We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Value”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #107 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights with a couple of friends early October, we had a room each.

Feel that we got a reasonable deal, we had breakfast, that was included in our deal, and was good, the only downside being that it was so busy, if you like to get up and start the day with a nice relaxed breakfast, you are unlikely to do so here, sometimes you are signed in, sometimes not, and on one day, we were walking around with our food in desparation of somewhere to sit, the done thing here seems to be to gatecrash any table that you can!

All staff were pleasent, and the hotel was modern, and clean, the rooms are indeed minimalistic, but serve their purpose, my view over the back of a building site, and the graveyard, was not the best!

The bar is a nice place for a drink early in the evening, but expensive, and later on, it is very popular, and with very loud music, aimed mainly at the younger generation, will pulsate into the early hours.

The hotel is in a very good location, and I must admit, was chosen for that very reason, the German transport system is wonderful, and you will be able to get to all locations by tram or train, without any problem, we paid around €17 for a two day pass that allows you to use all modes of transport ( I think).

I would certainly stay here again without hesitation, but the downsides would be the overcrowded breakfast, and smokey, loud late bar, although you can also drink in the lobby bar area, overall though, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room not above the bar if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Martin C,
First of all I would like to thank you for time to voice your opinion! I am pleased that you have had a good stay with us. Thank you for your criticism concerning breakfast. Sometimes, all guests want to have breakfast at the same time, we have problems with the space…I am really apologies for this fact – we are searching for a solution. Despite this matter, I hope to welcome you again in AMANO.
Best regards from Berlin
Corinna Schuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,563)
There are newer reviews for Hotel AMANO
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely hotel. Very clean and staff very friendly. Just back from a 4day break for our silver wedding. Took us approximately 1hr 10mins from the airport to the hotel - 2 trains....S45 to Hermanstrasse and U8 to Rosenthaler Platz with less than 5 min walk to the hotel. When we arrived, the reception staff were very helpful and we were given a drinks voucher and some chocolate with a lovely personal note in our room congratulating us on our anniversary. A lovey kind touch. The room was spotless although as mentioned in previous reviews, the shower is right in the room and not within the bathroom area so could be a problem for some! Beds are very comfy and we asked for an extra pillow.

The rooftop bar was not open when we were there although a few people were up there sitting having a chat. We went on the open top bus for 2 days who h got us around the area. The underground and trains are superb so you will have no problems getting to the main visitor attractions. Cocktails are very expensive as is breakfast at 15 euros although I heard that it was worth the cost. On the last day, we asked if we could have a cup of tea while we waited in the lounge before heading for the airport. We were allowed to help ourselves from the breakfast buffet at no cost. All in all, a lovely hotel, rooms cleaned every day and nothing too much bother for the staff. Oh, the bar is open late at night although if you want to read a book or map in the lounge at night, you may struggle as the lighting is very dull.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are further up from floor 3 or above. Just email and ask hotel and they will gladly help...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hello happybaes,
Many thanks for the comments! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in AMANO and would be pleased to seeing you again soon!
Kind regards from AMANO
Corinna Schuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The fact that the WIFI was not working for our first 24 hours makes it just almost perfect.
It has a great location, modern feel and look, very clean, rooms has all you need, excellent breakfast, very good bar, nice roof terrace, convenient lobby, WIFI everywhere, football and ping pong table in the garden, very friendly staff that can sell you even tickets for the U,S-Bahn, or You can rent bicycles.
All that for a good price.

Room Tip: If you are a family, or a group of 3, try to get the corner apartment on the fifth floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nir1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Nir1703,
I thank you quite warmly for the great feedback and the time which you have used for this.
It is great that your stay was comfortable. I apologize for the fact that Wifi did not working. But this problem was solved quickly.
I am glad about your next stay with us!
Best regards
Corinna Schuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although we were there for 1 day and hardly in the room, I really liked the clean and minimalist look of the room as well as the lobby area. The staff were friendly and attentive. Also liked the central location of the hotel (one of the reasons for picking this hotel) which made walking to destinations easy and the fact that Berlin is relatively flat helped as well. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone going to Berlin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ticktok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Ticktok,
Many thanks for the review of your stay with us! So it's just nice to hear that you like the design of AMANO! I am looking forward to seeing you soon!?
Best regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very good location in Berlin, in a quiet and trendy area. Good design of the hotel. Room was large and clean. Nice and friendly crew.
A weak point: breakfast was not as good as the rest of the hotel (very common).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc25Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanoberlin, Manager at Hotel AMANO, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Marc25Paris,
firstly I really appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that you dissatisfied with our breakfast buffet...Maybe you send me an e-mail with the reasons? Thank you in advance!
Warm regards from AMANO,
Corinna Schuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel Amano brings very high standard and quality everywhere. Nice and large rooms with good beds, overall cleanness, good internet connection across whole hotel, great location in the middle of Berlin. Also hotel bar is opened for almost whole night, which may be a good advantage. Generally everything was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JardaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was second time to Amano Hotel, and a much better experience than the first time. Last time the bedroom was miniature and almost impossible to move around the bed, but this time it was fabulous, very comfortable, simple, clean, and a lot more space for the same price. If you are on your own, make sure you ask for a Double ! My only negative comments are the lack of any shampoo, body lotion, cotton wool, etc in the bedroom ...you have to pay at a vending machine to get these 'luxuries'; that the mixed fruit salad at breakfast is tinned rather than fresh. However, I would recommend it highly and it is in a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcr543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#54 of 635 in Berlin
604 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#9 of 635 in Berlin
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#83 of 635 in Berlin
481 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 635 in Berlin
992 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $90 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing