We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Finally - a big, yummy salad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oliv Cafe

Oliv Cafe
Ranked #38 of 229 Coffee & Tea in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Finally - a big, yummy salad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

During my 2 weeks in Berlin, I ate here a few times. Both at brunch and lunch.

Being gluten intolerant I eat a fair amount of salads... finding a filling and tasty salad in Germany was proving to be slightly challenging, even in Berlin! I was stoked when I this salad arrived! While the salad was fairly simple according to West Coast North American standards (no cheese, salmon/prawns, almonds etc,) it was super fresh and delicious. It consisted of butter & iceberg lettuce, arugula, sunflower seeds all tossed in a simple and flavourful vinaigrette dressing.

It did come with bread... which looked hearty and fresh so it could be suitable for someone with a heftier appetite then mine. The salad was enough to fill me up.

As for the breakfast we had on another visit: they were very accommodating and willing to make substitutions to create a gluten free meal for me.

They pull a fantastic shot of espresso and the fresh orange juice is delightful!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ubliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    55
    13
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe in the Mitte area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Great spot to stop in the culturally hip area of Mitte for a cup of tea and pastry. My waitress was incredibly nice, helped me find a spot during their busiest time and also helped me pick a pastry (I got a delicious slice of their house-made strawberry streusel). The cafe itself is really nice with comfy chairs, ample people-watching opportunities and interesting decor. Highly recommended cafe!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaffronGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

i was having breakfast in this amazing place. i had the best salad in germany and the best chocolate cake. il suggest to everyone that is in berlin

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TobeyUlisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“great for a Bircher muesli!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Good for breakfast; everything is very healthy and wholesome. Pretentious and overpriced, some people say.. Perhaps (the freshly squeezed orange juice is in a tiny glass but still costs 4 euros), but the atmosphere of the whole area surrounding Oliv is all about cool and hip, and Oliv fits in nicely. I recommend the bircher muesli, and the Quark with compote (translated badly in the menu as cottage cheese.... Quark is not cottage cheese, more similar to fromage frais). They have soups and quiches and sandwiches but unfortunately we did not try these.
Bircher muesli, 4.20 euros. Quark with compote, 3.80 euros. Orange juice, 4 euros. Yes, I would have liked bigger portions but oh well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The first cafe in the world to exactly match the decor to the food, minimalist.

Refer to the pic of my omlette and salami, i thought it was a joke, or i had woken up on a budget flight and was having breakfast.

I had to then order more food, muesli fruit and yoghurt, again the smallest portions in germany!

So expensive, 15 euros for these tiny breakfasts, tea and coffee, so as the cash in my wallet diminished along with my waist line i gave up.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliv Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Oliv Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing