We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Modern Hotel”
Review of Hotel AMANO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel AMANO
Ranked #114 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, in a room overlooking the courtyard. On Saturday night, there was a bit of noise at 5 am, as the nearby bar closed up shop, but otherwise it was quiet. The room itself was quite modern -- small but well arranged. (No coffee service, but that seems to be standard in Germany, unfortunately.) The free wifi worked smoothly with our laptop. Staff was helpful in giving us advice, and selling us day passes for the transit system that really facilitated getting around town. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

Hotel Amano was just as descrbed and seen online. Rooms were small, very clean and had all you required. Garden, rooftop & bar where great! Staff spoke enough english to have basic communication which was fine. Location is fab, walking distance of just about everything! We used the train to get from Airport to Alexanderplatz and Hotel Amano is a 5-10 min walk. Great value for money. Would defo go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breezer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Found the hotel amano in the wallpaper guide to Berlin, it is tucked away in a quiet street in the Mitte district, but well located for getting around. We booked last minute and got a good rate that included breakfast. Room was quiet overlooking an inner courtyard, ultra modern open plan room and bathroom, but had everything you needed. Breakfast was good, nice selection of hot and cold food, coffee mediocre, served up to 11am. Great reception staff, good advice on local transport. Would recommend but not sure if you were paying published tariff.

Room Tip: Check online deals, rates seem to vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The first big plus, I am pretty certain we got a free upgrade from standard double to apartment (since we had indicated we travel with a child and according to their rules on a different booking site, they would provide a free extra bed for kids under 12, I think that's why we got the bigger room)

The whole place and the rooms look great. The location is very convenient. Lots of nice bars and restaurants around.

Look out for staying to close to the ground floor on weekends. Not only can you faintly hear the music from the Amano Bar, you can actually feel the thumb thumb thumb beat through the walls.

We did not opt for breakfast (too expensive), there are some nice bakeries around and even open on Sundays.

The staff was overall above average, the internet connection was not the fastest, but reliable (especiacially after I switched to Ethernet / Business center could use a scanner and a bit more fresh air). As for the rooftop terrrace: 10€ for Caipirinha makes you have only one, but come at the right time and enjoy a fantastic sunset. The Korean BBQ is so so in the garden ... better skip ahead and have 'Asian tapas' at Transit.

I would absolutely come back. (If they fix the curtains, it got too bright in the morning)

Room Tip: Might want to avoid proximity to Amano bar on weekends if you like to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caipirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Just came home from a three-night-stay in Berlin and hotel Amano.
We loved the hotel! Everything was good: a nice, clean hotel located in a perfect place.
The staff was friendly and helpful most of the time. The room was small, but nice and had everything necessary. The breakfast was very good. The roof terrace and garden restaurang (with Korean BBQ) were cosy and nice.
The location was perfect - near subway station and a short walk to Hackescher Markt.
We would definitely choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed here weekend of 1st to 3rd july - a good spot to stay and explore the city. We were hampered by poor weather. But but hotel will let you use an umberella free of charge! Good breakfast but crowded 1st thing as everyone was looking to out to the sights. Good lively bar - but expensive (J D & coke was about £13!) Good clenliness, staff good an helpfull - free internet and able print if needed (forgot my hotel voucher - booked online - so able to get into my emails and send it to thr hotel. Only let down was the rooftop bar - it was there but nobody to serve you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by hotel Amano. We booked a medium sized apartment which was more than enough room for 2 people. Ours had a terrance which was a feature we did not expect but really enjoyed. The staff is reserved but very helpful, and the hotel is minimally decorated but very clean and lovely. Finally, the location was excellent- in the Mitte and close to a lot of great shopping and eating. Next time we go to Berlin, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel MANI
Hotel MANI
#55 of 634 in Berlin
649 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
2,642 reviews
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
554 reviews
Mitte
The Weinmeister
The Weinmeister
#234 of 634 in Berlin
509 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AMANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AMANO

Address: Auguststr. 43 | junction Rosenthaler Strasse, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $81 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AMANO 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMANO is situated in the cultural heart of Berlin, between Rosenthaler Platz and Hackesche Hoefe. The hotel, built in 2009, has 163 rooms and fully serviced apartments designed in a contemporary style with high quality furnishings and parquet flooring. Not just the stylish rooms but also the unique services, featuring bicycle hire, pedestrian navigation systems or iPods offering walking tours, will make your stay in the AMANO a special experience. The AMANO rooftop conference rooms, available in five different sizes and connected by a surrounding roof terrace, will also be of interest to business customers. In addition, the AMANO Bar, situated on the ground floor, is a key venue for Berlin's night life. This is where the art of cocktails is practised to its extreme! In the summer months, the roof terrace with its fantastic view of the Berlin skyline is an inviting place for evening drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel AMANO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing