We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Hotel Berlin East
Ranked #305 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had an early check in. The reception staff managed to get us a temp room until our double room was available. Which was a smoking room and not as nice as our double room. The newer rooms are very nice and clean. This is a large hotel so you walk a bit to get to your room. About 500m from tram stop that takes you directly to Alexanderplatz. Very easy. Only request is to add a tea/coffee station to the rooms. The hotel is not in a busy part of Berlin, so no shops and restaurants close by. Housekeeping staff replaced towels even though there is a sign asking guests to please hang their towels (which we did ) if they want to re-use it. Maybe they can just remind their staff. Only german language TV channels - CNN is the only english channel available.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are much better. Ask for a new room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lale-Burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Coordinator at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear traveler,
thank you for your positive evaluation on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Grand City Hotel Berlin East. We are happy to hear that you liked in particular our attentive staff and tidy rooms. On request we can provide a kettle, where guests can make themselves a hot drink at their rooms. There is also a hot drink station at the lobby. We are happay to welcome you as a guest again.
The Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with a tour. It's a tad outside the city and I would have rather stayed closer to the city center. We were in the 2nd tower and the rooms still looked worn out and had an old smell to them. Close to the M5/M6 if you're looking to go into town. Average rooms, the internet in the business center is free, but if you want it for your room, it's 5 Euro for 24 hours. No restaurants close other than the New Orleans Bar in the hotel. We were staying at the same time as a group of Judo Athletes and at night they took over. Some of our group got prank called about midnight, which was inappropriate. Not sure it would have been my first choice of hotel.

If you're looking for the gym, ask for the fitness center if you're from the US. It's behind the New Orleans Bar

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Coordinator at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Christine G.,
thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you weren’t so pleased about the atmosphere of the rooms. We do apologize for the disruption by some of the participants of the Judo tournament at early night as well. By two tramlines which drive frequently (every 5 minutes) you can get easy and in 15 minutes to Alexanderplatz.. Hopefully we can welcome you as a guest on your next visit to Berlin again though.
Regards, the Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice hotel, good rooms and beds, easy to reach by bus or tram and only 20 min away from city center

Breakfast not included in price and this is quite expensive p.p.p.d.
Also no frigde on the room and vending machines located at several levels mot not in use

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Nico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Nico,
thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you liked the hotel, enjoyed your stay and in particular the convenience by the public transport system to get easy and quick to the city center. The price of 13€ for our Breakfast buffet is well adapted for divers hot and cold dishes and including coffee and juices. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon, yours Grand City Hotel Berlin East.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel this week and honestly, for the money it was fantastic. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the view is great. (We were on the 10th floor) The tram connections are really good,with several stops going in dofferent directions within 200 metres of the hotel. There is a pizza machine on the ground floor which produces surprisingly tasty pizzas in less than 5 minutes!
All in all, a really good base to explore the wonderful city of Berlin from.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cowlamprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Traveller,
thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor
We hope you spent a good time at Grand City Hotel Berlin East.
We are looking forward to welcomming you soon again.

greetings
Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

In comparison to the other places I stayed at throughout Europe this was a bit of a let down.
Although the hotel was clean and tidy and the service was good, also the location was fairly good for us.
I couldn't help but feel that the rooms were average and no breakfast included like most other deals on the market.
Overall it was a nice place but there are just better deals out there.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocoleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Manager at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Traveller
thank you for your feedback.
We hope you spent a good time here in Berlin.
We are looking forward to welcomming you soon again.

Greetings

Grand City Hotel East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very basic facilities, never for a 4 star hotel. They have two buildings together. I guess mine was the bad one. I guess the rooms are better in the main building.

Instalaciones deficientes, impropias en un hotel de 4 estrellas. Son dos edificios. Entiendo que me tocó el malo.

Room Tip: If you are offered a superior room for some more money, take it. Si os ofrecen la habitación super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pallarego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Coordinator at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013
Google Translation

Querido Pallarego,
herzlichen Dank für die Bewertung bei Trip Advisor. Das Grand City Hotel Berlin East ist ein von der DEHOGA(Deutscher Hotel und Gaststättenverband) ausgezeichnetes 4 Sterne Haus. Das heißt, dass wir über alle Standards der deutschen Hotelklassifikation für ein First Class Hotel verfügen. Gäste zu haben birgt immer auch den Wunsch, dass der Aufenthalt so angenehm wie nur möglich verläuft. Wir würden uns sehr freuen Sie erneut bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen, um Sie von uns zu überzeugen.

Ihr Grand City Hotel Berlin East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend in Berlin.

It was a little far out of the centre, however, the tram was only about 300m away and a 15 minute ride into the centre was very easy to negotiate.

The room we had was very nice, clean and comfortable, the breakfast was good and would recommend this hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Junior Sales Coordinator at City Hotel Berlin East, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hi Dilys,
Thank you for being our guest and the great comment on Trip Advisor.
We are really happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Your Grand City Hotel Berlin East.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#349 of 634 in Berlin
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lichtenberg
Holiday Inn Berlin City East
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#361 of 634 in Berlin
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Berlin East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Berlin East

Address: Landsberger Allee 203, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $50 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Berlin East 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cultural and sporting capital with a unique lifestyle at this 3-star Berlin hotel. Whether as a tourist or business traveller, the city has something to offer everyone. The Grand City Hotel Berlin East is centrally located close to Alexanderplatz. For leisure travellers, there are sports courses and sporting and event venues situated nearby, such as the Sportforum, the Velodrome events venue and the Max-Schmeling-Halle. Meals and drinks are served up at the "Landsberger 203" restaurant and the “New Orleans Bar” with Mediterranean and Berlin-style cuisine. A well-equipped gym is available to hotel guests at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Berlin East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing