We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hosts”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #92 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cork,
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The perfect hosts”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel was picked almost by accident some time ago but what a treasure find it turned out to be. The welcome, the helpfulness, the efforts they made to ensure we were happy and looked after were truly amazing. I will certainly return there if I am in Berlin again in the future.

Room Tip: I was over the street and never heard a thing so I suspect all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Tony C,
Thank you for the great feedback! We look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards from Berlin,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    574
    125
    30
    19
See reviews for
202
537
87
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just spent three nights in this hotel. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport. It is modern and well decorated. The rooms are very clean and very tastefully decorated. The breakfast provided a very good range of foods. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for your stay in Berlin.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bath and shower so if you prefer a soak in the bath ask for one of these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrashoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sandrashoes,
Thank you, that you was our guest. Nice that you enjoyed your stay with us and you have found time for the assessment. Thank you very much! My team and I look forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Great value for the money. Nice, clean rooms although my room was very small and only had a shower and no tub. Originally they had put me in a room that was a bit larger, but I asked to be moved to a quieter room not near the elevator so I could get some sleep. The staff was friendly and provided some great recommendations for dinner. The breakfast had a good variety and the bar and lobby were trendy. I loved that the hotel was dog friendly. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2travelis2live_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello 2travelis2live_12,
I thank you for the review and that you have visited the AMANO. We have several room types. Some have a shower, some a bathtub, some are larger and have 2 rooms. Maybe you come back to Berlin and then try a larger room with bath? I would be happy.
Kind regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Superb value for money in a classy hotel with various tariffs to suit all budgets. We had a standard double and were impressed with the clean, functional and comfortable facilities. There was a huge choice at breakfast including bacon, egg and delicious little meatballs, as well as continental selection. There are numerous excellent bars and restaurants in Rosenthaler strasse and platz and with trains, trams and buses on the doorstep it is easy to get to anywhere in the city, especially if you have the good sense to purchase one of Berlin's best bargains - The Berlin Welcome Card, which gives you unlimited travel and some great discounts on attractions, food and drink etc. We won't be looking beyond the Amano on our next trip to Berlin.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want an integral shower or traditional bathroom. Second floor was blissfully qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safc73Sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear safc73Sunderland,
Wow, thank you for the great feedback! am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. With pleasure I pass on the assessment to my team. Such review is motivating and shows that we are on the right track.
Hopefully see you soon.
Kind regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed her for one night just recently, and the room was great! Friendly service, lovely bed, a compact but well designed room which was very clean, had a good desk to work on and an excellent shower.
Breakfast was good too, though they were a bit quick with removing plates/cups; I went to the bar to get some orange juice and just put my freshly made tea down, which before I know it was swiftly removed by one of the waiters:)
That didn't detract from an excellent overall stay; the interior is lovely too and the hotel is remarkably affordable.
I would stay there again in a heartbeat...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgetheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear georgetheman ,
thank you for the review of your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay tin the AMANO and to read that you would visit us again, despite the small blunder. We work constantly further on ourselves. Perhaps we can prove to you that during your next stay!
Kind regards from AMANO
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very clean and nice room. Exellent service. They do not have a restaurant so I ordered from the lobby for lunch once and quite late another day some food from a neighbourhood Thai restaurant. Wonderful and to my greatest suppriseit took only 15 minutes and the food was there to a nice price.

Exelent bar in the lobby area and the breakfast very good. I could seen that I missed anything. I got a big can of coffy free to take with me to the hotel.

The hotel is central in the former East Berlin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halfdan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear halfdan t,
thank you very much, that tyou was our guest and for the great assessment. Nice, that you like the AMANO. Hopefully seeing you soon!
Kind regards from Berlin,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is great value for money! Excellent location; cool new hotel without being too cool! Be aware of the smoky bar next to the lobby though. The neighbourhood is really cool, you can easily walk to good shopping areas. Next to the hotel is also the cool restaurant Transit. Loads of cool small cafés and bars around - don't worry about finding good food - it's everywhere!!

Room Tip: Don't worry about noise from the road, but ask for queen or king bed - not the stupid twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans Fredrik B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Hans Fredrik B B,
Thank you for the assessment of staying with us at the AMANO. Nice that you like the style and design. We have built a non-smoking bar in the lobby next to the smoking bar. So we can satisfy all. Hopefully seeing you soon at AMANO.
Kind regards from Berlin,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#61 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
#82 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#11 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#81 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#59 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Property: Hotel AMANO
Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing