We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #90 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great hotel in an excellent location”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

6 of us recently stayed at the Amano Hotel in Berlin. The rooms were exactly as the Lonely Planet described them - 'a case study in efficiency'. There was everything you needed in the small but perfectly formed and more than adequate rooms, ideal for a long weekend. The breakfast was really excellent with a wide choice catering for all needs. The hotel is not only ideally situated for easy access to all the main attractions whether by foot or on the excellent (once you have worked out how it works!) public transport system but also the road opposite has a really wide choice of restaurants. We had some wonderful meals but beware a very high percentage of the restaurants do NOT take credit cards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    574
    125
    30
    19
See reviews for
205
538
87
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed at the Amano with a friend on my first trip to Berlin. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of many sights and museums, as well as very near to efficient public transport links. Inside, it is modern, clean and very attractive. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful with directors and suggestions. We had breakfast there every morning and couldn't want for more choice wise - the best hotel buffet I'd had in a while. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

we stayed 8 nights in Amano hotel. The suite in the so called "old part" of the hotel was very spacious, modern and quiet and a very good burgain for 140E a night. the staff is so friendly that we felt like leaving a family. Breakfast is excellent though quite expensive (15E per person). The bar is vibrant and joyful but beware- it's a paradise for smokers. And finally the location-right in the middle of the Mitte and no more then 250M away from 3 U-ban stations.In one word-perfect!

Room Tip: room 613 and probably the others in the old part are very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gidi1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Yorks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have just stayed for three nights at the Hotel and agree with previous reviews .We were given an apartment which was very spacious/modern - couldn't beleive it when we opened the door.The staff were very helpful with any questions we asked.The breakfast was very good only minus at busy times you may struggle for a table.Excellent location could walk to many places or subway close by to get to other parts of Berlin.We also went to the Sisal resturant close by which was very good

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N_YorksRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance of many interesting places, restaurants and cafes, close to public transport, The M apartments are spacious and comfortable. We stayed at this hotel since it opened, and have always been happy. The breakfast is varied and generous, the staff are friendly, go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosima22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is very modern and the room we stayed was really nice with all the usual things you would expect at a sleek city hotel! Its a great location to see the sights of berlin, its close to subway stations which is very handy. Good value for money!

There are lots of nice cafe's and coffee shops close by where you can sit outside or dine in.

Its also in walking distance to bars and restaurants.

I would recommend the open top bus tour its a cheap way to see the sights and you can just hop on and hop off all day!

The hotel has a really nice bar which do amazing cocktails a perfect way to start the evening!

We had a great City break here and would really recommend this Hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I recently had business in the Mitte area of Berlin. My client recommended the Amano hotel. It turned out to be PERFECT for me.

The front desk was very courteous and helpful on several occasions, which was helpful for several of my requests. Always nice to have a warm and helpful person on the other side of the desk!

The Hotel is located very close to trams and the subway if needed (I did not) and is in a quiet corner of Rosenthalerstrasse. There were several cafes and eateries along this street as well as places to get quick (and good) coffee/bakery goods. Cabs were easily and quickly ordered when I needed one.

The room was comfortable for one person and ideal for the short-term business/vacation traveler. The shower is in the room with a glass door, so two people might find it uncomfortable (toilet is in a closed separate area). There is a work desk with a tea kettle and outlet, which worked great for me. The bed was a double, comfortable for two if needed (again I was alone). The closet space is limited, and their is an in-room safe (on a higher shelf, but not out-of-the-way).
Amenities were OK... didn't have shampoo, which was strange (I did get a bottle from the front desk, but I didn't inquire further as to why I had to request it). If you needed it, there was a blow dryer in the room. BTW- the shower was sealed in by that glass door so NO humid/steam escaped which is a nice thing.. hate having steam spill over into the rest of the room.

The décor is modern and very "square" style (pillows were square, which didn't bother me a bit). TV was a bit small, but OK.... only English channels were news (BBC, CNN, Bloombergs, and France 24), but that's to be expected, I gather... would have been nice to find one/two English speaking (subtitled?) entertainment stations. Having free WiFi that actually worked well was a great plus.

I was their for work, so I was up early and out all day. It was a comfortable room to return to in order to review and unwind. It was very quiet, which was a help (double glazed windows I believe).

When I arrived I wanted to see a slightly bigger apartment, which was available for a higher cost (I think 20 EUROS more a day... desk can quote that), which was tempting... had a living room area and a kitchenette, which might have been handy (I did bring some of my own food due to dietary issues)... I decided to stick to the budget and declined... but you should know it's available and quiet clean and attractive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCL613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#59 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
#80 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#76 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#58 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Property: Hotel AMANO
Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing