We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exellent hotel in exellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #61 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Exellent hotel in exellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, with superb location. The auguststrasse soon became our Berlin favourite. Rented a XL apartment which was clean, spacious, quiet and overall very nice. The nespresso-machine was a nice addition, buy capsules in the vending machine or bring your own. Also, the apartments on the 5th floor has (narrow) balconies. Overall friendly staff, some are more professional than others, but all where more than satisfactory. We will stay here on our next trip also, no doubt.

Helpful?
Thank Runar M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Runar M,
thank you that you was our guests. It is a pleasure to read your impressions. I am glad to welcome you again with us.
Kind regards from Berlin
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    486
    92
    23
    12
See reviews for
170
444
76
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rotterdam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is situated between Mitte and Prenzlauerberg close to Hackeche Hofe. Great location close to nice bars, restaurants and shops. Hotel is clean, staff is friendly. Breakfast is excellent (and free for children <13 yr).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello dinovitch,
Thanks for the time that you have put into writing the review and that you was our guest! Hopefully seeing you soon.
Best regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komotini, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very cozy, excellent breakfast, professional staff nice atmosphere
Nice location, which is not in the centre but well connected via public transportation.
I strongly recommend the trip advisor walking tour of the Wall. The starting point is less than a km north of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIKOS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear nikos1976,
Thanks for the great assessment. I am pleased that you have enjoyed staying in the AMANO. and to welcome you back soon. My team and I look forward to your next stay with us.
With my best regards
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I took my partner here for his 40th birthday and we got a great deal on olotels.com.
We go often to berlin and normally stay in prenzlau berg but since we were just going for three nights this place was central and ideal. The place was beautiful as were the rooms and the breakfast (and breakfast room) was great too. Amazing choice and sets you up for a day of pounding the streets. It was January and snowy and freezing outside but the bars and cafes around this place were warm and friendly too. I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the TV tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Edisred,
Hello, many thanks for your feedback! Nicely the fact that you have felt fine here and had a great time. Hope to see you soon!
Best regards from Berlin
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with a group of friends in November. Was in a great location about 10 minute walk from Alexanderplatz and not much more to Museum Island. The rooms were great with powerful shower and all the mod cons you need. Even though it's on a busy road you couldn't hear the traffic. Breakfast was plentiful and a good selection. The public area's are modern and clean and the area around the hotel is fine. A few bars and restaurants but only a short walk to find area's where there are plenty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Pompey1,
thanks for the great review! My team and I are looking forward to your next stay.
Greetings from the AMANO,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the Amano on business trip and my concern was to find a place as close as possible to offices I was supposed to go to.
Turned out to be one of the nicest places I've ever been to.
The room was just perfect. Great lighting, comfortable bed, big and clean bathroom and a nice cozy "living room".

If you like stylish, modern and good looking hotels, this is the one for you.
Great location, nice staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Federica F,
wow thank you for your nice feedback! Many thanks. That makes me very happy. I will pass on this review to my team with pleasure. We are looking forward to your next stay at the AMANO.
best regards from Berlin,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I like the hotels and staffs overall except their front desk staffs. I booked online from orbitz and on the day I checked in, I showed them the confirmation email letter (print out) but the staff insisted its not a voucher (its ... If she read the content of it)....she didn't bother to read the content ... got my paper ... Let me in ... So I thought it should be fine.

Then today when I checked out, another staff asked me if I have the voucher ....
This is ridiculously funny.... I don't know what else to show them other than that paper ... And obviously their system needs more improvement or the staffs need more training.... . Need to mention ... They had my name in their computer already ..

I say thank you when I am helped but I can not smile to you when you are rude to me.. U r in service industry , not me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uske823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear uske823,
First of all, I am grateful that you was our guest. At the same time I apologies for the inconvenience! Please be sure that this is not our desire to dealing thus with our guests. Maybe I can welcome you again with us and prove you that we can do that better?!
Kind regards
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#52 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
#103 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#8 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#7 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#73 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#4 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Property: Hotel AMANO
Address: Auguststrasse 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing