We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”
Review of Don Camillo

Don Camillo
Ranked #288 of 8,445 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Worthing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The restaurant is a fair walk from Sophie Charlotte Platz U Bahn station along, what in the evening appears a mainly residential tree lined avenue, but just keep walking and you will come across Don Camillo. Unfortunately, our original reservation had been for 11, but following a bout of sickness in our group only 8 of us arrived at the restaurant. On a Saturday evening this must have been annoying but the staff could not have been more accommodating. The restaurant was beautifully presented with starched linen and delicate fresh flowers. The other diners were plainly enjoying themselves and although, as a group, we were initially a little downhearted by our friends absence the atmosphere soon put us in the mood for a fun evening. The wine, taken from an open barrel was both delicious and reasonable and the portions were good. Just for starters, mains and drinks our bill was 50 Euros per head so, if you were going to have three courses + coffee, it was certainly not cheap. However, as we were leaving the owner came over to talk to us and wished our poorly friends well, it really was a lovely, friendly place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FatGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    41
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience :)”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Amazing to be greeted and served by the owner - he tells you everything about the food and if it all sounds too good to choose from, you can get a little bit of everything. It's a really personal approach and you feel very welcome here. The deserts were amazing - and the Berlin Wall was the best of them all!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SigneKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The restaurant is in a beautiful area of Berlin. And you don't just go to dinner there, it's a true experience! No menu, they present the different dishes you can choose from on a trolley, the show you what it is and tell you about the ingredients and how it is prepared. You can also choose to take a bit of everything (that's good because eveything tastes sooo good!).
The food is excellent, the service is great, the people working there are pleasant and funny. And it wasn't that expensive at all! One of the best Italian restaurants I have ever been to! Try it!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Food and service fantastic! It is a 15-20 minutes drive by taxi from the tourist area, but really worth it. Italian at its best!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ToreAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“excellent food and experience”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Booked this restaurant for a business dinner with guests from UK China and USA
The owner makes this a unique experience we did not consult a menu or wine list once for each course he visited our table and with great style and personality introduced all offers for each course with recommeendations. The same occurred wwithin the wine and he has such style and personality I simply followed his recommendations as did all my guests and none of us were disappointed the food wine and atmosphere were superb.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Camillo also viewed

 

Been to Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing