We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #102 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh Lancs
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed in an apt last weekend for the Berlin half marathon. Expensive but value for money. We were on the side but as other reviewers have commentated, it could be noisy due to the tram, road. However I expected this due to the city center location.

Also really pleased that although the staff recognised straight away that I was English, they quite happily let me speak German to them. This was great as sometimes when I visit Germany, I do wonder why I have spent 10 years learning the language.

One tip however - for those guests in the apartments, some idea of where to find Lidl,Rewe etc would be good. tried to find on my phone but struggled and kept having to buy food in the Hauptbahnhof

Well done, einfach klasse, super toll :)

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the side if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutty1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Nutty1976,

Thank you for your kind feedback - we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that you struggeled finding a supermarket - there is a one just around the corner. Please feel free to ask our staff during your next stay, we are always happy to assist you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    602
    139
    36
    22
See reviews for
225
571
94
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Amano Hotel was recommended to me by a local Berliner as being good "preis/leistungsverhaeltnis".
It's in a great location, with a number of really good cafes, restaurants and bars in walking distance. The hotel itself has a minimalist style (which I really liked), very friendly and helpful staff, with the highlight being the Amano Bar, which attracted a really vibrant crowd on the evenings we were there (Thursday, Friday, Saturday).
The rooms were comfortable without being luxurious.
Ideally located for a week-end visit to Berlin.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdLibitum4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear AdLibitum,

Thank you for your kind feedback - I am happy to hear your positive impression and experience at our property. We hope to welcome you soon again.

All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast England
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a modern, clean and efficiently run hotel. We pre-paid for our rooms which included breakfast, the price we paid was good value. The breakfast was particularly excellent with plenty to choose from and it was kept well stocked, clean and tidy. The lobby area feels classy, spacious with plenty of seating. Some of the standard rooms are smaller than others, the smaller sized room seems a similar size to an outside double room on a cruise ship. The rooms are quite minimal but had everything we needed for a short break. The hotel is well situated for the S+U Bahn's, Trams, Buses and for walking to some of the central attractions. The only negative points I can think of is the smell of smoke around the corridors, the street noise if facing on to the main street and the smaller rooms, none of these bothered me enough to give this hotel a slightly lower rating as the pros outweighed the cons substantially.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJS1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have stayed at the hotel Amano twice. The first time was two years ago. We were two adults and had a standard room which was fine for us. Didn't think it was too small. An average sized European hotel room I would say. The second visit was in February this year and we were travelling with two kids. We booked an XL apartment and it turned out to be excellent. Service was very friendly. Breakfast very good. We also ordered some food from the nearby restaurant Transit. We placed our order at the hotel reception and it was delivered to our apartment very quickly.

Definately recommend XL apartment for families and groups of friends. When travelling as a couple, a standard room is comfortable enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

It is really bad
and worst than the really bad room, is the stuff.
When you get there you might think its good, or at least cool, because the lobby it is, but rooms are worst that in budget hotels.
My first night (during winter) the heat didnt work in my room and they told me there was nothing they could do.....imagine my surprise.
The stuff is not willing to help you, even tough location is good....dont go here! find any other hotel around in this area, dont get full by this trap
Dont go here!
and one more thing, the rooms that are on the street side are incredibly loud, not only because of traffic, but tram is also noisy in berlin!

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Google Translation
Lieber ngoldstein,

es tut mir sehr leid, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns aus den angegebenen Gründen nicht genießen konnten. Ich werde mich mit meinem Team zusammensetzen und erörtern, wie es zu derartigen Herausfoderungen kommen konnte. Hinsichtlich des Zimmers würde ich Ihnen gerne bei Ihrem nächsten Besuch ein Ruhigeres zuweisen und hoffe, dass Sie uns trotz allem noch einmal aufsuchen. Bis dahin von meiner Seite erst einmal die Bitte um Verzeihung.

Herzlichste Grüße

Corinna Schuster
Generaldirektorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel thinking we were getting a lot for our money and we were terribly wrong. We got a super small front located room so noisy and cold that was shameful. We asked the guy on the front desk if we could change to a room with proper heating and less noisy and he said the hotel was completely booked, although we had booked 4 months in advance (and i assume that is time enough for a hotel to try to accomodate passangers in a decent room). So the following morning we had to ask for the manager who quiclky acommodated us in another room with heating and garden view (wasnt it completely booked?) that was as small as the previous one but at least we could have some proper sleep. I dont recommend this hotel at all, from the outside looks super hip but once you arrive your room you understand its not worth what you pay for. The location is perfect though, so I would look up for something better in that same area. In fact theres a "easy hotel" round the corner that is way cheaper and has the same mini-uncomfortable-rooms that amano has.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memilandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Memilandia,

First of all, thank you for your feedback.
I am very sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay with us.
I apologize for the misscommunication at the front desk so
you were not able to move your room which you were not happy with.
I will talk tony team to ensure that this does not happen again.
Apart from the challenges you experienced I hope to be able to welcome you once again at our hotel.

All the best,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa rosa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

we have stayied 4 days. good position for arriving i n the city centre by feet or by subway. the room are very nice. the beakfast very reach and good. all the persons that work here are very kind. a special thanka for Martin, the barman of the Amano bar, kind e very good mixologist. if we retuen to berlin,we wiil surely return here. good work guys!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebarman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinna S, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear barman 78,

Thank you for you kind words and positive feedback on our hotel as well as on Martin's service.
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed you stay and I am looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best wises,

Corinna Schuster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#50 of 634 in Berlin
563 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#12 of 634 in Berlin
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,744 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#74 of 634 in Berlin
466 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Property: Hotel AMANO
Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing