We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair hotel, interesting set-up, nice atmosphere”
Review of Ima Loft Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ima Loft Apartment
Ranked #101 of 359 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Plus: relaxed staff, industrial elevator, lofty set-up, artsy features, clean room, beautiful courtyard, good atmosphere, good location
Minus: too relaxed staff, no breakfast incl, all furniture from IKEA
Bottom line: I would possibly go again. Try it out!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 73 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

The loft apartments are a good place for people who love old industrial buildings. The inner court yard, which is well away from the main street, offers a peaceful stay; the lofts are small and basic, but modern and clean; linen and basic kitchen ware are provided. The café offers a very varied buffet breakfast for only 5 EUR, and for those who need it, there is free Wifi all over the place. The small studio loft requires a good physical condition, since you need to climb in bed under the ceiling on the mezzanine, but is very cosy. The only downsides were that the fridge in the room didn't work (apart from the built-in freezer), so it was hard to cool drinks; the fact that the loud sounds of late-night party people ricochets off the walls of the inner court yard and wake you up, and that it is a bit off-centre if you want to go back for a rest during the day. The kitchenette only has a microwave (which we didn't use), but the place is located close to two metro stations (Moritzplatz and Kotbusser Tor), with a lot of bars, cafés and restaurants for all kinds of budgets in the surrounding streets. Definitely an original place to stay, if you don't care too much for luxury.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be woken up by late nighters, ask for a room away from the inner court yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Failed to maintain even a quarter of what we were told in advance. The place is dirty, clean is terrible in the cafe. We got an apartment with used kitchen, no one washed there. We opened the holiday with 2 hours of cleaning and it didn't continue better.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a very friendly welcome to IMA. We were given a free room upgrade to a room with a double bed, a comfy sofa style bed, a kitchen and dining table. The apartment was very big and had great views out towards central Berlin.

IMA is located less than 5 mins walk to the underground station and is right next to the bus line that heads past check point CHARLIE. It was a great base for exploring Berlin. It is also really close to Oranienstrasse, a street with lots of cool bars and places to eat.

We were given free wifi access in the room and there is a nice cafe in the hotel reception. The staff gave us lots of help with the public transport and recommending places for our first time in Berlin.

IMA is within an old factory and also houses lots of art studios. It is a lively, alternative area of Berlin and we felt safe even when wandering back late at night. Was a bit worried after reading some reviews on here but our fears quickly disappeared when we had such a warm welcome. Would definately stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jungleboysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I were recommended these apartments by someone who has previously lived in Berlin and we were not disappointed - a great base for U-bahn access for exploring the rest of the city and exactly what we needed for a long weekend. The apartments were spacious with an arty feel and we did not feel intimidated by the surrounding area, in fact, we enjoyed the bars and restaurants in Kreuzberg and would recommend for young people wishing to see a different, more quirky side of Berlin (but acknowledge that the area will not be to everyone's tastes). We ate out most of the time so did not make great use of the kitchen facilities but they appeared adequate, as was the bathroom. (Although a plug near a mirror would have made it easier for me to blowdry my hair, vain I know!). We also had two delicious breakfasts in the cafe attached to the apartments and made use of the free wifi. Berlin on the whole was great value and would definitely return to the city and to IMA.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie-Lou_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We had a great stay in these apartments, it was brilliant to have your own independent space in the middle of Berlin. Our apartment had great views across the city towards the TV Tower. The location was excellent, between Moritzplatz and Kottbusser Tor U-Bhan stations, so easy access yo anywhere in Berlin. Also close to the bars and restaurants of Kreuzburg. Some have said that the street these apartments are located on is a bit undesirable, and whilst i'd agree that the area around Kottbusser Tor station has a few odd characters, we all felt completely safe in this area both during the day and very late at night.
These are apartments and very much for those looking for an independent stay, i think we only talked to staff when we checked in and left, so don't stay here if you're looking for a hotel style service.
I'd highly recommend the IMA lofts for anyone looking for a great value, independent accommodation option and an excellent location. Two thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Booked a 2 room loft and went there in may 2011. Since the building is located in a real ghetto, it was shock after shock when walking from the metro to Ima Loft. Passing by drunks, junks and more. When arrived at the right address, we could nog believe this was the place. It some kind of filty industrial building (the Mitsubishi logo is still on the main gate). Electrical wiring is all over the walls, hanging loose.

The lobby is some kind of home made desk, almost falling apart, with a laptop on it. All of the furniture in the so called lobby are falling apart. The chairs where broken, the sofa was too filty to sit on.....

One of the reasons we booked, was the fact they offered breakfast. After seeing a puppy dog walking around the kitchen, we never ate there.

Now the elevator. It is located about 200 meters from to lobby, outside. After you walk into some kind of dark alley, you need to open the elevator with your key and hope that it is working. It is the most unsafe elevator i've ever seen in my life. The smell of dried up urine did not help either.

We went there with 2 couples, which one of them had booked a so called luxery Loft (and paid offcourse a lot more for it). It is advertised with having a seperate bedroom. The normal room and the other room where exactly the same!!! the only difference the expensive room is 1 meters wider, they're both not having a seperate bedroom either, just one big room. After discussing some time with one of the workers, she stormed away anrgy saying that the manager will contact us. Offcourse he never did. we never did see one other co worker the entire weekend either.

The room is filled with old and broken Ikea furniture. One of the seats were broken, the sofa was not safe to sit on, there where yellow spots on the bed, the floor was disgusting, the kitchen was extremely disgusting, the freezer had still food in it from past visitors, the pillows smelled like sweat, the front door would not shut correctly, there's no presure in the shower,.................................

After cleaning the entire room ourselfs, we did manage to have a good time in Berlin. But Ima Loft is by far the baddest hotel/motel/appartment we ever stayed in, and this is included places in Afrika and eastern Europe. I do not recommend this to anybody, even not my biggest enemies!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MPMPmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ima Loft Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ima Loft Apartment

Address: Ritterstrs 12-14, 10969 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 359 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Hotel Class:3 star — Ima Loft Apartment 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ima Loft Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ima Loft Apartment Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing