We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As spanish - Very nice tapas”
Review of Volver

Volver
Ranked #1,223 of 8,583 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As spanish - Very nice tapas”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Visited this restaurant because my guy was craving from some tapas, missing his time in Spain.
Well it coincided that it was St Valentines and the table was decorated with full of roses' petals and chocolates.
We ordered some tapas. Very good pimientos del padron, tortilla, pinchos and sepias. They served free ali oli sauce and bread.
Dispite the nice tapas, I can say the Catalan ones were very poor, As catalan I can say that pa amb tomaquet was so weird and patatas bravas sauce was not brava sauce but any other kind.

I will you guys aim to improve your catalan tapas :)

The service was really kind and they gave us a free crema catalana heart for desserts. Which I really appreciated!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bmujige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    33
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Volver - tapas restaurant in Mitte, Berlin”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Three of us visited Volver Spanish tapas restaurant on Thurs 19 Sep (one of our party was a local, two of us were visiting from the UK). It was cosy and inviting from first entering, and the Proprietor was welcoming.

Tapas dishes vary in price but are inexpensive, averaging around €5 each (we noted that prices in the menu translated to English were slightly higher than in the menu written in German!). A variety of fresh bread and olives were brought to the table. And – between the three of us – we order a carafe of ‘country’ red wine and:
~ Bacon-wrapped dates with almonds
~ Salted chilli peppers
~ Chicken legs
~ Spanish sausage and cheese plate with toasted bread
~ Chorizo/ whole spicy sausages
~ Pork stew
~ Grilled squid
~ Spanish omelette
~ Stuffed croquettes

Bacon-wrapped dates with almonds were a new tapas dish to me and were absolutely delicious! It was all very good, fresh food and very reasonably priced: the total bill for three, including a tip came to about €70. Also, when asked why the prices were higher on the English menu, the Proprietor said that the English menus were correct, but that he hadn’t had chance to update copies of the German menu yet… (hmmm).

All in all, very good and I'd definitely go back.
For more info (and to see LardButty review) copy + paste this URL into a browser: http://wp.me/pCISV-N9

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LardButty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maccabim-Re'ut, null, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An original piece of Spain in Berlin”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Like many good experiences, we found Volver accidentally while looking for another place highly recommended but empty and not attractive .All the tapas , and we tried mostly the seafood were very good. The Spanish speaking waitress was very efficient and the atmosphere like the best places in Barcelona. The bill was the highest we payed in Berlin but worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sorella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alex and Katie”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great food and wine in an authentic restaurant where we were able to use our Spanish. A lovely 43rd Anniversary evening. Be aware VISA (cash and MASTERCARD) is not accepted. However there is an ATM just 150 yards away.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alxnkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2 on special evening”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were walking in Berlin with my girlfriend till we found Volver in a nice and quite location.
We ordered a salad and a pasta, they came in the right tie and were great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sogaros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volver also viewed

 
 

Been to Volver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing