We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good dining in an art-deco style restaurant.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie Am Gendarmenmarkt

Brasserie Am Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #109 of 8,231 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $43
Cuisines: French, German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very good dining in an art-deco style restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Wandering around the side streets of Gendarmenmarket we found The Brasserie. Thank goodness we were not deterred by 3 or 4 coaches of diners who arrived at the same time, but who were accommodated in a purpose built side room. The well furnished decorations set the tone for a lovely meal with good starters, mains and desserts. The service was excellent. A little expensive but good value for a special occasion in an area which is costly anyway.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    238
    55
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vara, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

A most stylish yet cozy and warm gem of a restaurant. Been several times both for lunch and dinner and was always very pleased with everything. Highly recommended.

Klas Ekström, Sweden.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Klas143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achterveld, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice art-deco-ish place near Gendarmenmarkt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The brasserie is not at the Gendarmenmarkt but in a side street. Extensive menu. Quite nicely decorated restaurant in art-deco style. Brasserie so plenty of people packed on a relatively small area. Good food, we had great starters but main courses (duck, schnitzel) were so-so. Moderately priced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
253 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Effortless German/French dining near the Hilton.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The brasserie is a terrific spot for a well presented meal, literally 1.5 blocks from the Hilton. It is on the less traveled of the two north/south streets which border the gendarmenmarket, so you would probably not notice it in passing. We booked our reservation using the link provided in the Tripadvisor Berlin City Guide iPad app, and it worked perfectly. Our cozy booth was waiting with a reserved sign when we arrived, and our waiter brought English menus without being prompted.

The food was beautifully presented, however the menu was very limited in terms of vegetarian or fish (non shellfish) options. The pumpkin ravioli were enormous and covered with rather too much balsamic. The fish salad was very large and pretty but not special. The lamb and duck, however were perfectly done, like butter, not a scrap of fat. The portions were very large, we could have shared two or three entrees for four adults. The valrhona chocolate mousse was rich and delicious, served with a drunken fig. Coffee was also quite good. The wine by the glass selections were nice and modestly priced. We were not given a by-the-bottle wine list.

Our waiter was perfectly correct, very efficient, with a few flashes of friendly.

We do not hesitate to recommend this restaurant, unless you are a vegetarian, in which case you will be doubling up on drink and dessert. ;-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Completely below expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ordered my steak without sauce ...but it came in a thick crust of some scorched inedible herb. Even after scraping this off the meal was barely edible. As I was with a business client who seemed happy I did not send my meal back - and I can't remember if I ever had to do that . Meal with 2 salads , 2 steaks and a bottle of wine clocked in at over € 160- . I had a Mexican take away the night before in town which was tastier and where the service was friendlier !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank geegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Am Gendarmenmarkt also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Am Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing