- out, although it would have been nice to be told at check-in.

The two upgrades this hotel should consider and would need to do to keep up with other Holiday Inn's globally is to definitely get rid of the old outdated analogue box television and provide in room tea/coffee.
Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1TraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Quality and Guest Services Supervisor at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Ray,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review of your stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you liked our spacious rooms and good breakfasts.

Both Grand City Berlin East and Holiday Inn Berlin East (which is owned by Grand City) share a reception and hotel facilities. You stayed in the Grand City Berlin East and the rooms and features inside the rooms are different than the rooms in the Holiday Inn Berlin East.

Due to the limited number of kettles, we only provide them to our guests upon request and depending on availability.

We fully understand that you were not happy with the out-dated televisions and the lack of tea and coffee in the room and rest assured that we are working on addressing these issues.

We do look forward to welcoming you back as our guest and to making you feel as comfortable as possible.

Kind Regards,

Grand City Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

this hotel is cheap but ok in itself// on a main road miles out of town and close to little.. not a secure place .. one of our party had her handbag stolen from under her feet while in the dinning room but worse it took over an hour for security to come and do anything about it... on this incident alone there are probably better places to stay.... another place with staff attitude and a real need for retraining... not recommended..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brentt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Quality Control at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the prices at our hotel - we constantly strive to provide the best rates.

We are, of course, looking into improving our hotel security to make sure that something like this does not happen again. Each guest is responsible at all times for their belongings and the only time that a hotel is responsible for a theft is if a guest puts an item in the hotel's main safe and something happens to it.

We are however working on contacting the guest that you mentioned in your review and we will personally respond to her because it is important to us that our guests feel as welcome and as safe as possible.

Regarding your comment about our staff, I have informed the Front Desk manager and we are looking into this to make sure that it does not happen again and I sincerely apologise for your unpleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Grand City Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I've just returned from a few days away to Berlin with my husband. We stayed at the Grand City Hotel Berlin East which is about a 15 min tram journey from the centre of Berlin (Alexanderplatz). The hotel itself was adequate and the staff quite friendly. It was a bit strange as it appeared to be attached to the Holiday Inn and the facilities seemed to be joined and shared, but the hotel itself was called Grand City Hotel Berlin East.

The room was adequate, fairly large, but a little basic (no frills!).

When we asked the Reception staff about the trams to the centre, they just told us where the tram stop was. They never mentioned that we could buy tickets from Reception which was a little frustrating and annoying for us.

Other than that we had a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Coordinator at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Denise M,
thank you for being our guest and your review on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Grand City Hotel Berlin East. We do apologize for the inconvenience at the reception and the lack of information they gave you to purchase tickets as well with them. Sometimes the reception has no tickets left because of high demand and can’t therefore offer them for sale. We are happy to hear you liked your stay though and would be delighted to have you as a guest soon again.
The Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#376 of 635 in Berlin
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lichtenberg
Holiday Inn Berlin City East
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#351 of 635 in Berlin
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Berlin East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Berlin East

Address: Landsberger Allee 203, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $51 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Berlin East 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cultural and sporting capital with a unique lifestyle at this 3-star Berlin hotel. Whether as a tourist or business traveller, the city has something to offer everyone. The Grand City Hotel Berlin East is centrally located close to Alexanderplatz. For leisure travellers, there are sports courses and sporting and event venues situated nearby, such as the Sportforum, the Velodrome events venue and the Max-Schmeling-Halle. Meals and drinks are served up at the "Landsberger 203" restaurant and the “New Orleans Bar” with Mediterranean and Berlin-style cuisine. A well-equipped gym is available to hotel guests at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel Berlin East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing