We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend Amano”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #106 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had an excellent stay in Amano. Very nice and helpfull staff. Breakfast was very good and the hotel was near Heackische Hofe so very close to the centre. Nice bar downstairs and at the rooftop. Only neagtive point was the noise at night we had a room just above the entrance. witk kind regards H. Pouw

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank henkp478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Henk P,
Thank you that you have taken the time for the assessment. I am pleased with the positive feedback.. But also criticism is important and helps us to improve. I hope to be able to greet you soon again in the AMANO.
Kind regards
Corinna Schuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
There are newer reviews for Hotel AMANO
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

NOISY PLACE!!!

To make things clear and honest, it is not just my personal opinion but mine PLUS a bunch of colleagues opinion: If you stay here for a romantic journey or for work, then you're wrong. If you stay here for party, you're right.
I was there for work (booked by my contractor):

- First night in march: huge party in a room on my floor, neighbors went to ask to shut down.
Then I went back in May/june 2013.
- Floor 2 (east side) is up to the ground floor bar, very noisy. Colleagues have asked to change room because of the ambient noise from the bar.
- Floor 5 is under the terrace: terrace bar client's HAVE to take the hotel room's corridor from the elevator to the terrace, which makes inevitable movement from noisy and drunk people… the building architect really meant to mix people SLEEPING with people PARTYING…

- Soundproofing has totally failed for a new hotel: from 6 or 7 am you can hear from you're bed:
- doors being opened and shut
- elevator's bell
- the staff knocking and saying "house keeping" to every room of your corridor
- and last but not least: the MUSIC from the corridor's speakers… yeah, they play music in the whole hotel next to the room.

- I stayed for a long moment (3 weeks), the cleaning staff just did not add toilet paper to the bathroom. Imagine how pleasant it is to have to ask at least 2 times at the reception for toilet paper.

Good:
- design… even if the furniture are Ikea-like, it's OK.
- breakfast is good too.
- people at the entrance reception are polite and friendly

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antoine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hello Antoine M,
thank you very much for the detailed assessment of your stay in the AMANO. It is a pity that you not well felt with us. Lonstay stay cleaning is discussed in advance and also the number of cleaning - this is apparently something went wrong in your case. It was only one cleaning per week. The AMANO has a night Porter - heis responsible for the security in the hotel and also for other problems, such as volume down from another room. Have they informed him? He would have provided for rest. Our roof terrace, where the eclectic atmosphere can be enjoyed on warm Berlin summerdays after the hustle and bustle of the city, provides a special view of the roofs of Berlin. Our guests like it!
I apologize sincerely for the inconvenience. It is a pity that you retain the AMANO in memory!
Kind regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Amano is a great place to stay. It has a good location, good value, although some weekend days can be 2x more expensive due to some big event like a football match. The room was very clean, bathroom was big and the room had very good noise-cancelling windows. I didn't use the breakfast room (it was somewhat pricy), but the main bar had excellent drinks, service, music and crowd. Everyone at the service desk was pleasant and helpful and they replied to e-mails before the trip right away. Oh, and there is a FREE Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuropeanInUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear EuropeanInUSA,
thank you for the great review. My Team and I look forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel was in a good location with U-Bahn, S-Bahn & Tram all close enough to use. Also close to plenty of restuarants. You could actually walk to many of the Berlin sights from here if you wanted to.
The room was large, smart & clean though the furniture was sparse.
Breakfast had good & plentiful choices.
Take a kettle if you like a cuppa in your room. There is a handy grocers over the road too.
The staff were extremely pleasant and always helpful.
We stayed 7 nights & would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Marlene M,
thank you for the time you have put into the review and of course, that you were our guest!
Nice if you have enjoyed the time with us. I hope to welcome you soon in the AMANO.
Kind regards from Berlin,
Corinna Schuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The foyer buzzed with energy; the room was very good; the shower large and warm; the breakfast was first class; the staff were great and location, location, location.

This is a very stylish but understated hotel in the heart of Mitte and close to good public transport and great walks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoamingSlowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Hello RoamingSlowly,
Thank you for being our guest! Nice that you like it. My team and I look forward to your next visit at the AMANO
With best recards,
Corinna Schuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location right in the heart of Mitte and surrounded by great restaurants and bars. The standard room (which we booked) was cheap but incredibly small. Kind of like an ikea kit set room. The hotel facilities though are lovely, especially the bar in the foyer (which is smoke free) and the breakfast room. The main bar which is clearly very hip and happening was always packed and we did venture in one night only to be completely overwhelmed by the cigarette smoke. Thats said if you are a smoker you will probably not be bothered and it did seem to be a very cool scene.

Not sure we would stay again. It was quite nice but not the best 4 star hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BronwynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear BronwynS,
Thank you for the review. It is a pity that you probably have felt not so with us. The AMANO is a 3 star hotel but we try to offer our guests more... We have established another BAR in the lobby so that even non-smoker have a drink with us. Perhaps you will come to us again? Book an apartment, this is greater.
Kind regards
Corinna Schuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

modern boutique hotel. Breakfast was very good, free Internet worked perfectly in room and lobby. Make sure to ask about the room shower setting if you are sharing the room with someone you don't know well.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Hegidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Hegidio,
thank you for the review of your stay with us. For your next stay, I recommend a room with a closed bathroom. The AMANO offers both. If we get the information in advance - no problem!
Hopefulle seeing you soon!
Kind regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#54 of 635 in Berlin
604 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#9 of 635 in Berlin
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#83 of 635 in Berlin
481 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 635 in Berlin
993 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $88 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing