We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Don Camillo

Don Camillo
Schlossstrasse 7/8 | Charlottenburg, 14059 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
0049303223572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #290 of 7,585 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“Watch the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good italian place. Friendly and attentive service. Nice atmosphere. BUT. They do not have a menu on paper; they show examples of the dishes on a plates and you can place your orders based on this. Can be nice, but they do not mention the price per dish; you can be in for a unpleasant surprise here. So just ask.
White housewine tasts like vinager. Better ask for the winelist; lots of possibilities for every budget.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    35
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food Prepared With Great Care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our first to Don Camillo, we wee taken by German friends. From the moment we arrived on a cold rainy night we felt special. The staff were friendly and very efficient throughout the evening. The drill is for the plates to be shown to you - no menu's appeared. My porcini starter was outstanding as was the John Dory in butter and sage sauce that followed. My desert of fresh strawberries in a mustard and balsamic sauce was marvellously refreshing. All of us had great dishes prepared with enormous care using the freshest ingredients. The bill was not a shock - having not seen any prices. A great restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnofthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely evening, wonderful meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

6 of us arrived for our 8:30 pm reservation, but a day early. In spite of this the owner and staff were gracious and accommodating. The restaurant is lovely-white tablecloths, light, calm, nice art, old-school elegant.
We ordered the house wine. The white was cool, dry and direct from the cask; the red a well-rounded Montepulciano that perfectly complemented the food.
No menus here. The owner brings over the ingredients for each dish, tells us briefly how it will be prepared and we choose. The scallop appetizers were heavenly-fresh, sweet with a slight heat. Husband had sauteed fresh mushrooms, seaweed and garlic-amazing!
There was no choice of the pasta-we were served a pasta trio that included one with a fabulous truffle oil. The meat course included fish, with the John Dory the winner. (Mind you, we were in Berlin attending a fisheries meeting, so the bar was high for fish!). I had the house beef specialty- tenderloin wrapped in prosciutto. Heavenly.
Dessert was a wide selection of local sweets. The strawberries with mustard and balsamic vinegar is something I will try at home. The Berlin Wall will be a fond memory!
Service was attentive, professional, personal.
Overall, a lovely evening and meal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jini37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
139 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“One of my prefered in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Authentic Italian Cuisine located in the calm neighbourhood of Charlottenburg, with attentive service and top quality food. Traditional classics, delicious home-made pasta, extensive wine list. What’s not to like?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xofi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The restaurant is a fair walk from Sophie Charlotte Platz U Bahn station along, what in the evening appears a mainly residential tree lined avenue, but just keep walking and you will come across Don Camillo. Unfortunately, our original reservation had been for 11, but following a bout of sickness in our group only 8 of us arrived at the restaurant. On a Saturday evening this must have been annoying but the staff could not have been more accommodating. The restaurant was beautifully presented with starched linen and delicate fresh flowers. The other diners were plainly enjoying themselves and although, as a group, we were initially a little downhearted by our friends absence the atmosphere soon put us in the mood for a fun evening. The wine, taken from an open barrel was both delicious and reasonable and the portions were good. Just for starters, mains and drinks our bill was 50 Euros per head so, if you were going to have three courses + coffee, it was certainly not cheap. However, as we were leaving the owner came over to talk to us and wished our poorly friends well, it really was a lovely, friendly place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FatGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Camillo also viewed

 

Been to Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing