We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel of HORROR”
Review of 36 Rooms Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
36 Rooms Hostel
Ranked #256 of 359 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is by far the worst hostel that exists in Europe. We came back after an enjoyable evening in the city to a room FILLED with WASPS! When consulting reception they refused to go up there for 'fear of their lives' and did not provide a soloution. We ended up spraying deodorant and hairspray in our room until 6am in the morning trying any method to kill the wasps. We were all stung at least once and ended up sleeping on the disgusting old sofas in the living room before promptly leaving and cancelling all remaining nights. In addition to insect infestation we encountered excrement stains on 'clean' rented bedsheets and got up to our room to discover our room had not been touched since last checkout with pubic hair all over the beds. Bathrooms disgusting and really noisy. AWFUL DO NOT GO HERE.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 164 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

A great place for travelers who want to save money. Located in the heart of Kreuzberg where everybody wants to be. Nice vegetarian and ecological food-places located around the hostel. Very close to the U-bahn. Not the cleanest place, and some toilets doesn't have seats, but for comfortable travelers with light packing it's ideal. Simple rooms, nice beds, clean kitchen (depending on the guests), and security lockers in the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monsterbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Basic but brilliant hostel for the cost!! Lot off bad reviews about this clas but its not true!! The location isn't bad aswel with u the U-barn just aroud the corner and take 5mins to get to centre off Berlin!! Overall good hostel would stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Semen in our walls, insects on our beds, room lockers with opened alcohol bottles, rat poop, sucky attention did not refund us anything even though we cancelled

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lebismut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Came super late, but they were very nice and welcoming at reception.
Low prices, clean rooms, free Wifi, cheap beer, and good company all night long.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Located around all sorts of bars and restaurants, and very close to the U Bahn. The staff was friendly, not very accommodating as we couldn't check in one hour early. There is about 4-6 floors, which sucks for luggage as there is no elevator. The bathrooms and the rooms were good, the view from our room on one of the top floors was excellent. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegJCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Good points: close to the main road with bars & restaurants on, nice bathrooms and easy access to the U-Bahn
Bad points: bed matresses were pretty daggy and people behind reception didn't seem to have a clue what was going on.

Room Tip: Not sure, think they are all the same, all bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#6 of 359 in Berlin
947 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#4 of 359 in Berlin
409 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Rooms Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Rooms Hostel

Address: Spreewaldplatz 8 | Kreuzberg, 10999 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 359 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $21 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 36 Rooms Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing