We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant business hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #78 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Tønsberg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant business hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Located just in the vicinity of Rosenthaler Platz, Hackescher Markt and Rosa Luxemburg Platz stations, The Amano is convenient for getting around in Berlin. Perhaps a litte unpersonal, but there is really very little to complain about. Though being quite pricey for what you get, this is a modern, well equipped hotel with restaurant and 24h reception, The rooms are of modeate size, and the desk space is limited for working. During my stay, the WiFi signal was lost, and the staff could not help for several days.I was not offered any compensation for this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toralfsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Toralfsan,
first many thanks for your review! I am very sorry for the non-functioning WiFi. Meanwhile we fixed the problem! You can be sure, we are able to do it better and would like to prove it to you with pleasure! You may even like to give me and my team the opportunity to establish this at you next accommodation in the AMANO?
Best regards from Berlin,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    550
    114
    28
    18
See reviews for
196
514
83
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wallisellen, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

very wide spread variety of guest, I like that.
Pros: nice design, nice rooms, cool bar, situated in the heart of the city. Rich breakfast. Fast laundry (same day back). Kitchen in the apartment. Mine was very quit situated to the cemetery :) Frienly staff.
Cons: when its crowded it has some bottlenecks: queues in front of the elevator and queues waiting for a seat in the breakfast room. Room service restricted to drinks: breakfast in the room - not possible.
Staff is very young sometimes little lack of experience.
At late evening the whole entrance/lounge area is full of smoke from the bar.

For the price it's nice and recommendable.

Room Tip: Rooms to the cemetary are quieter :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello Markus,
Thank you very much for your feedback! I am pleased you like AMANO and I am looking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards from Berlin,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent a weekend in Berlin and with a city with so much accomodation it's tough to know where to stay. The Amano is very welcoming and comfortable. Breakfast is always an important start to the day and the buffet offered will fill you up in relaxing surroundings.
Note all reviews not the one upset guest, I can only think he must have upset them! All who work in hotel are very friendly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PT1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear PT1967
I thank you very much for your great feedback and hope to see you soon in AMANO!
With best regards
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights with a couple of friends early October, we had a room each.

Feel that we got a reasonable deal, we had breakfast, that was included in our deal, and was good, the only downside being that it was so busy, if you like to get up and start the day with a nice relaxed breakfast, you are unlikely to do so here, sometimes you are signed in, sometimes not, and on one day, we were walking around with our food in desparation of somewhere to sit, the done thing here seems to be to gatecrash any table that you can!

All staff were pleasent, and the hotel was modern, and clean, the rooms are indeed minimalistic, but serve their purpose, my view over the back of a building site, and the graveyard, was not the best!

The bar is a nice place for a drink early in the evening, but expensive, and later on, it is very popular, and with very loud music, aimed mainly at the younger generation, will pulsate into the early hours.

The hotel is in a very good location, and I must admit, was chosen for that very reason, the German transport system is wonderful, and you will be able to get to all locations by tram or train, without any problem, we paid around €17 for a two day pass that allows you to use all modes of transport ( I think).

I would certainly stay here again without hesitation, but the downsides would be the overcrowded breakfast, and smokey, loud late bar, although you can also drink in the lobby bar area, overall though, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room not above the bar if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Martin C,
First of all I would like to thank you for time to voice your opinion! I am pleased that you have had a good stay with us. Thank you for your criticism concerning breakfast. Sometimes, all guests want to have breakfast at the same time, we have problems with the space…I am really apologies for this fact – we are searching for a solution. Despite this matter, I hope to welcome you again in AMANO.
Best regards from Berlin
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely hotel. Very clean and staff very friendly. Just back from a 4day break for our silver wedding. Took us approximately 1hr 10mins from the airport to the hotel - 2 trains....S45 to Hermanstrasse and U8 to Rosenthaler Platz with less than 5 min walk to the hotel. When we arrived, the reception staff were very helpful and we were given a drinks voucher and some chocolate with a lovely personal note in our room congratulating us on our anniversary. A lovey kind touch. The room was spotless although as mentioned in previous reviews, the shower is right in the room and not within the bathroom area so could be a problem for some! Beds are very comfy and we asked for an extra pillow.

The rooftop bar was not open when we were there although a few people were up there sitting having a chat. We went on the open top bus for 2 days who h got us around the area. The underground and trains are superb so you will have no problems getting to the main visitor attractions. Cocktails are very expensive as is breakfast at 15 euros although I heard that it was worth the cost. On the last day, we asked if we could have a cup of tea while we waited in the lounge before heading for the airport. We were allowed to help ourselves from the breakfast buffet at no cost. All in all, a lovely hotel, rooms cleaned every day and nothing too much bother for the staff. Oh, the bar is open late at night although if you want to read a book or map in the lounge at night, you may struggle as the lighting is very dull.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are further up from floor 3 or above. Just email and ask hotel and they will gladly help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello happybaes,
Many thanks for the comments! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in AMANO and would be pleased to seeing you again soon!
Kind regards from AMANO
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The fact that the WIFI was not working for our first 24 hours makes it just almost perfect.
It has a great location, modern feel and look, very clean, rooms has all you need, excellent breakfast, very good bar, nice roof terrace, convenient lobby, WIFI everywhere, football and ping pong table in the garden, very friendly staff that can sell you even tickets for the U,S-Bahn, or You can rent bicycles.
All that for a good price.

Room Tip: If you are a family, or a group of 3, try to get the corner apartment on the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Nir1703,
I thank you quite warmly for the great feedback and the time which you have used for this.
It is great that your stay was comfortable. I apologize for the fact that Wifi did not working. But this problem was solved quickly.
I am glad about your next stay with us!
Best regards
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although we were there for 1 day and hardly in the room, I really liked the clean and minimalist look of the room as well as the lobby area. The staff were friendly and attentive. Also liked the central location of the hotel (one of the reasons for picking this hotel) which made walking to destinations easy and the fact that Berlin is relatively flat helped as well. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone going to Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ticktok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Ticktok,
Many thanks for the review of your stay with us! So it's just nice to hear that you like the design of AMANO! I am looking forward to seeing you soon!?
Best regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#71 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
#83 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#88 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Property: Hotel AMANO
Address: Auguststrasse 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing