We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Camillo

Don Camillo
Ranked #272 of 7,692 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

As per the other reviews food and service was very good. You dont have to all the courses they offer, but go with what they recommend. Cost 200 euros for two.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jmjj2002
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    36
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“High quality food - with a twist!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you want the perfect evening go here! As we arrived we were slightly scared at no sign of a menu or price list - just a lot of trollys full of ingredients! The waiters were so friendly and made a huge fuss as soon as we entered to get us the perfect bottle of wine (which was 25 euros) however they exaggerated that they were more than happy to bring us a different bottle if we didnt like the first! The waiters then brought over a trolly of ingredients for each course explaining what everything was and how they could cook it for us. Some of the main courses are cooked infront of you, as well as some of the desserts. The desserts may not be as you have ever experienced before, but they are delicious! We topped it off with a traditional German liquor and lemoncello. All in all a perfect evening. 4 courses, 2 glasses of prosecco, a bottle of wine and 2 liquors came to 160 euros however we spent the whole evening here and it was so worth it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ToriandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Treat yourself to a great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just a stone's throw from the Schloss Charlottenburg, this very classy Italian restaurant has been a Berlin institution for a very long time. It is pricey, but worth every Euro. They don't present you with the usual menu, rather, you are given a array of food to choose from. Its not a bad idea to let yourself be surprised...They will whip up a great dish for you. A tip...try the potato for dessert... wow.. and that's all I'm saying!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Watch the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good italian place. Friendly and attentive service. Nice atmosphere. BUT. They do not have a menu on paper; they show examples of the dishes on a plates and you can place your orders based on this. Can be nice, but they do not mention the price per dish; you can be in for a unpleasant surprise here. So just ask.
White housewine tasts like vinager. Better ask for the winelist; lots of possibilities for every budget.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food Prepared With Great Care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our first to Don Camillo, we wee taken by German friends. From the moment we arrived on a cold rainy night we felt special. The staff were friendly and very efficient throughout the evening. The drill is for the plates to be shown to you - no menu's appeared. My porcini starter was outstanding as was the John Dory in butter and sage sauce that followed. My desert of fresh strawberries in a mustard and balsamic sauce was marvellously refreshing. All of us had great dishes prepared with enormous care using the freshest ingredients. The bill was not a shock - having not seen any prices. A great restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnofthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Camillo also viewed

 

Been to Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing