We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Berlin East
Ranked #298 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights with our tour group. They are a very busy hotel with many groups arriving/ departing and even so, the service has been pretty good. The room we stayed in was very large compared to many others we have stayed in Germany. Beds are a little on the soft side but comfortable. There is a very good buffet breakfast range for all tastes.

The hotel is part of the Holiday Inn/IHG group and since we have stayed with them in other countries, we would have expected tea/coffee making facilities in the room as a personal comfort like the others. We did find out you can borrow a kettle upon check- out, although it would have been nice to be told at check-in.

The two upgrades this hotel should consider and would need to do to keep up with other Holiday Inn's globally is to definitely get rid of the old outdated analogue box television and provide in room tea/coffee.
Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1TraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Quality and Guest Services Supervisor at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Ray,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review of your stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you liked our spacious rooms and good breakfasts.

Both Grand City Berlin East and Holiday Inn Berlin East (which is owned by Grand City) share a reception and hotel facilities. You stayed in the Grand City Berlin East and the rooms and features inside the rooms are different than the rooms in the Holiday Inn Berlin East.

Due to the limited number of kettles, we only provide them to our guests upon request and depending on availability.

We fully understand that you were not happy with the out-dated televisions and the lack of tea and coffee in the room and rest assured that we are working on addressing these issues.

We do look forward to welcoming you back as our guest and to making you feel as comfortable as possible.

Kind Regards,

Grand City Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

this hotel is cheap but ok in itself// on a main road miles out of town and close to little.. not a secure place .. one of our party had her handbag stolen from under her feet while in the dinning room but worse it took over an hour for security to come and do anything about it... on this incident alone there are probably better places to stay.... another place with staff attitude and a real need for retraining... not recommended..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brentt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Quality Control at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the prices at our hotel - we constantly strive to provide the best rates.

We are, of course, looking into improving our hotel security to make sure that something like this does not happen again. Each guest is responsible at all times for their belongings and the only time that a hotel is responsible for a theft is if a guest puts an item in the hotel's main safe and something happens to it.

We are however working on contacting the guest that you mentioned in your review and we will personally respond to her because it is important to us that our guests feel as welcome and as safe as possible.

Regarding your comment about our staff, I have informed the Front Desk manager and we are looking into this to make sure that it does not happen again and I sincerely apologise for your unpleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Grand City Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I've just returned from a few days away to Berlin with my husband. We stayed at the Grand City Hotel Berlin East which is about a 15 min tram journey from the centre of Berlin (Alexanderplatz). The hotel itself was adequate and the staff quite friendly. It was a bit strange as it appeared to be attached to the Holiday Inn and the facilities seemed to be joined and shared, but the hotel itself was called Grand City Hotel Berlin East.

The room was adequate, fairly large, but a little basic (no frills!).

When we asked the Reception staff about the trams to the centre, they just told us where the tram stop was. They never mentioned that we could buy tickets from Reception which was a little frustrating and annoying for us.

Other than that we had a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Coordinator at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Denise M,
thank you for being our guest and your review on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Grand City Hotel Berlin East. We do apologize for the inconvenience at the reception and the lack of information they gave you to purchase tickets as well with them. Sometimes the reception has no tickets left because of high demand and can’t therefore offer them for sale. We are happy to hear you liked your stay though and would be delighted to have you as a guest soon again.
The Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had an early check in. The reception staff managed to get us a temp room until our double room was available. Which was a smoking room and not as nice as our double room. The newer rooms are very nice and clean. This is a large hotel so you walk a bit to get to your room. About 500m from tram stop that takes you directly to Alexanderplatz. Very easy. Only request is to add a tea/coffee station to the rooms. The hotel is not in a busy part of Berlin, so no shops and restaurants close by. Housekeeping staff replaced towels even though there is a sign asking guests to please hang their towels (which we did ) if they want to re-use it. Maybe they can just remind their staff. Only german language TV channels - CNN is the only english channel available.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are much better. Ask for a new room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lale-Burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Coordinator at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear traveler,
thank you for your positive evaluation on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Grand City Hotel Berlin East. We are happy to hear that you liked in particular our attentive staff and tidy rooms. On request we can provide a kettle, where guests can make themselves a hot drink at their rooms. There is also a hot drink station at the lobby. We are happay to welcome you as a guest again.
The Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with a tour. It's a tad outside the city and I would have rather stayed closer to the city center. We were in the 2nd tower and the rooms still looked worn out and had an old smell to them. Close to the M5/M6 if you're looking to go into town. Average rooms, the internet in the business center is free, but if you want it for your room, it's 5 Euro for 24 hours. No restaurants close other than the New Orleans Bar in the hotel. We were staying at the same time as a group of Judo Athletes and at night they took over. Some of our group got prank called about midnight, which was inappropriate. Not sure it would have been my first choice of hotel.

If you're looking for the gym, ask for the fitness center if you're from the US. It's behind the New Orleans Bar

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Coordinator at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Christine G.,
thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you weren’t so pleased about the atmosphere of the rooms. We do apologize for the disruption by some of the participants of the Judo tournament at early night as well. By two tramlines which drive frequently (every 5 minutes) you can get easy and in 15 minutes to Alexanderplatz.. Hopefully we can welcome you as a guest on your next visit to Berlin again though.
Regards, the Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice hotel, good rooms and beds, easy to reach by bus or tram and only 20 min away from city center

Breakfast not included in price and this is quite expensive p.p.p.d.
Also no frigde on the room and vending machines located at several levels mot not in use

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Nico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Nico,
thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you liked the hotel, enjoyed your stay and in particular the convenience by the public transport system to get easy and quick to the city center. The price of 13€ for our Breakfast buffet is well adapted for divers hot and cold dishes and including coffee and juices. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon, yours Grand City Hotel Berlin East.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel this week and honestly, for the money it was fantastic. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the view is great. (We were on the 10th floor) The tram connections are really good,with several stops going in dofferent directions within 200 metres of the hotel. There is a pizza machine on the ground floor which produces surprisingly tasty pizzas in less than 5 minutes!
All in all, a really good base to explore the wonderful city of Berlin from.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cowlamprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Traveller,
thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor
We hope you spent a good time at Grand City Hotel Berlin East.
We are looking forward to welcomming you soon again.

greetings
Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#376 of 635 in Berlin
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lichtenberg
Holiday Inn Berlin City East
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#351 of 635 in Berlin
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Berlin East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Berlin East

Address: Landsberger Allee 203, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $51 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Berlin East 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cultural and sporting capital with a unique lifestyle at this 3-star Berlin hotel. Whether as a tourist or business traveller, the city has something to offer everyone. The Grand City Hotel Berlin East is centrally located close to Alexanderplatz. For leisure travellers, there are sports courses and sporting and event venues situated nearby, such as the Sportforum, the Velodrome events venue and the Max-Schmeling-Halle. Meals and drinks are served up at the "Landsberger 203" restaurant and the “New Orleans Bar” with Mediterranean and Berlin-style cuisine. A well-equipped gym is available to hotel guests at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel Berlin East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing